We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So fresh and so clean clean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bellingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Bellingham to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Bellingham
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4160 Guide Meridian, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
San Jose, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So fresh and so clean clean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Came here after leaving another hotel local to the area (the other hotel was like something out of a horror movie). After such a bad experience at the previous hotel, getting to stay somewhere like this really lifted my spirits. Unlike the previous hotel, this room had been cleaned...thoroughly. Sheets were crisp and white, the room even smelled amazing. Ample space in the room I had, nice shower accessories as well (which I felt was mandatory after the last place). Breakfast is provided as a mini-buffet downstairs and you will find that the selection is very nice, you will walk away full and they have something for everyone. There is even a nifty pancake making machine, although I didn't use it myself.

The downsides are mentioned to keep the review honest, but they were very minor in my opinion and should not be a reason anyone would not stay here. Location is somewhat blah, there is nothing of particular interest immediately surrounding the hotel, but there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance if you don't feel like driving. I am also pretty snobby about my coffee, and I really didn't enjoy the in room coffee (I didn't expect to) or the coffee served with breakfast (I had hoped it would be better). The easy remedy was that there were at least two coffee shops in fair walking distance, the furthest was about 4 blocks if I recall correctly.

Last thing I can say about the location is that the staff were super friendly and pleasant. All in all I had a great experience here and would gladly visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    83
    37
    19
    8
See reviews for
77
58
9
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ephrata, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had no problems with our weekend stay. Staff was nice. Rooms were very clean and nice. Both nights were very quiet. Breakfast was yummy and well operated. We loved it! We will definitely stay again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I switched to this hotel after my horrible Rodeway Inn experience. The staff is super friendly, the room was spotless and smelled fresh, comfortable bed and plenty of pillows, quiet, great shower, and convenient location. The breakfast isn't fancy, but it was convenient and did the trick (much better than a fast food option, too). Plenty of food options for breakfast. Coffee in the room was decent and helped me start my day off on the right foot. I swear I heard angels singing as I opened my room door, but maybe it was my imagination because I'd slept in the nightmarish Rodeway Inn the night before. I'd stay at the Holiday Inn again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We decided to stop and stay at this location before venturing into BC for a quick getaway.
Being platinum IHG members we were recognized as such upon check in.
Our king room was appointed with all the items one would expect from HIX.
The bed was comfortable with a selection of pillows to choose from.
The wifi /speeds were very good.
A decent free breakfast in the morning.
The staff were all professional and courteous.
We would definitely stay at this location again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
329 helpful votes 329 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had a nice overnight stay here in a recently updated room. Two very comfortable beds, nice clean fresh decorations, window that opens about 2 inches, large fridge, microwave, coffee and tea. Lovely fresh smart bathroom with new fittings, new carpet, curtains, etc. Room had nice fresh smell. It was also very quiet, although it looked out over the parking lot. But you couldn't hear any of the cars, even with the window open. Renovations were going on on our floor but were quiet, although a lot of the carpet had been removed, and half the rooms were bare of everything, down to the flooring. So there was a bit of dust in the elevator and on the bare floor of the passageway. Fresh cookies out in the evening, two newspapers if you wanted them. Breakfast had the usual HIE rolls and cereal choices, plus fresh fruit, yogurt, cheese omelets, bacon and sausage and pancakes. Good sports bar next door with great food. Nice toiletries. All in all a lovely hotel at a good price, staff are friendly and helpful and we'd definitely stay here again. Loads of restaurants round about, convenient for the highway, quiet and clean. What's not to like! It will be gorgeous when the renovations have been finished and will get its five stars.

Room Tip: South side room overlooking parking lot was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear TravellerBD,

Thank you for pointing out the many great things about our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and also for your patience during the renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Last minute reservation - we were lucky to get a room due to the Bellingham snowstorm and thousands without power. The hotel is undergoing a major renovation but once in our room, no sign/sound that work was in progress - our king deluxe was one of the recently finished rooms equipped with coffee maker, fridge, microwave and even a bag of popcorn to enjoy while watching their big screen tv! It was a lovely stay and reasonably priced. We used our AAA discount. Comfortable bed and pillows, close to Bellingham Costco on Guide-Meridian, restaurants and I-5. Front desk host, Justin, greeted us with a smile, a warm welcome and pleasant personality! Thank you!

Room Tip: A great choice for travel to Bellingham!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear AJH0726,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review about your unexpected stay at our hotel! We are glad to hear that you were greeted with a warm smile and a pleasant personality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Due to a power blackout, we stayed here for one night. What a pleasant surprise! They were undergoing a renovation which affected our floor but certainly not our room. It was beautifully redone with a coffee maker, large fridge/freezer and microwave. The large screen TV and FAST free WI-Fi was a welcome treat after 2 days of intermittent power. In the morning they offered a full complimentary buffet breakfast. My wife and I and our two dogs had a wonderful stay! One of the nicest reasonably priced hotels We've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear BudHansen,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such an awesome review. We are pleased to hear that our renovations did not effect your stay and that you, your wife, and dogs had a wonderful stay. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bellingham

Address: 4160 Guide Meridian, Bellingham, WA 98226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bellingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want convenience, affordability, and a name you can always depend on for quality service, come to our Holiday Inn Express Bellingham hotel. We are conveniently located and easy to find for all your shopping, entertainment and business needs. Located within walking distance of Bellis Fair Mall, we are a great location at which to stay when coming to Mount Baker Ski Area or San Juan Islands. We are also centrally located to three casinos: Silver Reef Casino, Nooksack Casino and Skagit Valley Casino Resort. We offer a heated, indoor pool and Jacuzzi, a complimentary deluxe breakfast bar (now including hot items), free access to a full service health club adjacent to the hotel, complimentary taxi service to and from the local transportation depots, and local calls made at no charge to you. We also offer free high-speed Internet both wired and wireless in all rooms. New business center available in lobby area.Visit Bellingham, WA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bellingham Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.