We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellwether

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bellwether to your Saves list
Hotel Bellwether
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Langley, Washington
1 review
“Overall very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were looking for a dog-friendly hotel where we could rest and relax for a few days as we explored the Bellingham area. We were most impressed with the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff, from housekeeping to front desk staff. The one glitch at check in was that we were not offered help with our luggage, which was substantial, as we'd booked a multi day stay. Our room had a lovely design - jetted soaking tub, balcony and gas fireplace - and was clean and comfortable. It was very nice enjoying views of the beautiful bay and marina while relaxing on our balcony. Since we had our dog with us, we needed in-room dining, however, the room service offerings are very limited and quite expensive. There are some nearby restaurants within walking distance, however. Overall, though, a pleasant stay in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
To DOCMKS,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hotel Bellwether. Our staff tries their best to make every guests experience, the best we can. I do apologize about the lack of luggage assistance, we are currently in-between Bellman and it can be difficult for clerks working solo to give every guest their undivided attention. Next time you visit, we will have a Bellman who would be happy to assist you. I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed the room, our old European style is classy and elegant, and our views are amazing. I hope we can welcome you and your canine companion back again for another visit. Please contact myself or the front desk, at 1.877.411.1200 or 360.392.3100, to inquire about your next reservation, or check out our website for our latest promotions.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    79
    23
    15
    23
See reviews for
44
145
6
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

5 day stay in September, 2013. Other than a minor hiccup at check in (which was handled in a professional and expedited manner), had a wonderful experience and stay. Loved our room! It had everything that we needed and more. Had a beautiful balcony view of Bellingham Bay. Enjoyed the barbecue and music on Thursday evening which we were able to enjoy on their patio and our balcony. I enjoyed a 45 minute morning walk each day to the park nearby. Plenty of restaurants in the immediate area and great room service. We didn't want to leave.
Look forward to staying there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Executive Suite rooms which had everything we needed, wanted, and more. Rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
To Gloria M,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am glad you were able to relax in our luxurious rooms. It looks like you were a guest of ours during the summer, since you mentioned our Thursday BBQ and I am pleased you enjoyed the event. During the winter, we have live piano music in the lounge Fridays and Saturdays, and Jazz on Sundays! We are looking forward to your return visit. Please contact myself or the front desk, at 1.877.411.1200 or 360.392.3100, to book your next reservation, or take a look at our website to check out our latest promotions.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

It can be difficult to travel with a dog...especially a big dog. We stayed at the Bellwether because our German Shepherd was in a Nosework trial nearby. We all enjoyed it. The ground floor patio of our room was a perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine and relax with our dog. There were ample paths to walk around and enjoy the grounds. The bed was huge and comfortable.

The staff was pleasant and professional. We ordered room service for dinner and the food was good, I had breakfast in the dining room and enjoyed a Bloody Mary that was exceptional.

I look forward to returning here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
To Brynlyn,

Thank you for writing us this outstanding review! We love dogs! I'm happy that you were able to enjoy some room service and that your experiences in the Lighthouse Bar & Grill were so exceptional. I hope we can welcome you and your canine companion back for another visit in the future. If you would information on current promotions or events, please check out our website or call the front desk staff at 360.392.3100 or 800.411.1200.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Awesome and quiet place to stay. Front desk stay was very helpful, room was great.
Would stay here again ! Shopping was good and close, easy to find your way to and from Hotel Bellwether, great secure hotel parking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
To Don S,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our property. I am glad you had such a great stay that we will be welcoming you back. We are somewhat centrally located in Bellingham, only about 10 to 15 minutes away from the best places to shop and the airport. Feel free to contact our front desk team by calling 1.877.411.1200 or 360.392.3100 and they would be happy to assist you with your next reservation. Our website will also have our current promotions and events.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at this for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed the visit. Our daughter attends Western Washington University and we have been to Bellingham several times to visit. The room was quiet and very comfortable for my wife and myself. Staff were extremely courteous and the complimentary private garage parking was another benefit we were pleased to learn about as well. When we next visit we hope to stay longer and enjoy more of the hotel amenities.

Room Tip: We had an end room and enjoyed the view of the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
To Charles U,

Thank you for writing us this great review! I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our special WWU rates and I am excited to welcome you back again. Feel free to contact me or any member of our front desk team who would be happy to assist you with your next reservation. I also encourage you to check our website for our latest promotions and event schedule. You can contact the front desk directly at 1-360-392-3100.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouv er
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great hotel in Bellingham and a wonderful welcome by the young receptionist/reservations clerk Sarah. The hotel is pet friendly too. Would definitely stay here again if in the area. Well appointed large rooms with fireplaces and air bubbled baths!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the waterfront. Views are wonderful and the trains in the night pass on the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
To goldengenius,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts. Sarah, our concierge, is often singled out as a vital agent on my team. She is great with our guests and their canine companions. We are a pet friendly hotel, so any travelers wanting to bring their dogs, definitely can for a small fee! And for those that are allergic, we do have a pet free floor. I hope we can welcome you back, contact me directly and I will make sure you get a special discount on a great room.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times and have always enjoyed it. The balconies or patios on the water side have a table and chairs so that guests can enjoy the spectacular views of the marina; of a nearby park where people walk their dogs, ride their bikes, and fly kites; of Bellingham bay; and of Lummi Island. The rooms are large and comfortable, with gas fireplaces that are easy to operate, comfortable beds, and large bathrooms with both walk-in showers and jacuzzi tubs.

The staff are pleasant, the breakfast we had was delicious (not included with the room price, but we were given a voucher that discounted the price) , and the outdoor bar also has great views. The area around the hotel has quite a few restaurants with a range of choices (sushi, other seafood, Italian, bistro, coffee shop), a walking/cycling path, and the park I mentioned. Parking in the underground garage is free.

The rooms on the ground floor are pet-friendly. The facility is non-smoking indoors and out, though the management can't (or at least didn't, despite our complaints) control the behavior of rude folks like those in a room near ours whose idea of generosity was sitting on the patio smoking cigars, sharing their stink with everyone in nearby rooms.

But the inconsiderate cigar smokers were the only glitch in our otherwise very pleasant stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
To Haleyx,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay with us. It warms my heart to know that we take such great care of our guests, to the point where they come back again and again. We try our best to discourage guests from smoking on our property, as we are a 100% non-smoking facility. We can't always get them all, some people do not realize that they are disrupting their neighbor's stay. Next time you stay, please contact me directly and I will make sure you are put in the best available suite at a special discount. I have a suite in mind that will keep you away from anyone who might bend the rules again.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellwether? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellwether

Address: 1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bellwether 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bellwether is Western Washington’s premier upscale waterfront hotel, providing luxurious accommodations, attentive service, and personalized amenities that pamper the leisure traveler, support the corporate traveler, and facilitate hassle-free meetings and outstanding weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bellwether reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellwether Hotel Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellwether, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.