We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Bellinghan!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellwether

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bellwether to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bellwether
1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Bellingham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Bellinghan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband and I are moving to the Bellingham area and decided to stay at the Bellwether while searching for a house We were not dissappointed! The hotel was excellent and the staff very friendly during our stay. We were fortunate enough to get a well appointed room overlooking the bay. We enjoyed the view, jetted tub, fire place and king sized bed. We didn't eat at the restuarant during our stay, but have heard wonderful things about the food and view. Be sure to stay at the Bellwether on your next stay in Bellingham!

Room Tip: Ask about upgrading your room to one with a king size bed, jetted tub and fire place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
To TeamTK12,

Thank you taking the time out of your day to write us this amazing review! We strive to provide unique experiences to all of our guests and I am glad you had a great stay. Thank you for the glowing recommendation and I hope we can welcome you back for a special occasion in future. Please contact myself or our friendly front desk staff to make your next booking at 360.392.3100 or toll free at 1.877.411.1200.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    66
    23
    14
    23
See reviews for
40
131
5
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We have traveled extensively and enjoy fine hotels. The Hotel Bellwether is one of the very best. The rooms are exceptional, the staff is most accommodating, the restaurant is very good with appropriate pricing. The views are most enjoyable. If you miss your family dog, they even have one named Biscuit you can take for a walk. We have a favorite room we ask for each time we visit. If you have a family member attending Western Washington University you even get a special rate.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor with a larger patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
To Ken933,

Thank you for writing us this fantastic review! Biscuit (the dog) is one of the newest additions to our team and she is THE BEST greeter in town. She is the sweetest dog I have ever encountered and loves the attention from all of our guests. For those that don't know, the Western Washington University rate is not available anywhere online, and can only be secured if you call us directly. Please contact myself or the front desk staff at 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200 to book so we can make sure to put you in your favorite room at the WWU rate.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

With the marina and an old industrial area on the other, hotel Bellwether is an excellent option for a night or two. Ask for a ground floor room with a view of the marina (view costs a few more dollars). Room 15, 17, 19 and 21 have huge patios. Nice fireplaces, fancy bathrooms with jetted tubs and great king size beds. Restaurant and lounge looked nice. One caution. The exercise room consists of one treadmill and one bike and some weights. It's in a separate building, surrounded by small businesses & shops. Not an attractive option at all. But the area offers lots of paths for walking, running or cycling.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
To Foodtwosome,

Thank you for your kind words and candid comments. I hope we can welcome you back for a future visit. For those that need more equipment for their work outs, we do offer day passes to Bellingham Athletic Club for just $15. They have a plethora of different machines, a hot tub, and a pool. Our first floor patios are great, very spacious and great for those that bring their dogs. Please contact myself or our friendly front desk staff for your next booking. We can be reached at 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely 2-day stay for Thanksgiving at Hotel Bellwether. We were welcomed warmly upon arrival, and our Executive Plaza room was quiet and comfortable. The splendid weather invited us out for long walks on the marina-front walkways.

A major plus for us is the Bellwether staff's warm welcome to dogs. Our dog Xoe enjoyed treats and visits with the staff.

The Thanksgiving buffet was beautiful and delicious -- so much so that we booked a return stay for Christmas.

The only minus, which comes with the territory when staying near the water in Bellingham, is that the trains whistle as they pass through town. We were awakened by this the first night of our stay, then less so as we became accustomed to the haunting sound.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
To Xoe,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us over Thanksgiving. The buffet was definitely a big hit, we have been getting great comments! You are correct, trains are somewhat inescapable in Bellingham (especially if you want to stay on the waterfront), which is why we do offer earplugs at the desk. We do not get many requests for them since the trains do not pass as close to us as they do at other properties, but we like to keep them on hand, just in case, for light sleepers. I am excited to welcome you back for Christmas. I hope you have already made your reservation in the Lighthouse Bar & Grill, as they are required for all holidays. We are looking forward to your next visit. Please contact myself or the front desk at 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200 if you have any questions or special requests.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here one night on the way from Seattle to Vancouver by train. The hotel is on the other side of town from the train station ($15 taxi) on a quite piece of waterfront property. The room was luxurious and comfortable with a big comfy bed and a jaquzzi tub.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
To Christopher P,

Thank you for taking a moment to write us this short, but sweet, review! Due to our location, we are away from all the city and train noise so I am glad you were able to relax in peace. Guests often comment that their favorite features in our rooms are the comfy beds and the jacuzzi tubs. What better way to relax then to soak in an over-sized air jetted tub with a glass of Bellwether wine, and then curling up in a luxurious king size bed with over-sized 100% down pillows and fluffy comforter (*we do have cotton as well for those allergic to down*). We are looking forward to your next visit. We can be reached at 1.877.411.1200 or 360.392.3100, and a friendly front desk agent would be happy to help you book your next reservation, or take a look at our website to check out our current promotions.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were looking for a dog-friendly hotel where we could rest and relax for a few days as we explored the Bellingham area. We were most impressed with the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff, from housekeeping to front desk staff. The one glitch at check in was that we were not offered help with our luggage, which was substantial, as we'd booked a multi day stay. Our room had a lovely design - jetted soaking tub, balcony and gas fireplace - and was clean and comfortable. It was very nice enjoying views of the beautiful bay and marina while relaxing on our balcony. Since we had our dog with us, we needed in-room dining, however, the room service offerings are very limited and quite expensive. There are some nearby restaurants within walking distance, however. Overall, though, a pleasant stay in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
To DOCMKS,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hotel Bellwether. Our staff tries their best to make every guests experience, the best we can. I do apologize about the lack of luggage assistance, we are currently in-between Bellman and it can be difficult for clerks working solo to give every guest their undivided attention. Next time you visit, we will have a Bellman who would be happy to assist you. I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed the room, our old European style is classy and elegant, and our views are amazing. I hope we can welcome you and your canine companion back again for another visit. Please contact myself or the front desk, at 1.877.411.1200 or 360.392.3100, to inquire about your next reservation, or check out our website for our latest promotions.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

5 day stay in September, 2013. Other than a minor hiccup at check in (which was handled in a professional and expedited manner), had a wonderful experience and stay. Loved our room! It had everything that we needed and more. Had a beautiful balcony view of Bellingham Bay. Enjoyed the barbecue and music on Thursday evening which we were able to enjoy on their patio and our balcony. I enjoyed a 45 minute morning walk each day to the park nearby. Plenty of restaurants in the immediate area and great room service. We didn't want to leave.
Look forward to staying there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Executive Suite rooms which had everything we needed, wanted, and more. Rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
To Gloria M,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am glad you were able to relax in our luxurious rooms. It looks like you were a guest of ours during the summer, since you mentioned our Thursday BBQ and I am pleased you enjoyed the event. During the winter, we have live piano music in the lounge Fridays and Saturdays, and Jazz on Sundays! We are looking forward to your return visit. Please contact myself or the front desk, at 1.877.411.1200 or 360.392.3100, to book your next reservation, or take a look at our website to check out our latest promotions.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellwether? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellwether

Address: 1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bellwether is Western Washington’s premier upscale waterfront hotel, providing luxurious accommodations, attentive service, and personalized amenities that pamper the leisure traveler, support the corporate traveler, and facilitate hassle-free meetings and outstanding weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Bellwether reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellwether Hotel Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellwether, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.