We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Stay...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bellingham Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bellingham Lodge to your Saves list
Bellingham Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   101 No. Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225 (Formerly Travelodge Bellingham)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Bellingham
Cheney, Wa
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Standard Stay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

With a great price comes lower end property. It's dated, but okay. There were some weird things, though. The showers dipped to the left, because the drain was centered on the back end of the tub. It felt rather awkward while facing the shower head. Almost unsteady. There were no '13' numbered rooms. The rooms went from room 111 to room 115. Same on the second floor. Weird. The wifi was hit or miss. Our tablets connected fine, but my laptop never could connect, and I tried everything. The front desk staff--friendly folks mind you--actually made everyone's waffles at the continental breakfast. Kinda odd, really. All in all, I'd have no problem coming back. It's probably the cheapest stay in town...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    15
    9
    22
See reviews for
22
14
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Bellingham Lodge was a great budget place to stop for the night. Our room was very clean and met our basic needs with a comfy bed, free wifi, free on site parking, friendly staff. We caught the tail end of the free continental breakfast so can't really comment on the full extent of the offerings as it looked like a bunch of folks beat us to it! But a fellow was happy to get us going with some homemade waffles. Walk down the road to a great pub called McKay's for some fresh and delicious pizza pies and over 100 beers to choose from. We'd stay here again if we were passing through Bellingham.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I REPEAT, DO NOT STAY HERE. We were in desperation, and this was the only open room in a 50 miles radius, so we reluctantly stayed here.

The building is old, so I understand that some slack should be cut. However, THE ROOM WAS FILTHY. The floors had clearly not been swept in weeks (there was dirt and hair and other debris) and there was trash all over, dropped between a crevice five inches wide between the dresser and fridge (so yes, you could definitely see and PICK IT UP). Thick dust was along the floor and especially in the corners.

The bed had previously been slept in and it appeared as though they had tucked the comforter in to make it look "clean". The sheets were covered in hair and there was blood smeared on the top sheet. The pillows were hair covered and stained, as well.

We called the front desk, and a lady changed the sheets and said she'd "make a note that this room wasn't cleaned". The "clean" sheets had hair on them, as well.

On the bright side, the bathroom seemed clean and there was a mini fridge and microwave (we were fearful to actually use those, but I digress).

The bed has a frame that was obviously not made for it, as there was funky metal pieces that stuck out and are easy to trip over (I got an awful gash on my leg courtesy of the nasty fellow).

The room has a mishmash of appliances from different hotels - phone from Travelodge, clock from Park Motel, fridge from Okinan(something). I'm nitpicking here, but that's very unprofessional and could be easily dealt with.

Bottom line, if I could give a negative rating, I would. This place is terrible. Save yourself the trouble and DO NOT STAY HERE.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Compared to other hotels in the area, the quality is comparable or superior to hotels costing up to $40 more. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the shower was perfect. These days I like to have a good internet connection and the speed at Bellingham Lodge was among the best I encountered. I didn't use the pool but it looked nice and the other guests seemed to enjoy it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My son and I stayed here for a few nights while visiting local attractions.
The hotel room was basic but clean. There is a sauna, and whirlpool tub and an small outside pool. The whirlpool seemed like it could use some chlorine but everything else was fine.
The staff were amazing and offered to make you waffles in the morning. They were quick to print you off directions to anywhere you wanted to go. On our arrival there was a new employee on his first day working alone. He was multi tasking as he was taking care of a few people all at once but kept very calm, he was apologetic, and very polite! I would stay here again as the price was right. I booked through Hotwire.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying on the top floor as we could hear people walking around above heads as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I booked a night, rather reluctantly after reading reviews. I stay in a lot of hotels and motels and don't have time for poorly run ones. Bellingham lodge was a pleasant surprise. First, my room was clean and comfortable with microwave, fridge, coffeepot and large flat screen tv. the bed was comfortable, the ac worked great and the bathroom was clean. ALL of the staff I dealt with were helpful and professional without being in any way intrusive. The hotel was quiet and secure. All this is to be expected in a well run establishment.

What sets Bellingham Lodge apart, and above lodgings in its class are the little extras that i didn't expect to find.
1. Tv has tons of channels including multiple premium movie channels at no extra cost!
2.Free wi Fi in the room that is fast, easy to use and doesn't disconnect
3.Free breakfast that is an actual real, full complete breakfast, including cooked to order waffles!
4Spa and pool that are actually worth using (i am partial to hot tubs and this one is good!)

It is obvious that the management both cares and pays attention, it shows in the details.
oh, and after one night, I extended my stay for the ten days I was In bellingham. You just won't find a better value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

This an older hotel with a great location to easily get to all the shopping on Bellingham. The staff were so friendly and the continental breakfast was a waffle made fresh, cereal, oatmeal, coffee and juice. The pool was a super refresher zfter a hot day of shopping. I will certainly return . air conditioning screens on the windows and very affordable. M arie Peterson.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellingham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellingham Lodge

Address: 101 No. Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225 (Formerly Travelodge Bellingham)
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bellingham Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Bellingham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellingham Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.