We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location and hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellwether

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bellwether to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bellwether
1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Bellingham
Vancouv er
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great hotel in Bellingham and a wonderful welcome by the young receptionist/reservations clerk Sarah. The hotel is pet friendly too. Would definitely stay here again if in the area. Well appointed large rooms with fireplaces and air bubbled baths!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the waterfront. Views are wonderful and the trains in the night pass on the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
To goldengenius,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts. Sarah, our concierge, is often singled out as a vital agent on my team. She is great with our guests and their canine companions. We are a pet friendly hotel, so any travelers wanting to bring their dogs, definitely can for a small fee! And for those that are allergic, we do have a pet free floor. I hope we can welcome you back, contact me directly and I will make sure you get a special discount on a great room.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    67
    23
    14
    23
See reviews for
40
132
5
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times and have always enjoyed it. The balconies or patios on the water side have a table and chairs so that guests can enjoy the spectacular views of the marina; of a nearby park where people walk their dogs, ride their bikes, and fly kites; of Bellingham bay; and of Lummi Island. The rooms are large and comfortable, with gas fireplaces that are easy to operate, comfortable beds, and large bathrooms with both walk-in showers and jacuzzi tubs.

The staff are pleasant, the breakfast we had was delicious (not included with the room price, but we were given a voucher that discounted the price) , and the outdoor bar also has great views. The area around the hotel has quite a few restaurants with a range of choices (sushi, other seafood, Italian, bistro, coffee shop), a walking/cycling path, and the park I mentioned. Parking in the underground garage is free.

The rooms on the ground floor are pet-friendly. The facility is non-smoking indoors and out, though the management can't (or at least didn't, despite our complaints) control the behavior of rude folks like those in a room near ours whose idea of generosity was sitting on the patio smoking cigars, sharing their stink with everyone in nearby rooms.

But the inconsiderate cigar smokers were the only glitch in our otherwise very pleasant stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
To Haleyx,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay with us. It warms my heart to know that we take such great care of our guests, to the point where they come back again and again. We try our best to discourage guests from smoking on our property, as we are a 100% non-smoking facility. We can't always get them all, some people do not realize that they are disrupting their neighbor's stay. Next time you stay, please contact me directly and I will make sure you are put in the best available suite at a special discount. I have a suite in mind that will keep you away from anyone who might bend the rules again.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Ours was a last minute trip to Bellingham, via the Edison Bakery and Chuckanut Drive. Living in Seattle we decided to take a quick trip, of course it WAS Labor Day weekend, but we figured we would give it a shot. Found the hotel was well reviewed on Trip-advisor so I check the hotel website and bingo they had a room so I booked it and off we went. What a lovely hotel! We check in and I just happen to inquire about an upgrade and the very courteous clerk said, well in fact they had just had a cancellation and they would be happy to accommodate :) so we did. The room was terrrific, corner overlooking the REALLY active marina and the bay. Watching the sail boats come and go.....I could have stayed all month. Just the two of us and we just loved it. They did a terrific job. The Italian restaurant on the pier was fantastic as well.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner overlooking the marina AND the bay, the deck was a terrific spot to sip a beverag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
To rgjreagent,

Thank you for writing us this amazing review! We often run special promotions on rooms for those last minute travelers, I am glad you were able to take advantage. Thank you for the kind words and voicing your opinions on our great views! If you are planning on visiting us again in the future, please contact me directly and I would love to set you up in a great room at a great rate.

Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Lovely lodging right above the bay & marina. Quiet, large rooms with all the amenities. Pedestrian path takes you around the marina and to a public park on the point. Also a great location to bike to the historic Fairhaven District. Free parking in a secured location under the hotel. Free internet access and nice business office for guests to use. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Be sure to reserve a room overlooking the bay...it's worth the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
To Sherry P,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and tips on our beautiful property. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Please call me any time and I will try to book the best available suite at the best available rate.

Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Just enjoyed a four night stay. Well appointed room and worth the upgrade for water view. Sitting out on the patio and enjoying the sunset (and band on Thursday night) was a treat. Great area for walking along the harbor. Bar was average -- saved by the view. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
To CK_Kate,

Thank you for writing us this fantastic review! I love the picture that you took! Our views are unbeatable, and definitely worth the small extra cost. With summer coming to a close, I am pleased that you enjoyed our Thursday event, "Blues, Brews, and BBQ" since we will only be having a couple more of them before it gets too cold and rainy. We will be having other events too so if you are planning on visiting us again, please contact me directly. I will book you in a great room at a special price.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwood, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Ohhhh, what a pure joy it is to spend time at this enchanted hotel where customer service is absolutely their first and foremost job!!! Each Thursday from 4:30 - 8:30 (get there early if you want the best seats) these amazing people have "brews and blues" where they bring in amazingly fantastic talent and they set up comfy sofas, tables and stuffed chairs along with the other outside furniture and set up this stage and food/beverage tables on their balcony, over looking Bellingham Bay and the marina........and every Thursday afternoon, there are sailboat races, which act as back drop to the great line of entertainers, areas for dancing and covered/uncovered areas to take in this amazing combination spearheaded by Jim and his outstanding staff at the Hotel Bellwether. The hotel, itself, is a jewel reminiscent of the charms from European hotels of the past. Outstanding service, elegance, amazingly appointed luxury rooms designed to spoil each guest and lull the guests into deluxe relaxation with oversized jetted tubs, huge showers, to-die-for king deluxe mattresses, comfy reading area with a romantic fireplace.....and top all this off with a VIEW THAT CANNOT BE TOPPED--OVERLOOKING BELLINGHAM BAY, THE MARINA, FANTASTIC SUNSETS.......IT DOES NOT GET ANY BETTER THAN THIS!!!!! We have had the honor of staying at the Hotel Bellwether numerous times for special romantic events....AND WE WILL NEVER STAY AT ANOTHER HOTEL FOR A SPECIAL EVENT AGAIN!!! Jim and each one of his staff make it their personal goal to make each and every person staying at the hotel...or visiting their multi-star Lighthouse Restaurant and Bar or the cozy lounge.....feel like a king or queen!!!!!!! They will do everything they can to make your stay absolutely perfect and memorable!!!! And these events on Thursdays run through Sept 26th.....so PLEASSEEEEEE, DO YOURSELF A WONDERFUL FAVOR AND GET SPOILED ON THE BALCONY, LISTENING TO GREAT MUSIC, WINING AND DINING AND DANCING WITH THE BACKDROP OF BEAUTIFUL BELLINGHAM BAY---A TRULY WINNING COMBINATION!!!!!!! You will NOT be disappointed!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room on the water side...and the higher up you go, the better overview of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Mr & Mrs O, thank you for your kind words. It always a pleasure to serve you, and on behalf of the the entire Hotel Bellwether staff we look forward to your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

It's a wonderful hotel and staff...Read the review of missing Ipad and Iphone and didn't quite understand how it could not be located...both have the gps trackers in them...you can easily locate either item...have only the highest compliments for the staff..

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
To xenacsmith,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts on our property and staff. We try our best to provide excellent customer service and it seems you received that when you stayed. We would love to welcome you back! Please call me directly and I will make sure you are getting the best available rate for the best available room.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellwether? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellwether

Address: 1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bellwether is Western Washington’s premier upscale waterfront hotel, providing luxurious accommodations, attentive service, and personalized amenities that pamper the leisure traveler, support the corporate traveler, and facilitate hassle-free meetings and outstanding weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Bellwether reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellwether Hotel Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellwether, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.