We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HI express - we didn't plan to stay but would stay again - great breakfast & nice room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bellingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Bellingham to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Bellingham
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4160 Guide Meridian, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
beautiful bc
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“HI express - we didn't plan to stay but would stay again - great breakfast & nice room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately, our plane had issues and therefore we had an unexpected stay I'm Bellingham rather than our destination, Maui. We were devastated but the nighttime cookie, friendly staff, good clean comfy beds and fabulous breakfast made us very welcome and we would stay again. They are renovating their pool but we were too tired to worry about that! If you need a good comfy bed stay here it's worth it, especially for the hot hearty breaky.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear November08bride,

I am so glad to hear that your unexpected stay was a nice surprise! Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay, even under a stressful situation. We look forward to your return, our pool and most renovations are now complete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    91
    40
    21
    8
See reviews for
86
65
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I want to preface this by saying that I'm a Platinum member of Priority Club and I redeemed points for my stay. The hotel was easy to find and in good condition while undergoing a renovation. I've stayed here before and I don't know if the management has changed but the experience was marred by two things very important to me: 1) Although we had our "do not disturb" sign on our door we removed it by 11:30 AM when we left and housekeeping was still working in our area. Our room was not serviced. We called about the lack of housekeeping and the desk associate pretty much blamed us for using our do not disturb sign. There was no offer to have our room cleaned or for someone to send us towels.2) We did not receive the wake-up call that we requested. We had a very early morning flight and explained this to the person who answered the phone who was the same person to whom we reported the lack of housekeeping. Fortunately, our back up alarm woke us up.

There are other choices in the area and next time I will choose to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: The room was not an issue, the service was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear AM0525,

I apologize you experienced several disappointments during your last stay. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about these experiences, so that we can learn from the mistakes and make better experiences in the future. I have spoken to both housekeeping and the front desk, on proper procedures in both matters, to ensure this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel is easy to get too but keep on the lookout when you're on Meridian. Its kind of hidden... We were chatting in the car and drove right past without realizing...
We stayed just one night. The room was comfortable, clean, mostly quiet. Heard some water noise from neighbours and some kids running in the hall... Front Desk staff are friendly and courteous.
The hotel is going through some renos but did not affect us at all.
Breakfast is included and its pretty good fare. The basics - coffee, tea, toast, pastrys, yoghurt, omellet eggs, pancake machine, gravy... they have nice cookies in the lobby in the afternoon around 3pm. A nice touch.
The hotel has a pool that looked a good size.
The location is good, near Costco, Bellis Fair, not far from the I5... The Bellingham Athletic Club is across the street.
We'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Avg_40ish_Woman,

Thank you much for taking the time to leave us a review about your wonderful stay! We are pleased to hear that the renovations were not bothersome for you! We look forwaard to your room, and home you enjoy one of our new beautiful renovated rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here two nights. Have stayed here before. The best thing is that they allow pets and since I was attending a nearby dog show that was important to me. Parking is very convenient to the rooms. Very nice breakfast including hot foods, eggs, bacon and biscuits and a pleasant breakfast area. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is located close to shopping mall and restaurants.
It is moderately expensive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Suzanne B,

Thank you for returning to our hotel, we do appreciate the return business, as we know you have many choices to choose from in Bellingham. We are glad you find our hotel very comfortable for yourself and for your dog as well. Thank you for leaving us a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

After a long drive in the rain I was happy to arrive and receive a warm welcome from the front desk staff.
I had heard that the hotel offered a choice of pillows: there they were, all labelled. It was great to have a pillow that suited me, and gave me a good night's sleep.
After a hot breakfast I checked out and once again the front desk staff were very pleasant.
This hotel is being renovated. I would say it is in need of sparkling up and it should be great when it's done.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear nanajean61,

We are pleased to hear you were given a warm welcome on a dreary day. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We hope you will be able to enjoy our renovation once it is completed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We traveled with friends for a bit of cross-border shopping. The Holiday Inn Express is convenient to the Bellis Fair Mall and a number of other stores.

Our room was on the third floor and it met our needs. The bed was comfortable and we appreciated the pillow selection. The breakfast included a number of choices and trays were constantly being replenished.

We look forward to the updated look when the renovations will be done.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear travlr,

Thank you for leaving us a review, we are pleased your found our location to be convenient to your Bellingham shopping agenda! We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and pillows, and look forward to your return after the renovation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here to attend a milestone birthday party. Even though we had a non-smoking room, the whole hotel smells of cigarettes, so it's a mute point. If you have problems with cigarette smoke, DO NOT STAY HERE. Our room was on the first floor which opens to the lobby and the laundry. When we walked in I could smell the smoke and when we passed the laundry it was coming from there. I wonder how they expect to have clean laundry when the employees are smoking in the laundry room? The breakfast was well stocked, VERY busy, good selection. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Darlene K,

We apologize you were able to smell cigarette smoke in your hallway, we do have smoking rooms, that were located directly above the room you were in, but I will guarantee we do not allow employees to smoke anywhere inside the building. Also, we will be a completely non-smoking hotel when the renovation is done. We are pleased to hear that you were fond of breakfast and the breakfast bar ladies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Grand Suites
Quality Inn Grand Suites
#15 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Bellingham
Comfort Inn Bellingham
#7 of 26 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Bellingham
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bellingham

Address: 4160 Guide Meridian, Bellingham, WA 98226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bellingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want convenience, affordability, and a name you can always depend on for quality service, come to our Holiday Inn Express Bellingham hotel. We are conveniently located and easy to find for all your shopping, entertainment and business needs. Located within walking distance of Bellis Fair Mall, we are a great location at which to stay when coming to Mount Baker Ski Area or San Juan Islands. We are also centrally located to three casinos: Silver Reef Casino, Nooksack Casino and Skagit Valley Casino Resort. We offer a heated, indoor pool and Jacuzzi, a complimentary deluxe breakfast bar (now including hot items), free access to a full service health club adjacent to the hotel, complimentary taxi service to and from the local transportation depots, and local calls made at no charge to you. We also offer free high-speed Internet both wired and wireless in all rooms. New business center available in lobby area.Visit Bellingham, WA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bellingham Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.