We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous course, would love to see it in the sunshine!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shuksan Golf Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shuksan Golf Club
1500 East Axton Road, Bellingham, WA 98226
(360) 398-8888
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Washington State
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Gorgeous course, would love to see it in the sunshine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Played here in the last week of May. When we arrived, it was raining and the forecast called for more. The guy in the pro shop actually said he wouldn't hold us to our tee time, since the weather was bad. This is the first time I can ever recall a golf course employee being honest about the weather. Most of the time, there could be a hurricane blowing through and you'd be told, "Oh, it'll pass, go on out".

We decided to grab a bite in the coffee shop and see how things went. Good food and a solid value. By the time we finished breakfast, it was just drizzling and there appeared to be clearer sky on the way.

The first and tenth tees are very elevated, and the view is beautiful. Drives go a long way, so you'll feel like a big hitter. We did have a white-knuckle drive down the winding cart path. Rain and shade made for a slick trip, but we survived.

The course is challenging, but fair, most of the hazards are easily visible. While the course was wet, we found only a few areas of standing water.

While the course would be walkable, there are a lot of hills, so it would be quite a workout.

I'd love to play here again in sunnier weather.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, BC,
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Views, Value and Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This course is a hidden delight. Some people choose to walk this monster however a cart will make the day far more enjoyable. For you and those behind you.

One and ten offer incredible elevation that make for exciting starts to the front and back nine! There is nothing that compares to an elevation drive to a fairway that seems miles below you. And you get to experience this thrill again on 18 along with water and sand fun. But I jump too far ahead....

There is danger and reward on every hole.....so do not expect an easy or forgiving course. However, the vistas, distances and varied landscape offer consolation for those errant shots.

There is a bar and restaurant available for food before the round, at the turn and then for the 19th. It's not a spectacularly large restaurant / bar but the view from the deck is spectacular. And you'll find the food totally acceptable.

Finally, the staff is what makes this location shine. Everyone is friendly, helpful and wants you to have the best possible time when you are there. So go golfing there.....what are you waiting for? Pick up the phone now and make a tee time!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow does this place need better drainage!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Just played this for the first time and mud (plugged) balls everywhere. Greens are quite bumpy and some have fungus and winter kill. Only $27 @ 1 pm, so it's good value, and its a good work out / walk for sure, for those carrying. Played blue tees.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wedding ceremony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our daughter's wedding was held on the terrace at Shuksan Golf Club. It was a beautiful setting and fortunately a beautiful summer day. After the ceremony we enjoyed hors d'oeuvres and drinks on the deck. The dinner buffet of steak, chicken and a variety of salads was delicious and many guests commented on the quality of the food. I highly recommend Shuksan Golf Club as a wedding venue!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Shuksan a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I went to shuksan and it cost 40 bucks with a cart which I think is a great deal for this course. The elevated tee boxes offer spectacular views and the course plays fair. Great value for your dollar

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuksan Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Shuksan Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shuksan Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.