We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bellingham Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bellingham Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bellingham Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   101 No. Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225 (Formerly Travelodge Bellingham)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Rochester, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

First, I'd like to mention that we found the security / key system of the hotel very acceptable - perhaps it has been upgraded since some earlier reviews. We were also pleased to have an on-site, alert front desk clerk available for late check-in. We also were pleasantly surprised that the street noise was not bothersome (and grateful that our hallway neighbors were quiet).

However, this hotel is DIRTY, dirty, dirty...in every way. The hallway was filled with trash - empty tobacco tins, beer bottles, food trays, etc... The room had crunchy carpeting and a sticky bathroom floor. Even the clock radio was sticky. We inspected the sheets carefully, and they seemed acceptable. Due to our late check in, and one-night reservation, we decided to make the best of it and stay, but had no desire or appetite to take advantage of the free breakfast. I can't imagine the kitchen being any more clean than the rooms, since they are managed by the same staff. We certainly would never stay here again, and are passionately urging our friends to avoid the place, as well.

Room Tip: Arrive early enough to have options if you find your room unacceptable - either to switch, have it r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    10
    9
    16
See reviews for
15
11
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nelson
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We debated about staying due to some reviews but in the end we wanted a cheap motel with a pool, we were more than pleasantly surprised, the rooms were lovely, modern and with good facilities, the staff were really helpful and the breakfast even included freshly cooked waffles. Not only was there a small pool but also a hot tub and sauna, great after a long drive. You could walk to shops and restaurants. Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stay at this hotel for the value, room is clean and quiet. This is an older property, so does not have all the amenities of the new hotels but location is good and cost is reasonable. They provide basic breakfast which is included in your room rate, so saves on having to stop at a restaurant. Service is good and they have been courteous even when we have arrived late in the evening.

Room Tip: If you are looking for good value, this is the place to stay. They do not have all the fancy bells a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

At 11:01 am owner rudely called our room. At 11:05 she came banging on our door telling us to check out. She literally banged on the door and then preceded to open it! Imagine if we were changing. I've never experienced such rudeness.
The hallways stunk of smoke. The room was not clean enough and I inspected the mattress for bedbugs thankfully I found none. At 2 am a patron down the hall was screaming his head off however the young male clerk who was nice did go upstairs to tell the guy off and to quiet down.
I did not feel safe in this hotel the outside doors have no lock and anyone could enter the hotel without a key via the back door! Very dangerous. The rooms are stale and not extremely clean, also you can hear everything and when someone has a bath you swear they are bathing in your suite its so loud.

The rate is very cheap and in a area nearby to amenities but with the extreme rude service from the woman at checkout and the lack of safety at this hotel and smell I would not return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The location was excellent. There were lots of good restaurants nearby, and it is very close to downtown. It was clean, and the service was good. All in all, very good value for the price. I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Maine, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is not a bad place to stay This place could use a some more cleaning but over all ok. Good location and stores near by.Resturants are close by too. I would recommend this place and will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH VANCOUVER
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

we have 2 kids under 12 the rooms was large enough clean and comfortable beds, good shower pressure and heat. The pool was good the free breakfast was great, waffles made to order. The internet was good and they let us leave our car for 4 days when we flew to Las Vegas for free. We used the microwave and fridge it was all perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bellingham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellingham Lodge

Address: 101 No. Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225 (Formerly Travelodge Bellingham)
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bellingham Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bellingham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellingham Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.