We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel on Bellingham Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellwether

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bellwether to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bellwether
1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Burlington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Lovely Hotel on Bellingham Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband and I spent the night in the Owner's Suite at this lovely hotel last night. The room was casually comfortable, with a gas fireplace, huge soaking tub (which we didn't use) and a small balcony looking out at the marina. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on, and the hotel itself was quiet at night, making for a great night's sleep.

Our experience with customer service upon checking in was pleasant. The underground parking is a nice ammenity. We will be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: The Owner's Suite (#201) has a nice little balcony overlooking the marina. Nice place to sip th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
To Sherry T,

Thank you for taking the time to write us this outstanding review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay in our one-of-a-kind Signature Suite, the Owner's Suite. Hopefully on your next visit, you can try another Signature Suite, such as the Lighthouse Suite or the Bellwether Suite. Thank you so much for this glowing recommendation. Please contact myself or our friendly front desk staff at 360.392.3100 or toll free at 1.877.411.1200, in order to book your next stay; or check out our website for our most recent packages and promotions.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    64
    22
    13
    23
See reviews for
38
125
5
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the holidays. They had beautiful themed Christmas trees everywhere you looked. Our room was very large and clean with a fireplace.
The rooms are dated, however, we enjoyed our large room overlooking the water.
The service in the lounge area was very slow....only one person and all the tables were full.
There are 3 or 4 restaurants located on the same property, so that would be very convenient.
We did not try them but they looked busy. All in all, nice hotel. Just very slow service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
To DJMP,

Thank you for taking a moment to write us this review. Your comments regarding the service in the Lighthouse Bar and Grill have been forwarded to the appropriate department heads. You'll be glad to know that we are currently just getting started on renovating all of our guest rooms, so I hope you will come visit us again in the future. Please contact myself or our friendly front desk staff to book your next reservation, at 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200. You can also browse our website for our latest packages and promotions.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were charged $400 for one night - and didn't get to stay at the hotel. Our reservation was cancelled online, and we thought we had cancelled successfully. The confirmation said, "You are within our policy timeframe" so we assumed the cancel had occurred. Their policy is that the room must be cancelled 3+ days in advance, & altho we cancelled within 24 hours, we had made the original reservation 3 days ahead. They are thus able to charge the confirmed cancellation customer, and accept another customer asking for the room - because they know customer 1 won't be showing up. The staff insists they are a small business and must charge us anyway. The cancellation occurred in November, and we weren't billed until after Christmas, when we certainly weren't expecting it. We can't recommend this hotel at all. Beware!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
To Dottie N,

I do apologize if our cancellation policy wasn't clear upon your booking, but reservations made within 3 days of arrival are guaranteed and cannot be cancelled due to our 72 hour cancellation policy. If you would like to discuss this matter more in order to find a solution to your concerns, the General Manager of the hotel can be reached at 360.392.3033 or toll free at 1.877.411.1200, ask for Jim Haupt. Our goal is to welcome you back so that you and your husband can have the unique and luxurious experience that we strive to provide to all of our guests, please contact myself directly at the number below to book.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband and I are moving to the Bellingham area and decided to stay at the Bellwether while searching for a house We were not dissappointed! The hotel was excellent and the staff very friendly during our stay. We were fortunate enough to get a well appointed room overlooking the bay. We enjoyed the view, jetted tub, fire place and king sized bed. We didn't eat at the restuarant during our stay, but have heard wonderful things about the food and view. Be sure to stay at the Bellwether on your next stay in Bellingham!

Room Tip: Ask about upgrading your room to one with a king size bed, jetted tub and fire place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
To TeamTK12,

Thank you taking the time out of your day to write us this amazing review! We strive to provide unique experiences to all of our guests and I am glad you had a great stay. Thank you for the glowing recommendation and I hope we can welcome you back for a special occasion in future. Please contact myself or our friendly front desk staff to make your next booking at 360.392.3100 or toll free at 1.877.411.1200.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We have traveled extensively and enjoy fine hotels. The Hotel Bellwether is one of the very best. The rooms are exceptional, the staff is most accommodating, the restaurant is very good with appropriate pricing. The views are most enjoyable. If you miss your family dog, they even have one named Biscuit you can take for a walk. We have a favorite room we ask for each time we visit. If you have a family member attending Western Washington University you even get a special rate.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor with a larger patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
To Ken933,

Thank you for writing us this fantastic review! Biscuit (the dog) is one of the newest additions to our team and she is THE BEST greeter in town. She is the sweetest dog I have ever encountered and loves the attention from all of our guests. For those that don't know, the Western Washington University rate is not available anywhere online, and can only be secured if you call us directly. Please contact myself or the front desk staff at 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200 to book so we can make sure to put you in your favorite room at the WWU rate.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

With the marina and an old industrial area on the other, hotel Bellwether is an excellent option for a night or two. Ask for a ground floor room with a view of the marina (view costs a few more dollars). Room 15, 17, 19 and 21 have huge patios. Nice fireplaces, fancy bathrooms with jetted tubs and great king size beds. Restaurant and lounge looked nice. One caution. The exercise room consists of one treadmill and one bike and some weights. It's in a separate building, surrounded by small businesses & shops. Not an attractive option at all. But the area offers lots of paths for walking, running or cycling.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
To Foodtwosome,

Thank you for your kind words and candid comments. I hope we can welcome you back for a future visit. For those that need more equipment for their work outs, we do offer day passes to Bellingham Athletic Club for just $15. They have a plethora of different machines, a hot tub, and a pool. Our first floor patios are great, very spacious and great for those that bring their dogs. Please contact myself or our friendly front desk staff for your next booking. We can be reached at 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely 2-day stay for Thanksgiving at Hotel Bellwether. We were welcomed warmly upon arrival, and our Executive Plaza room was quiet and comfortable. The splendid weather invited us out for long walks on the marina-front walkways.

A major plus for us is the Bellwether staff's warm welcome to dogs. Our dog Xoe enjoyed treats and visits with the staff.

The Thanksgiving buffet was beautiful and delicious -- so much so that we booked a return stay for Christmas.

The only minus, which comes with the territory when staying near the water in Bellingham, is that the trains whistle as they pass through town. We were awakened by this the first night of our stay, then less so as we became accustomed to the haunting sound.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
To Xoe,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us over Thanksgiving. The buffet was definitely a big hit, we have been getting great comments! You are correct, trains are somewhat inescapable in Bellingham (especially if you want to stay on the waterfront), which is why we do offer earplugs at the desk. We do not get many requests for them since the trains do not pass as close to us as they do at other properties, but we like to keep them on hand, just in case, for light sleepers. I am excited to welcome you back for Christmas. I hope you have already made your reservation in the Lighthouse Bar & Grill, as they are required for all holidays. We are looking forward to your next visit. Please contact myself or the front desk at 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200 if you have any questions or special requests.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
Boutique, Free...
Show More
2.3 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#1 of 23 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Quiet, Quaint...
Show More
2.0 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#9 of 23 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Bellingham
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Bellingham
Comfort Inn Bellingham
#6 of 23 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellwether? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellwether

Address: 1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bellwether is Western Washington’s premier upscale waterfront hotel, providing luxurious accommodations, attentive service, and personalized amenities that pamper the leisure traveler, support the corporate traveler, and facilitate hassle-free meetings and outstanding weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Bellwether reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellwether Hotel Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellwether, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.