We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good thing we stayed only 1 night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bellingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Bellingham to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Bellingham
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4160 Guide Meridian, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Bellingham
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“good thing we stayed only 1 night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Holiday Inn Express/Bellingham, WA: This time, we picked this location instead of downtown Bellingham to avoid the crowd, and since Holiday Inn Express has been consistence for us in other cities. BUT this one is a bit cram, older, creaky elevator, small kiddy wading pool. We did not have the same comfortable stay/relax as other Holiday Inn, like one in Portland/OR, and a discount rate of $87/night for a double bed is a bit stiff for not being downtown.

Friendly front desk but cleaning staff was a bit grumpy.

We stayed one night, so didn’t get to experience the variety of breakfast, but our kid love the pancake machine, the bacon & the sausage, who doesn’t. The only healthy option is oatmeal packages, a bowl of apples/oranges/banana, and cold bagels, though the wife likes the corn flakes, not as sweet. The eve cookies went fast.

There were a few families staying. We admit, it’s close to a few shops and restaurants but the traffic on Meridian is a mess. We walked to Costco and it was faster. We ended up driving downtown for meals. The drivers here are not that friendly, they wouldn’t let you merge in while you’ve waited a while.

One good perk to this hotel is CityGym access with your room key, which is right next door, with all the weights & machines available to you till 11pm.

An average experience, don’t think we’ll return just for the gym perk. 2 stars

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear travel2food,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize you felt your stay was not as comfortable as other Holiday Inn Express'. We are pleased to hear that you were able to check out the City Gym.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    76
    35
    19
    8
See reviews for
73
51
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was more than what you get at many other hotels and decent food. However, the rooms are outdated. They smelled musty and old. The bedding was clean and soft, but I struggled with the smell of old carpet the whole time we were there (3 nights). The location is handy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Kimberly D,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are always glad to hear about the good things our staff is doing. You will be glad to know that we are about to begin a complete renovation, but we apologize your room was below your standards. We will look into ways to eliminate carpet odor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Value added breakfast was second to none, early serving thru mid morning. The room was neat and tidy, the price was competitive and of course the location is handy to Bellis Fair Mall. Parking was great and the family enjoyed the pool many times during our two night stay. I'd recommend the accommodation to anyone that plans on including Bellingham in their travel plans. The bed was far to firm for my taste but hey, you cannot please everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Walter W,

We are so glad to hear your first experience will equal another visit. We look forward to impressing you again. Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Even though they are remodeling in September I hope they remember to remodel their staff. Some of the worst service at a holiday inn express that I have experienced. They all seemed to have something better to do.
And services usually that go along with being a priority member were not part of this hotel
As well on check in, the "boy" behind the counter announced to the entire busy lobby " just yourself, traveling by yourself".
Really? Big no no for business woman traveling alone. His reason was for something mundane as to know how many water bottles to give me.
When i asked about restaurants in the area, that proved to be a lesson in futility.
Rooms are old and dank. Reminiscent of the old holiday inn hotels
I will look for other options when in Bellingham again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear threedandj,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize we were unable to reach our goals of having excellent customer service. We do appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and we have added this topic into our next Front Desk meeting. If you would like to discuss this further, please email me at gbauer@hiebellingham.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel and found it to be clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was also good. On the downside the Wifi was poor (went on and off) and the rooms need a make over. That being said the hotel is going to be redone beginning in September 2013. So I suggest when you visit, you as for a remodeled room. As it stands now it seems pricey for what you get. I will go back once the remodel is complete.

Room Tip: After September 2013 ask for a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear S_Robinson,

Thank you for leaving us a review. We apologize you had such a trying time with our WiFi, we have contacted our provider, so that we may find a better solution. Thank you for letting us know you had troubles while you were here, we do appreciate the information. We are also glad you noticed we are about to renovate! It will be very exciting to see the results, we hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many many times and it never disappoints. The Holiday Inn Express offers exceptionally clean rooms, a hot breakfast in the morning, use of an adjoining businesses gym( you must be 16 to use) and a pool that offers swimming for families until 10pm and adults only from 10-12 pm.
If you are looking or a hotel close to Bellis Fair Mall this is the perfect choice. The staff is always very helpful in fact they gave my kids packages of hot chocolate in the evening when it was not supposed to be available until morning.
I will continue to use this hotel on my trips to Bellingham!! Perfect for a quick overnight trip!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Cheryl D,

Thank you for leaving us a review and for your loyality! We appreciate the return business. We are glad you we were able to enjoy our extra ammenities, as well an evening hot chocolate! We look forward to your next quick trip to Bellingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here for several nights; and really enjoyed it. The staff was always friendly and helpful; and the public areas and room were clean. Our standard king room was as it should be; everything worked, no surprises. The breakfast was very nice; biscuits and gravy, bacon, sausage, pancake mix, eggs, fruit, yogurt and their cinnamon rolls every day...nicely done. The location is also convenient; close to the shopping mall and Interstate.
There were, however, a couple annoyances. The doors do not have closers; so if you're not careful (and most guests are not) the door slams shut and rattles nearby rooms. Another small annoyance is that the elevator is painfully slow. But the pluses of the hotel, especially the staff, outweighed these small issues.
Overall, we recommend this hotel and plan to stay there again when we visit Bellingham.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the vending machines; they're noisy and next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for leaving us such a thorough review. We are glad you found so many great things about our hotel and that you felt our staff outweighed any wrong you found. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bellingham

Address: 4160 Guide Meridian, Bellingham, WA 98226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bellingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want convenience, affordability, and a name you can always depend on for quality service, come to our Holiday Inn Express Bellingham hotel. We are conveniently located and easy to find for all your shopping, entertainment and business needs. Located within walking distance of Bellis Fair Mall, we are a great location at which to stay when coming to Mount Baker Ski Area or San Juan Islands. We are also centrally located to three casinos: Silver Reef Casino, Nooksack Casino and Skagit Valley Casino Resort. We offer a heated, indoor pool and Jacuzzi, a complimentary deluxe breakfast bar (now including hot items), free access to a full service health club adjacent to the hotel, complimentary taxi service to and from the local transportation depots, and local calls made at no charge to you. We also offer free high-speed Internet both wired and wireless in all rooms. New business center available in lobby area.Visit Bellingham, WA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bellingham Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.