We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite good enough to be average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3985 Bennett Drive, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay, and Go!
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Jerome, Idaho
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not quite good enough to be average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here on business for 28 nights. In a room for 4 days for which I had paid for an upgrade, there was no fridge or microwave. Then, due to guest volume, I was moved to another room that did have the appliances. Although the remakes were very well done, the room, mostly the bathroom, stank of mold and feces, possibly from the ventilation or drain systems. The television worked only in black and white when I plugged in my game system. Free wifi worked well and breakfast was well done. While I liked the early weekday breakfast lady and the maintenance man, the three young female desk clerks were unprofessional, not helpful, and rude, and one was unable to answer questions about the HHilton Honors program. I requested that the television problem be fixed, but it was not addressed during my stay. For these reasons, I insisted that my company move me to a different hotel for the last 4 nights of my stay.

Room Tip: In the 30s and 40s; these have already been remodeled, and are farther away from the smoke. 4th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex N, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Joni,

Thank you for your review.
I would first like to apologize for our service not being what you should expect from a Hampton.
I know that we worked on fixing the problem with you and thought that we had done the job to your satisfaction. I know that we try our best to help everyone have a great experience but we can fall short. I hope that if you are in town again you will give us another chance. Let me know if you have any further comments.

All the Best,
Alex Nephew
General Manager
alex.nephew@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    127
    59
    12
    6
See reviews for
90
104
22
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel is one of the hotels in the Hampton Inn chain that is ready for a remodel. It looks like the lobby area has started a remodel but no apparent plan for remodeling the dated rooms. Great location right off the highway and easy access to the wonderfully small Bellingham airport. Clean rooms. Vending machines in the lobby but no small shop for food choices at night. One restaurant within walking distance - Greek food. Good size outdoor pool with standard pool furniture and setting. Price was at the top of the other area limited service hotels that we checked.

Room Tip: Ask for the AAA rate to save a little bit. Manager says all rooms are the same level of finish
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
squamish, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My family and I love this hotel and always stay here. Warm and welcoming staff, good clean rooms, great complementary breakfast, free internet and free parking! Close to airport, shopping and not too far from downtown Bellingham.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

You always know what you are getting with Hampton Inn. Rooms were clean, huge and it was very quiet. Breakfast basic but enough to keep everyone happy. Close to airport so perfect for those flying. Free shuttle to airport is great. Free wifi is great and no connection issues. Overall great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Room furnishings were top notch, king size bed extremely comfortable and linens were spotless. Very quiet. The pool looked great but did not use. Breakfast selection was limited but all items fresh. Will definitely stay here if back in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
533 reviews 533 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The hotel gets the job done. Rooms are clean and more than ample in size. Everything works. No problem. TV could have more options but fine.Breakfast is better than most. Park and fly option works out great. Bathroom was a bit dated.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Staff is great and helpful. Rooms are good and if there are problems staff will help to resolve. Breakfast is good, staff keeps up pace when busy. The front lobbu is being renovated now and the new title floor looks great. I see both business and families staying at the hotel shows its ability to meet different needs. Downtown Bellingham is about 10 min drive if you want choice...overall I stay here on evvery business trip except when sold out. Make reservations 2 to 3 week in advance, since its 1 min from the airport it gets good traffic...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport

Address: 3985 Bennett Drive, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel off Interstate 5 is a 1-mile drive from Bellingham International Airport and a 6.5-mile drive from Whatcom Falls Park. All rooms include free WiFi and custom-designed beds, plus both full and lap desks (for working on the bed), flat-screen TVs with HD channels and coffeemakers. Some come with microwaves, mini refridgerator, pull-out sofas and whirlpool tubs. Amenities include a free on-site hot breakfast (daily) and weekday breakfast bags to go, as well as a fitness center and outdoor pool. There's also free parking, a free airport shuttle, a business center and meeting space for 200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bellingham Airport Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Hampton Inn
Bellingham Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.