We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian in Fairhaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mambo Italiano Cafe

Mambo Italiano Cafe
1303 12th St, Bellingham, WA 98225-7105
360-734-7677
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 388 restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Restaurant is located in the Fairhaven district/area. Phone is (360) 734-7677
Seattle
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great Italian in Fairhaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had one dinner at Mambo Italian Cafe. It was recommended by our hotel, and clearly a favorite of the locals.

Salad was fresh and crisp with plenty of garlic in the Caesar dressing. The pizzas and pasta dishes were tasty. Our server was friendly and attentive. We had an early dinner but the place gets busy, so reservations are probably important later in the evening. Prices were reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    30
    30
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Italian food - and you can sit outside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

After arriving in Bellingham we wandered aound for a while and ended up at Mambo - mainly because we could sit outside and enjoy a meal in the evening sunshine. Coming frm a cold country like ours, that is always a point! It appeared to be a lucky choice. As starters we had (and shared between us) a Caprese salad and the Tapenade. Both perfect. Then we went for the Fettucini con Pollo with Gorgonzola and the Seafood Putanesca, also with fettucini. Both tasted very well. Accompanied of a glass of white Pinot Noir from Oregon this became one of the better meals in our 2 week USA trip. Nice service also.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Italian in Casual Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great character place--delicious and very generous portions, reasonable prices. The bruschetta was especially yummy! Excellent service. Would suggest requesting seating in "front" room of restaurant--found this more inviting than back room.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Dinner at Mambo Italiano was delightful. We ordered the spaghetti with meatballs and the fettucine con pollo with gorganzola cream sauce. I have nothing poor to say about this establishment, but a helpful hint is that the portions are huge. I recommend sharing an entrée if you don't want to take home leftovers. They only charge $1 to split the entrée.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobble Hill, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We are from Vancouver Island and were in Bellingham for a little shopping get-away. A friend had recommended Fairhaven as a wonderful area to explore and it exceeded our expectations. We decided to have dinner at Mambo Italiano at the suggestion of one of the shop owners. The wonderful aroma that greeted us as we walked into this restaurant assured us that we were in the right place! After perusing the menu, we asked our waitress for her suggestions as we were having difficulty choosing. She recommended the Fettucine Con Pollo with Gorgonzola Cream for me and the Penne Primavera for my friend. Our meals arrived very quickly and we were both delighted with our choices. The portions were very generous and absolutely delicious. Our waitress was wonderful. I am sorry that I did not get her name as she was one of the best we have ever encountered. This restaurant deserves a much higher rating on Tripadvisor. It should definitely be in the Top 10. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mambo Italiano Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mambo Italiano Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mambo Italiano Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.