We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Convenient for Us” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bellingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Bellingham to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Bellingham
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4160 Guide Meridian, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
NW Ohio
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Nice and Convenient for Us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our room was clean and nice, the breakfast standard HI Express, and the location was convenient. We stayed one night while waiting for the Alaska Ferry.

We were shuttled from the train station and then to the ferry terminal the following morning.

There are small places to dine within walking distance, as well as grocery and liquor stores to provision, should you need them.

We will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear NWOhioGuy,

Thank you for leaving us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and are planning on returning. We hope you enjoyed your ferry ride to Alaska!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    83
    37
    19
    8
See reviews for
77
58
9
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The sign in the elevator advised us to watch for the renovations that are on their way. So travelers in the future will undoubtedly enjoy better accommodations than we experienced. Nothing too outrageous, but the room definitely shows its age and the wear and tear on the furniture. It felt very cramped, too -- but on the other hand it's nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room.

There was an overwhelming and unpleasant smell of room deodorizer when we entered, and it didn't go away despite running the box A/C unit and opening the window.

We were awakened very late at night (1:00 or 2:00 a.m.) by both an overwhelming odor of cigarette smoke and a noisy bunch of guys who apparently had closed a nearby bar and were carrying on their party directly underneath our window (3rd floor) and smoking on the smoker's bench situated there. We had to call downstairs to have security shoo them away.

Breakfast was free, but it was also kind of skimpy and easy to pass up. Some fresh fruit I remember, maybe a few toast and cereal options?

There's no shuttle, but they will call a cab for you and give you a voucher. We used ours to get to the train station in Fairhaven (about $25 on the meter).

There is a sports bar adjacent to the hotel that was recommended to us as a good place for dinner. The meal was only fair (typical greasy bar food), but the servers were very friendly. It is down a fairly steep hill by foot from the hotel entrance.

All in all, this is a serviceable hotel for a stayover on a road trip, but not a destination by any means. The value pricing reflects that, so no disappointments there.

Room Tip: Wait until renovations are complete and give this property another try. Be sure your room is not abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear ocnative1874,

We apologize your stay was not to your satisfaction. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on the pre-renovation signs. We appreciate all comments and concerns and are thankful guests like you will speak their opinions, so that we may know how to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

For the price we got what we needed.. Breakfast was ok. Great location with free parking.
I'm mostly unhappy about the service. Staff was not very attentive on greeting. Left an item behind and had called 10 hours later. I was told I would be contacted at 7am. Unfortunately I wasn't so I had called back and was told that they would get in touch with housekeeping and call back. An hour later I was told housekeeping did not find anything. Is there not a log where items left behind should be listed? I could not believe the dishonesty and am very unhappy. My personal belongings left behind should be returned. All in all not a great experience, will not be staying again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Mmen89,

Thank you for your review, we know time is valuable and appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your dissatisfaction with the service you received. First and foremost, I would like to help you further in figuring out the lost and found situation. If you would like to contact me personally so we can discuss this futher, please email me at dos@hiebellingham.com. I will be speaking with my front desk on proper procedure of lost and found phone calls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Holiday Inn Express/Bellingham, WA: This time, we picked this location instead of downtown Bellingham to avoid the crowd, and since Holiday Inn Express has been consistence for us in other cities. BUT this one is a bit cram, older, creaky elevator, small kiddy wading pool. We did not have the same comfortable stay/relax as other Holiday Inn, like one in Portland/OR, and a discount rate of $87/night for a double bed is a bit stiff for not being downtown.

Friendly front desk but cleaning staff was a bit grumpy.

We stayed one night, so didn’t get to experience the variety of breakfast, but our kid love the pancake machine, the bacon & the sausage, who doesn’t. The only healthy option is oatmeal packages, a bowl of apples/oranges/banana, and cold bagels, though the wife likes the corn flakes, not as sweet. The eve cookies went fast.

There were a few families staying. We admit, it’s close to a few shops and restaurants but the traffic on Meridian is a mess. We walked to Costco and it was faster. We ended up driving downtown for meals. The drivers here are not that friendly, they wouldn’t let you merge in while you’ve waited a while.

One good perk to this hotel is CityGym access with your room key, which is right next door, with all the weights & machines available to you till 11pm.

An average experience, don’t think we’ll return just for the gym perk. 2 stars

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear travel2food,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize you felt your stay was not as comfortable as other Holiday Inn Express'. We are pleased to hear that you were able to check out the City Gym.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was more than what you get at many other hotels and decent food. However, the rooms are outdated. They smelled musty and old. The bedding was clean and soft, but I struggled with the smell of old carpet the whole time we were there (3 nights). The location is handy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Kimberly D,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are always glad to hear about the good things our staff is doing. You will be glad to know that we are about to begin a complete renovation, but we apologize your room was below your standards. We will look into ways to eliminate carpet odor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Value added breakfast was second to none, early serving thru mid morning. The room was neat and tidy, the price was competitive and of course the location is handy to Bellis Fair Mall. Parking was great and the family enjoyed the pool many times during our two night stay. I'd recommend the accommodation to anyone that plans on including Bellingham in their travel plans. The bed was far to firm for my taste but hey, you cannot please everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Walter W,

We are so glad to hear your first experience will equal another visit. We look forward to impressing you again. Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Even though they are remodeling in September I hope they remember to remodel their staff. Some of the worst service at a holiday inn express that I have experienced. They all seemed to have something better to do.
And services usually that go along with being a priority member were not part of this hotel
As well on check in, the "boy" behind the counter announced to the entire busy lobby " just yourself, traveling by yourself".
Really? Big no no for business woman traveling alone. His reason was for something mundane as to know how many water bottles to give me.
When i asked about restaurants in the area, that proved to be a lesson in futility.
Rooms are old and dank. Reminiscent of the old holiday inn hotels
I will look for other options when in Bellingham again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear threedandj,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize we were unable to reach our goals of having excellent customer service. We do appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and we have added this topic into our next Front Desk meeting. If you would like to discuss this further, please email me at gbauer@hiebellingham.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bellingham

Address: 4160 Guide Meridian, Bellingham, WA 98226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bellingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want convenience, affordability, and a name you can always depend on for quality service, come to our Holiday Inn Express Bellingham hotel. We are conveniently located and easy to find for all your shopping, entertainment and business needs. Located within walking distance of Bellis Fair Mall, we are a great location at which to stay when coming to Mount Baker Ski Area or San Juan Islands. We are also centrally located to three casinos: Silver Reef Casino, Nooksack Casino and Skagit Valley Casino Resort. We offer a heated, indoor pool and Jacuzzi, a complimentary deluxe breakfast bar (now including hot items), free access to a full service health club adjacent to the hotel, complimentary taxi service to and from the local transportation depots, and local calls made at no charge to you. We also offer free high-speed Internet both wired and wireless in all rooms. New business center available in lobby area.Visit Bellingham, WA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bellingham Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.