We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, close to the airport, Clean, comfortable rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Bellingham Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Bellingham Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Bellingham Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3985 Bennett Drive, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great staff, close to the airport, Clean, comfortable rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I stayed here two weeks while doing some work at the airport.

All the staff I dealt with from the shuttle drivers, to front desk, to house keeping were all very pleasant.

The hotel itself was clean, rooms clean and comfortable. Free breakfast was typical Hampton Inn free breakfast. Nothing to write home about but it was free.

There isn't much nearby. There is an excellent Greek Restaurant within walking distance but it's a little pricey. It was worth it though. Unfortunately the shuttle only runs to the airport and sometimes the mall across town at the drivers discretion.. so food options are a bit limited.

It's a good place to stay the night before a flight or if arriving late on a flight.

Also, there is an outdoor heated pool. I didn't have time to check it out though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    108
    57
    12
    6
See reviews for
81
93
18
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We just stayed one night, arriving after 10 pm and leaving by 8 am, but we had a good experience none the less. Although the hotel website doesn't mention it that I could find, they do in fact offer a free shuttle service to and from Bellingham airport.

The staff - from the shuttle driver who brought us some info on Victoria, BC after learning that was our destination - to the front desk staff member the next morning who told us all about the "Ski to Sea" race happening that weekend - to the breakfast area associate who charmed us with her humor - were all welcoming and very friendly.

Our room was clean and good sized. Add in free wi-fi and breakfast (admittedly not gourmet) and how can you go wrong?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosengarten, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We just wanted a stay before our flight to Vegas, so we booked this hotel. It has a complementry shuttle to the airport, which is very convenient.

The breakfast wasn't really good, you could tell that everything was made to be cheap. We never stayed at a Hampton Inn before, but to be honest, in my opinion plastic cutlery and paper plates aren't really contemporary. It's quite funny, because actually, like every hotel, they have a sign in the bathroom about "Our environment... towels.... blabla". So buy a dishwasher and some reusable dishes, it's not expensive. Just charge every guest 5$ more for the room, then you have the costs back in no time.

Sleep was ok, that's the main thing.

Oh, what I almost forgot. I accitently booked for June, so I changed my reservation and even got a confirmation eMail about this change. As I arrived at the hotel, the lady at the reception told me that they don't have a reservation for this night.... but she solved it after all, so I'm not rating this issue.

Room Tip: If you change your reservation at the Hampton Inn Website, call the hotel afterwards and ask if ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Excellent breakfast with the hot scrambled eggs. Loved the welcome cookies too and the access to drinks 24-7! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This hotel was easy to find. The staff was helpful, and the rooms were much much nicer than the average Hampton Inn. They were recently done, and seemed much higher end. Like getting a nice Hilton Garden Inn for $30 less a night and the complimentry breakfast.

Just 4 minutes south on the freeway is lots of dining options and mall shopping.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed in 2 rooms. Both rooms had comforters that were so worn out the stuffing was all balled up in them and they weren't even warm. This might be expected in a Motel 6, but not when I'm paying > $120/night. Both rooms had a weird smoked in smell, and since I was told this is a non-smoking hotel, that seems really inappropriate.

The complimentary "breakfast" was inedible, aside from the pieces of fruit. The eggs were clearly powdered, under-seasoned and an odd combination of undercooked in some places and overcooked in others. The sausage gravy (traditionally served with biscuits but not at the Hampton Inn) was also inedible. After attempting 2 inedible dishes and really terrible coffee, I ate a banana from the selection, vowed to myself to never again stay at the Hampton Inn in Bellingham (which is sad, because I've had such good experiences at other Hampton Inns), and stopped at Starbucks for some coffee.

Never again will I pay money to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex N, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Bellingham Airport, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
SeeTheWorld000, we are are sorry to here that your experience at our property is not was you are used to experiencing from the Hampton Brand. We are aware of the issue with our comforters and have been recently been removing them. We have moved to a higher quality comforter that does not clump on every dry. We would like to learn more about your stay and learn how we can improve upon our service. Our staff works hard so that everyone can have a great experience and any chance we get to improve we want to hear it. Please give us a call our phone number is 360-676-7700, we would like to find out where the best way we can make those improvements. I would hope that you would give our property another chance when you are in Bellingham. If not I understand. Thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Wa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

While the hotel is conveniently located and quiet, the doors have a large space underneath them, meaning smells in the hall become smells in your room. Staff was prompt to spray when a neighbor began illegally smoking in a nearby room. They were able to switch me to a new room, but that room had a lumpy comforter that literally had 6-7" in diameter clumps in some areas and absolutely no fill in other areas. Basically my comforter looked like lumpy rain clouds, not the kind you'd want to sleep with. When I brought that up, the girl at the front desk told me they all look like that due to washing. If that is true, then my first room's blanket was never washed, and the hotel uses such cheap blankets that they are rendered useless once they are washed. In any case, I was less than pleased with the hotel, despite staff efforts to be helpful. It just wasn't up to the usual Hampton inn standards.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex N, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Bellingham Airport, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
T Y, thank you so much for your response. I can completely understand how you feel. I am glad that our staff was able to move you to different accommodations. Unfortunately the comforter was not what was expected. I spoke with our Lead in Laundry about the comforters and why there would be a difference. As it turns out they found out that the fibers in the comforters had a problem with clumping when it came to drying them. Now, we are required to clean EVERY comforter after each stay, therefore the clumping can become more pronounced as you found out. The Laundry has already begun getting rid of those and purchasing new comforters that are of higher quality and NO clumping. This is what you witnessed in the first room you were assigned in. We hope that you do choose to stay with us again. If you would like to discuss more things we can improve upon I would be more than happy to listen. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Bellingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bellingham Airport

Address: 3985 Bennett Drive, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bellingham Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Bellingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bellingham Airport Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Hampton Inn
Bellingham Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Bellingham Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.