We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap in many ways” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bellingham Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bellingham Lodge to your Saves list
Bellingham Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   101 No. Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225 (Formerly Travelodge Bellingham)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Bellingham
wa
2 reviews
“Cheap in many ways”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

Sat. Paid $91. It looks like they just don’t much care. Place seemed run down and they don’t even do much in curb appeal (blackberries and unkempt grass). Bathroom sink stopped up. The “enhanced” continental breakfast was a joke, not well stocked and messy.
Desk people were friendly and location was good. Room was quiet.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — amenities
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    15
    9
    22
See reviews for
22
14
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

I stayed at the Travelodge in January 2008, Paid $63 a night (plus taxes) for three nights for a double queen room. First room (104), the window looking out on the rear parking lot would not lock (anyone could have opened it and entered the room at any time). We were moved to room 112. Room ok, but the fabric on the chairs was stained and the carpet looked dirty. Heard lots of noises when people on second floor moved around or the neighbors used the showers. The breakfast room was unkempt and looked like it was not on a daily cleaning schedule. Unappetizing enough to make us eat out even when the breakfast was free. Room key stopped working each day, we had to have it re-keyed daily. Front desk employees were fine, no complaints with them. Next time were are in Bellingham we will probably spend more money to find a nicer place.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

I have stayed at this hotel three times in the last 2 years. It is a basic, comfortable, affordable hotel. The people at the front desk have always been very helpful and pleasant. The pool is very small but it would be fun for small children. The breakfast consists of drinks, muffins/pastries and fruit. It's location is convenient for visiting Western Washington University. I will stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HELLO3
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

Nice for the money. Desk staff very helpful and courteous. Breakfast was nice, and pool was fun.

  • Liked — LOCATION, SERVICE, ROOMS
  • Disliked — BELLINGHAM
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missourihee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2007

I had a wonderful time in Bellingham, and enjoyed myself immensely. The experience was great, and it seems like Travelodge has really changed, based on earlier reviews. The carpets were brand new, the place was clean, I had a microwave, fridge, and T.V., and the pool was fun!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — like a motel
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

I had a very pleasant and comfortable stay, and at a rate of $54 per night, the value was quite good. The rooms were clean, the staff helpful, and the place was quite. I would definitely recommend this hotel, even though weekend prices in the summer seem to be higher.

Small, but comfortable and reasonable.

  • Liked — The friendly service, clean rooms, and affordable rates
  • Disliked — The somewhat small continental breakfast, even though it was good
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

My friend and I stayed there on our way back to Seattle after a concert in Vancouver last night.

It was the worst experience I've had in a long time in a hotel.

There were hairs in the bathtub, shampoo or soap drizzled and caked along the sink, fingerprints all over the window and TV and stains on the carpet.

I was barely able to climb into the bed for fear there were bedbugs waiting to join me. And I refused to use the shower this morning.

I would NEVER stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — filth
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellinghamTravelodge, Manager at Bellingham Lodge, responded to this review, May 21, 2009
The condition you describe is certainly unacceptable and we continuously work with our housekeeping staff to maintain our standard of cleanliness. I do hope you notified our front desk staff of your room's condition.

We most certainly do not have any infestations, we monitor and take preventive measures at the building level to ensure such infestations do not happen.

While I'm sorry you had an unpleasant experience at our hotel, I want to thank you for reviewing us so that we can continue to improve our service and maintain our standard of quality.

Sincerely,
Bellingham Travelodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellingham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellingham Lodge

Address: 101 No. Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225 (Formerly Travelodge Bellingham)
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bellingham Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bellingham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellingham Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.