We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend in Bellingham” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lions Inn Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bellingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lions Inn Motel
Save
You added Lions Inn Motel to your Saves list
2419 Elm St., Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Great weekend in Bellingham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Nice and clean room with cable TV, hot water, refrigerator and microwave. Quiet neighborhood and really close to downtown. There is a store in front to buy whatever you can need (always open).
Good option in Bellingham, WA

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
3
4
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

A shortage of available hotel rooms on the date we needed led us to take a chance on Lions Inn Motel. We had read the poor reviews on Trip Advisor but also saw some good reviews. From firsthand experience, the poor reviews were spot on. Although we didn't have as terrible an experience as some described, it ranks among the worst places we've stayed. First of all, the sheets were brown (color), didn't fit the bed, and sported holes. They didn't seem fresh and the blanket also was discolored with use or lack of washing. Since the towels smelled clean, we actually spread them on the bed to sleep! One mattress was grungy and discolored but the other was newer, though very uncomfortable--so cheap you could feel the springs. There was an extension cord running across the room, covered by a little mat. Upgrades included a big flat screen TV (we didn't use it) and a reasonably clean kitchette area with a table. The bathroom was worn with mildew visible in the tub but the shower worked okay. I did not find the manager friendly--he had an edge. We had tried to call several times to tell him about a late check-in but he didn't answer the phone (this was at 10:30 and 11:00 am) so we drove by. The office was locked and no one seemed to be around. When we finally reached him, he said that of course he didn't care if we came late since many people arrive late from the airport. We were trying to be courteous and weren't feeling confident that we'd even get in since he doesn't answer the phone regularly. Don't believe it if the message says he's on the phone or serving another customer. He wasn't in the office. I think the hotel is a work in progress and he is trying to renovate a worn-out property. Until it gets a lot better, I wouldn't advise staying there! Customers should also be advised that this is a dog-friendly property and that may account for some of the damage in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This place is horrible. Cleanliness is not a priority to The Lions Inn. Our room smelled and was so dirty we couldn't even take our flip flops off! Completely outdated and gross. My husband and I were there for 10 minutes, only long enough to grap a phone book and book another hotel! We were so disgusted with our room that we debated staying in our car!

Room Tip: Just don't book here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I wouldn't even give this place 1 star...
What a disgusting place to stay. The room smelled like urine and dirty smelly feet. The sheets hadn't been changed (for quite some time by the looks of them), there was hair all over the face cloth... We tried to get another room in any other hotel/motel but there's some kind of big work boom going on in Bellingham leaving absolutely nothing else.We only needed the room for a few hours because of a very early flight to LA. We were scared to turn the lights off for fear that the insects would start investigating.. needless to say we didn't sleep at all.
And the worst part??? Being charged $90.00 for it... because the owner/manager knew full well that we were trapped and that there would be nothing available in town.... Talk about feeling violated :'-(

Room Tip: Anywhere else would be a good room in comparison
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

On our way to LA we needed an overnight as we had a very early flight so we thought it made sense to cross the border and be in the US for our 5 am flight.
After searching the Internet we found this place and all the pictures looked like it was comfortable, clean and reasonable. Well we're we wrong.
First off the office was a disaster and very unorganized, registrations piled so high and names and credit card numbers scattered every where. I even commented that he wasa a little behind in his filing.
Because I had called and reserved the room he searched the pike and had found my reservation.
When we were finally able to go to the room he opened the door and I was Flabergasted. In shock was more like it.
The room reeked of dirty socks,and urine it was gross. I will post pics so keep reading please.
The manager had left while I parked the car so it was just my daughter who saw it first.
Well I was appalled at the condition on of the room besides the smell there are so many other things that were gross.
I am usually easy going and have stayed in some pretty bad dives but this was by far the worst.
I pulled back the bed spread to find the the sheets were all messed up and the pillows were flat as cardboard. So it was apparent that the bed was never changed.
Then the bathroom well that was so gross I can't begin to describe it. I can say though that the face cloth had pubic hairs on it and the towels were frayed and they stunk.
So we called the desk but the guy had closed up and was gone. I called every hotel/motel in Bellingham to find out that there were no rooms anywhere due to a big work project that was going on.
There was no way I was going to shut the lights off for fear every cockroach and bed bug would dine on us.
So we sat up till 3 am till we could get out of there and head to the airport.
I have since sent this report to the BBB of Bellingham and trying desperately to get my money back.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

WHAT WE APPRECIATED:
1. With the manager Nick being so personable, accommodating, unobtrusive, and welcoming, we would definitely stay here again on what we hope to be bi-annual trips from Canada. 2. The location is perfect to easily explore the downtown and close to all amenities. Save money on gas. 3. The neighbourhood is very quiet and peaceful. 4. We didn't have pets but most of the guests had dogs of every size with them. 5. Microwave, small fridge, lots of hot water, convection heat, newly tiled bathroom, new windows, carpeting and paint. 6. Parking right outside your door. 7. Nice residential older neighbourhood with a convenience store across the street & drive through diner for getting coffee, food, etc. within walking distance. 8. Best Thai food ever at Poor Siamese....a must and very close for take out. 9. Benches outside your door for those who just want to sit or have a cigarette. 10. Queen sized bed in the standard room was good to sleep on. 11. The room was cleaned every day with no cobwebs or dust bunnies floating around. 12. Fantastic rates so more money to shop and enjoy the fine restaurants in the area. 13. Nick is a very interesting man to chat with and has a great deal of knowledge to share about the area. 14. Nick went out of his way to arrange accommodation for us as well as point out the wonderful spots locals know of to really enjoy the area.

WHAT COULD BE IMPROVED:
1. The curtains are very worn and do not hang properly on the rod. You can not open and close them and have to adjust them to close the gaps for privacy. They do not block out the light. It is a shame because it definitely makes the room look shabby despite all the work that was done to improve this older property.

SUMMARY:
If you are looking for the amenities of a Best Western or Super 8 motel chain, with newer furniture, sheets, black out drapes, soft fluffy pillows and blankets, then please keep in mind the Lion's Inn Motel is a much older property and the rates reflect it. However, if you are wanting to be out and about most of the time, sleep in undisturbed, come and go as you please, have a quiet, friendly, layed back place to hang your hat at the end of a long day, touring or shopping, then this is the place for you.

Overall, both of us agree we would book with Nick again and really want to echo the praises of others in the fact that he is a manager who is able to give the service that give motel chains competition. Thank you once again Nick. See you next time we come over the border from Canada. Cheers!

Room Tip: We only stayed in a standard room so we can not comment on the other rooms but some of them appeared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Clean and quiet close to everything in town . Management is curteous and helpful with things to do and places to see. Will stay here anytime Im visiting the Bell.

Room Tip: Book early, this little place is hard to get into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lions Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Inn Motel

Address: 2419 Elm St., Bellingham, WA 98225
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Number of rooms: 15

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lions Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.