We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northern Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellwether

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bellwether to your Saves list
Hotel Bellwether
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fall City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Northern Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

My farthest trip up north in Washington was worth it because of Hotel Bellwether. Amazing location on the harbor. I was given an upgrade at check-in to a room larger than I needed. The clerks were friendly and gave me great information about the area. This will be the place to stay each time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    78
    23
    15
    23
See reviews for
43
143
6
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Hotel Bellwether is a very nice place to stay. It's located approximately 10 blocks and the length of the road leading to the hotel from the center of Bellingham. My husband and I took advantage of the Kayak.com price for $150/night for our Sunday evening stay which ended up placing us on the 1st floor facing the parking lot. Perhaps if we had paid more and booked directly w/ the hotel we could have enjoyed a water view. The room itself was spacious with a very nice bathroom (separate shower & jetted tub). The hotel is at the end of a business developing area with a handful of restaurants on it, a salon and gift stores along w/ the Coast Guard station. Downtown is where the action is though and we made the walk to/from a few times. My husband and I took Amtrak to Bellingham (train station is 5 miles away in the adjacent town of Fairhaven) then took the local bus to downtown ($1/person, 35 min transit b/c of several stops along the way) and walked to the hotel (approx 25 min). Luckily, the weather cooperated through out stay. If you are looking for something that isn't mass produced and upscale, Hotel Bellwether is for you.

Room Tip: AMTRAK train station & bus station is 4-5 miles away in Fairhaven. There is an airport in Belli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Visited the Hotel Bellwether for an overnight stay and visit with our son attending Western Washington University. We requested a water view and received a nice upgrade to a suite. The room overlooked the water and marina. The furnishings were comfortable. enough to make for a perfect movie night with our son after enjoying dinner at Anthony's - which is just a short walk away. In the morning we walked around the pier.
The staff was very helpful and courteous. Room service was quick and the bar was helpful when I went looking for a bottle of wine and then returned for wine glasses.
The hotel is on the water and was an easy drive from WWU campus. The room rate was very reasonable - especially when considering the upgrade we received. Even though it was a holiday weekend, the hotel was not busy - which is a real shame considering the great experience we had there. While it may be a few dollars more than other hotels in the city - and I do mean just a few dollars - it was well worth the expense.

Room Tip: Ask for a king bed and water view. Half the rooms look to the city and mountains the other half to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We were at the Belwether Hotel last Christmas - our fourth Christmas at the hotel.
Though we have had some problems in the past (lost Christmas dinner reservations) this was the worst, primarily dou to attitude.
We arrived Christmas day and found broken glass around the bathroom floor. They sent a person to sweep up and we requested he notify the desk that there was in fact broken glass.
Checking with the dest the next AM they said they were not aware of it but would notify manager upon his return and let us know - no response.
We also told front desk that there were lack of glasses in the room.
Then told them there were no towels left (they have note in room requesting you use towels more than one day - a 'green' thing - at this high end hotel ??
This want the problem - there were no towels left.
Also, one tissue, was in the tissue box. No additional.
Upon checking out and mentioning a couple of other disapointments the front desk told us to fill in the comment card left in the room - there was none.
We were told we should hear from the management - no resonsxe.
We did take a comment card and after not hearing from the hotel wee filled it in a couple of weeks later and mailed it to the hotel - no response for some time, then an email saying, 'we are sorry and making changes'
The same stock reply as the response to many other poor reviews.
The whole attitude from this pricey, and not worth it, hotel ii woefully inadequate.
We had booked for next Christmas - now have cancelled.
There are a lot of other locations out there that actually appreciate your business and loyalty.

Room Tip: They will not assign a requested room. You take your chances. Air conditioning is very noisy. A/C i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

And what a birthday it was! My wonderful man reserved the lighthouse suite for my birthday! (I wish I had photos to share, but they're in print... not digital.) The lighthouse it 3 floors and it was more than home away from home. The Agent at the front desk, Erin, made our experience "home away from home"... only better. So, a HUGE thank you to Erin and the rest of the staff that made our trip what it was.

The view from the lighthouse was gorgeous, as are the rest of the facilities. Living room, 2 fire places, great lighting, master bedroom, 3 outdoor sitting areas, lovely bathroom (with a bidet and a jacuzzi).

I will not comment on the previous reviews, other than stating that the staff was there when we needed them and they were more than accommodating.

We also got massages at Zazen Spa, across the way. Zazen gives you a discount if you stay at the Hotel Bellwether. The massages were wonderful! Rebecca and Amy (our therapists) were gentle hearted and firm handed.

Room Tip: Judging by the reviews: go at a slow time of the year. As for our experience... book the lighthouse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedro-Woolley, Washington, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

My children gave me a gift certificate for my birthday. My partner and I were very excited to go. I know my children spent much hard earned money to pay for our deluxe top of the line room Arrogance was definitely a way to describe how we were treated. I checked in with my credit card for incidentals as they required it. They also went out of their way to let me know how they went out of their way to "upgrade us" when in actuallity they had not and the room we had is actually what my childrren had paid for. When we went to check out the girl was so busy she hardly had time to acknowledge, turns out they charged my credit card for the room, which was average. I then a week later had to call my daughter expressing that I had personally been charged for their gift, she felt terrible because it had been a gift. small TVs and scrapes on the wall and lots of wasted space. Tub not luxurient at all. If going there makes you feel special more power to you, me on the other had feel like it is all a false sense of what really matters and would never go there again.

Room Tip: for a luxury room. we felt the accomadations at home were far superior and we have a 900 square foot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britton B, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is with our guest feedback that we can continue to grow and improve what we offer to our guests. I understand that your recent stay with us was a negative one, and that is certainly not the experience we want for our guests.

Management is personally inspecting each and every guest room and noting any updates which are needed. We are in the process of working through various updates with additional updates planned throughout the Hotel in the coming months; one of these includes the updating of the TV’s within the guest rooms.

We have reviewed with the Front Desk our service expectations and have implemented a program to ensure that this level of service is provided to each and every guest in each and every situation. I regret that your credit card was incorrectly charged, this was corrected as quickly as possible once it was brought to our attention. I apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Again, I do apologize that your recent experience with the Hotel Bellwether did not meet your expectations. The Hotel Bellwether is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proven to be invaluable.

Britton Braswell, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stayed here on my wedding night, we booked 8 months in advance, were told that we had a 3rd floor room with a bay view. When we arrived we were told that it was a first come first serve rooms and we were placed next to the cleaning closet at the end of the hall. Our 1st floor room was ground level, parking lot view, every car that came and went passed its headlights through our room. Needless to say they didn't care that we were not happy and I know that I will never be staying there again. I will also NEVER recommend such a expensive place when I have stayed at cheaper places, with equally comfortable furniture and much better service.

Room Tip: Dont bother trying to pick a room, not even a generous tip will get you taken care off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellwether? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellwether

Address: 1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bellwether 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bellwether is Western Washington’s premier upscale waterfront hotel, providing luxurious accommodations, attentive service, and personalized amenities that pamper the leisure traveler, support the corporate traveler, and facilitate hassle-free meetings and outstanding weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bellwether reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellwether Hotel Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellwether, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.