We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrifyingly Disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bellingham Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bellingham Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bellingham Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   101 No. Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225 (Formerly Travelodge Bellingham)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
So. Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrifyingly Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

So apparently on Google the motel management writes the reviews, because this motel had some of the best reviews. In reality this motel is very, very dirty. Our first clue that this place isn't ok was the torn up and filthy carpet in the lobby and on the stairs. The only available king size room was a "suite", a slightly larger than avg. room with a whirlpool tub. The tub appeared clean, but on getting in to shower there were "hairs" in the bottom and soap dried on the tile walls. The tiles and grout surrounding the tub was very dirty. The next day our room wasn't cleaned at all, although the towels were replaced with more stained, holey towels. The comforter was stained with blood and yellow stains. The pillows were yellowed and lumpy. The couches and chairs were stained and dirty.
Here were the good things: a beautiful mirror on the wall and very nice smelling soap in the bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    11
    9
    20
See reviews for
18
11
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

If saving money is your priority, this is your place. However, if you expect your hotel to be clean, this place is not for you. The place reeks of cheapness, from the floors to a horrendous room decor, to smells that you know are not yours.

The breakfast would be considered luxurious in third world country, but for someone with any standards, it is absolutely unacceptable.

The owner's attitude is they can't please everyone, so if you don't like it, too bad. Again, if all you want is to save money and have low expectations, this may be an option. Otherwise, please spend a few bucks more and stay at a place that cares.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs and ignore the cheapness for a total experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I have no criticism about the accomodations at all. I accidentally reserved a room with a single bed but smoking. When I found that out, I told them smoking was no good. They immediately offered me a nonsmoking room with two beds for the same price. The beds were very comfortable, the cable TV was great. I could walk to eating places. I could take the bus to downtown. It was right by Interstate 5.

Only real problem I can report is that the wireless Internet was spotty in my room. They said it was loaded with all the customers lodged there. What I ultimately found was that my room was on the very border of what the wireless access point would reachl. I brought my netbook to the lobby and everything worked perfect.

I recommend this place, but if you find your connection failing, go to the breakfast room where the signal is better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

After checking in, we drove to the back parking lot and saw a bunch of louts standing around a pickup truck drinking beer. I thought, "This can't be good."
Yep, one of their rooms was around the corner and the other down the hall. Sounded like they were having a party in the hallways, so I phoned the front desk at 10:30 p.m. Within 10 minutes they quieted down, but at 20-minute intervals they resumed until 2:00 a.m.
The second night was peaceful, for the louts checked out that morning.
Once, we passed through the smoking section hallways and were gagged by the fetid odor. In our room, one of the electrical outlets was coming out of the wall.
If you can avoid drunken louts during your stay, I would recommend this hotel because it's cheap and convenient to the I-5. Many good eating establishments nearby. Just remember that with this hotel you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

This is the worst hotel we ever stayed in. The hallways stink of cigarette smoke, the walls are dirty, and the carpet is stained and sticky at places. Several months worth of dirt was visible between the bed and the bedside table. The sheets are so thin and old that they are torn at the corners and don’t hold onto the mattress anymore; you end up sleeping directly on the mattress without the protection (!) of the sheets. That makes it very uncomfortable, disturbing and disgusting! As for the bedcover and the blanket, well I don’t know . . .
The walls are thin, the floors are creaky and, as a result, you hear noise coming from the hallway, the adjacent rooms, and the rooms above, making it for a very noisy experience and an uneasy sleep.
Last but not least, the continental breakfast and the kitchen area!!! The kitchen / dining / lounge areas are so dirty that it puts a damper on your appetite right away. And it’s as well, because, as an other reviewer said, it’s a joke with the stale mini-bagels and cereals offered. The furniture is old and dirty, and you can barely see through the windows. In the food preparation and handling area, you find the milk, orange juice, butter and cream cheese, not far from empty dishes, dirty coffee pots and cleaning products. Brooms, dirty mops and other cleaning devices lay on the kitchen floor along with garbage overflowing from the bin (both in the kitchen and the dining areas). Health Services would have a field-day if they showed up there!
I hope all Travelodges are not the same, but I won’t be the one to find out!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellinghamTravelodge, Owner at Bellingham Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
I'm sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide clean, affordable accommodations. Thank you for your feedback. It helps us to improve our hotel. It is true that we do provide smoking rooms. While we try to ensure that guests do not smoke in the hallways or leave their doors open while smoking it may occasionally happen. The conditions you describe regarding the cleanliness of the room and the condition of the bedsheets are certainly not up to our standards. We do steam clean the carpets regularly and continually spot clean tough stains. The housekeepers are instructed to dispose of linen that has worn thin. Regarding the walls being thin and the floors being creaky, the building is nearly 30 years old and it's true in some areas that the floor might squeak. It's also true that if a guest is loud enough you might be able to hear them in another room. On the other hand, our desk staff are trained and effective in responding to noise complaints swiftly, professionally, and assertively. We do clean the breakfast area while serving the food and after it has closed. Some of our windows in that area have accumulated stains between the panes that we are unable to clean. We intend to replace the windows but this will unfortunately have to wait until we have an opportunity to spend some money on renovations. We had been leaning a mop and broom up behind the kitchen counter area, but we agree that this doesn't looks so good and we've removed them. Thanks for pointing this out to us. As for Health Services, we'd be happy to offer any agent a room at our hotel any time. Come on down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

A dump, plain and simple. This is the filthiest hotel I have ever stayed at. The hallways reek of cigarette smoke (even the non-smoking floor). The floor and furniture are dirty and stained. The sheets are old and thin (nearly transparent!). The construction of the hotel was very low-quality, with thin creaky floors and thin walls and doors that let the sound through.
It is clear that the owners have not put any money into the upkeep of this property for many, many years. It was so dirty and unpleasant that we were unable to enjoy our stay. A thoroughly uncomfortable, unhappy experience. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Im writing from a room at this Travelodge and honestly its not as bad as the other reviews say it is. Im passing through from Alaska to Oregon and needed a place to stay. The room I was given is very clean and in good condition over all. The decor could use updating and the noise from the hall and upstairs guest is noticeable but not unbearable. I wont be staying for the continental breakfast so i cant comment on that but if you need a good budget motel for a night or two you cant go wrong here, lots of place to eat nearby too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bellingham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellingham Lodge

Address: 101 No. Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225 (Formerly Travelodge Bellingham)
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bellingham Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Bellingham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellingham Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.