We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its like Cuddling up at home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellwether

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bellwether to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bellwether
1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Bellingham
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Its like Cuddling up at home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel is the true definition of cozy! Each room with a California King Bed, Fireplace, Balcony and jetted Jacuzzi tub! Turn that fireplace on, put a movie in and fill that jetted tub with hot water and bubbles and soak the day away! Located right on the water, the hotel has amazing views. The furnishings, towels, etc are top notch and so is the staff! Close enough to walk downtown and many other places.

Room Tip: Get a water view and watch the boats come in and out of the marina!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotBelle, Director of Sales at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your excellent review. We so enjoy positive (and constructive) feedback. My only correction is that our, albeit, giant beds aren't actually California Kings, but in fact Kings. They are deliciously comfy and yet we are actually about to replace them all with even better ones from our Preferred Hotel and Resort distributor very soon. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our guest rooms could provide such a cozy retreat from the brisk Northwest winter weather. The 270 degree water views are amazing all year long, especially on classic stormy and sunny Northwest days like today. Downtown Bellingham is a close walk and we invite you to return soon and visit the wonderful local shops as you discover the best of Bellingham next time you are in town. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    66
    23
    14
    23
See reviews for
39
131
5
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, WA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at the Bellwether for our anniversary. We were upgraded to a suite. The rooms are lovely; the service is friendly and attentive. Best of all, the Bellwether welcomes pets. We brought our small dog and got nothing but smiles from the staff. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel - the restaurant had recently been renovated, and the menu was revamped along with the update. We've always liked the Bellwether restaurant and this was no exception. A perfect weekend!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a water view room. It's worth the slight premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotBelle, Director of Sales at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your delightful review. We agree the Bellwether is the perfect waterfront oasis for an anniversary or weekend getaway. We adore each of our four-legged guests and invite you to add a pet package when they stay to add luxury for your loved one. Thank you for making us part of your perfect weekend getaway. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA State
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

As a college and retiree town, to a significant degree, Bellingham is not known for its luxury hotels. Years ago, when it opened, the Bellwether would have met that description.

However, in recent years (perhaps due to changing ownership), the hotel has slowly slid into disrepair. Although the restaurant has improved a bit from recent years, take a peek at the linens, towels, etc, in the room and you will see a rather worn out combination.

On the bright side, if you get a room with a view, expect great views of the water and some of the San Juan Islands in the distance.

The people at the hotel are terrific, but, alas, cannot make up for a hotel not being upgraded to keep up with the times. However, when you don't have much competition in town, why bother?

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your review and for visiting us at the Hotel Bellwether. I am thrilled to inform you that since your visit with us in July we have completely upgraded our linens and towels to the highest quality our Preferred Hotel Group supplier offers. The linens/towels and recent room upgrades have been very well received by our past guests - see recent TripAdvisor reviews. We are very proud to have been recognized as the top luxury hotel in the Northwest as recently as 2010 and 3rd in 2012. We invite you back to enjoy our most recent enhancements (ownership is committed to maintain a first-class property). Your input is very valuable as we strive to be recognized as one of the finest hotels in the Northwest and continue to provide our guests an exceptional experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwood, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Hotel Bellwether and the unbelievable, amazing staff should be rated 25 out of five!!! The fantasticly gracious, warm staff coupled with the magnificent setting and "old world" charm helped to make our stay a delightful fairy tale we will NEVER forget!!! It was a special anniversary and their enchanting front desk staff as well as their fantastic Restaurant Manager and staff went out of their way to set up our room as a romantic dream that truly took my husband's breath away when we entered our room (not easy to do!). The room was huge with awesome lanai, excellent views (table and chairs perfect for early morning coffee), luxury robes for a luxury bathroom complete with two-person jacuzzi tub and separate shower and a huge comfy bed delivering a wonderful peaceful slumber. The many, many countless acts the staff performed with such grace and genuine caring went wayyyyy above and beyond anything we have experienced before!!! They did everything to make sure EVERY DETAIL of our stay was perfect...(and key staff coordinates with me weeks before we even arrived) from the special treats in the lounge to the variety of soaps, bath salts and creams, to rose petals all through our room and into the jacuzzi bath......there really are not enough words to express what an amazing hotel, rich with beautiful antiques, a huge fireplace with carved mantel, great artwork, water falls, the perfect setting with views of the marina and open water that cannot be beat...and THEN, couple that with the most caring and friendly staff--from the front desk, to each of the restaurants/lounge as well as outstanding housekeeping staff just as warm, caring and thorough....You could not stay at a more amazing hotel, reminiscent of european chateaus, surrounded by outstanding natural beauty, simply amazing food with knowledgeable, eager and delightful servers, a huge wine selection and top that off with THE VERY BEST EXTRAORDINARY WARM AND CARING STAFF WE HAVE EVER ENCOUNTERED--add that up and you have all the components of a stay you will never forget!! Special kudos to Sarah, Andrew, Teri, Karen, Levi, Erin, Sean, Jim, Krystina, Ashley--You are beyond compare!! When you book your stay at the Hotel Bellwether, you are in for a wonderful stay!!!!!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any of the rooms with a view of the water. The higher floors give you a br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel has a beautiful vantage point over the water and the staff seem very friendly and professional. The towels were the fluffiest I've ever seen. The hotel was not very busy, and I had a good perspective on that because I was put in a room directly across from the elevator. Not only that, but for some reason at 8 am Housekeeping madly vacuumed for about three minutes outside my door the next morning without doing the rest of the hall. There were also coffee stains on the wall above the garbage in the bathroom. All in all, I felt like a second-tier guest in a second class room while staying at the Bellwether. What a shame. The funny thing is, is that in situations like this you have to accept some of the blame. I shouldn't have accepted the room. But I hate confrontations, and I didn't want to start my stay on the wrong foot. More fool me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I appreciate your positive points in your review and was sorry to read your comments regarding our shortfalls. I have shared your comments about the early morning vacuuming and the stains with our head housekeeper. It is against our policy to vacuum outside the hotel rooms that early in the morning. I will re-address with our housekeeping team why this is not a good idea and discuss alternative ways to clean our carpets during the early morning hours if a spill occurs in front of a guest's door. We apologize for the unsightly stains and have discussed measures on how to avoid this going unnoticed by housekeeping in the future. Please drop me a note before your next visit to Bellingham. We would like to invite you back to enjoy the property as we intend for all of our guests. My personal email is jim@hotelbellwether.com, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Beautiful hotel, great location on Bellingham Bay, next to Marine, gas fireplace, nice lanai, whirlpool tub and separate glass shower. Very clean, modern, excellent service. Grill had excellent food and very good service. Try the happy hour for super prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Bellwether for 1 night, 10/20/12. We were in town for a show at the Mt. Baker Theatre and wanted to be near downtown. The hotel was very nice and clean; the rooms were huge. We were surprised by the small kitchenette in the room. We had a room facing the marina on the second floor with a nice balcony and nice views. The soak tub looked nice but we didn't have time to use it. The only thing about the room we didn't like were the shutter doors that open from the tub looking into the room. Maybe a nice idea, but the latch was missing so they didn't stay closed very well, so not a lot of privacy when using the bathroom; probably would have bothered us more if we were staying there very long. They do offer free garage parking to hotel guests which is nice. We had drinks and snacks at the Lighthouse bar & grill during happy hour - very good and good service (although very confusing that the hotel guide in the room calls it the Harbourside restaurant & bar). We also ate dinner in the bar next door at the Anthony's Hearthfire Grill. Very delicious dinner and what we'd expect from an Anthony's. Very convenient, short walk to this restaurant.
So for the not-so-good... Sunday morning we were woken up at 7:30am by the hotel fire alarms sounding. It was a shocking way to wake up, and try to figure out what to do. The alarm only sounded a few times then stopped, but then started again only moments later. We looked down the hall and the fire doors had shut on the 2nd floor too. We met another guest in the hall who had found out they were having problems in the kitchen causing the alarms to go off, so no need to evacuate. I guess I would say it's good to know the fire alarms are working, but it did not allow a very restful Sunday morning. After the alarms went off we decided to get up and leave since our hearts were racing and there was no chance of going back to sleep. I was kind of surprised that the staff in the hotel lobby said nothing as we were leaving. Not a big deal, but an acknowledgement of the early morning fire alarm debacle would have been nice.
We would definitely stay at Bellwether again should we need a hotel in downtown Bellingham. A good location, a clean, spacious and comfortable hotel, and overall a good value.

Room Tip: I would definitely choose the marina-side rooms for the the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotBelle, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your review, it was much appreciated and will be utilized to make improvements to the hotel and restaurant by the next time you stay with us. Thank you also for choosing the Hotel Bellwether. We love providing waterfront luxury to guests who are visiting for downtown events, since it is so close. Please allow me to apologize for the 7:30 am alarm, which must have been very shocking at such an early time. Thank you for understanding and yes, we are also glad that the alarms worked as well as they did for the small amount of kitchen smoke, though we are so sorry to have disturbed our guests. Our 15 suites, including the Lighthouse Suite, do have great kitchenettes and we are glad you were pleasantly surprised by yours. The next time you stay with us, we hope you’ll find time to soak in the jetted tub; perhaps after a day of skiing at Mount Baker, which is also very close by. I have sent the maintenance manager to check all tub shutter latches as guests checkout this week to ensure the same privacy issues are not experienced again. We are printing out the new in-room directories and room service menus this week which have all updates including the NEW Lighthouse Bar & Grill. I am so pleased you enjoyed your meal at the Lighthouse, as well as the other wonderful restaurants and shops in the Bellwether Complex. Please look forward to a personal email this week in response to the alarm.

Best wishes,
Kendall Pickerill
Hotel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellwether? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellwether

Address: 1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bellwether is Western Washington’s premier upscale waterfront hotel, providing luxurious accommodations, attentive service, and personalized amenities that pamper the leisure traveler, support the corporate traveler, and facilitate hassle-free meetings and outstanding weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Bellwether reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellwether Hotel Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellwether, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.