We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable for an overnight” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bellingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Bellingham to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Bellingham
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4160 Guide Meridian, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Washington State
1 review
“Acceptable for an overnight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Summary: My stay was just an overnight for business. I got in late, and left on the early side. I'd go back, as it suited my needs, and it was clean, quiet, had a safe place to park, and while I think it was a tad overpriced, it seems like it was close to the market rate. Its Internet/Wifi was not useable for me for any purpose, not email, not Google; it was much slower than glacially slow.

Pros: very firm bed & nice soft pillows. The beds are VERY well made. In most hotels, the undersheet comes undone just by looking at it, but the undersheet at this hotel stayed put for the whole night. I don't think I've ever stayed in a hotel before where the bedsheets actually fit the bed and stayed where they belonged through an entire night, so this hotel performed well above expectations. The bed was a bit firm for me, though, and I like a firm bed. The bathroom was clean (A- grade), but the bathtub could have used a quick double-check. Nothing serious; more of an imperfection than an issue. The decor is fine, and the room lacked a couch, though it had two desk-chairs and an office chair with casters. It had a nice big LCD TV, a good-sized fridge, a coffee maker, and some popcorn and similar things, all of which looked good, but I never used any of them.

Cons: I had some issues getting the AC tuned to a comfortable spot. I had to turn it up to full blast to stay comfortable, but then it got too cold; as a result, I did not get a great night's sleep (maybe it was just stress, I don't know), though the blankets were enough to keep me OK. The floors were clean, but the structure of the floors felt spongy, not firm. The walls were not thick, so I could hear my neighbors, but it was not annoying, even though I am sensitive to noise. When I turned the AC on, I could no longer hear my neighbors, which was good. I was fortunate to have good neighbors, so I did not have a problem here, but I can imagine less considerate neighbors being an issue. My room was near the stairwell, and while I was never awakened or disturbed by it, that door slams like a thunderclap. I can see this being a real issue if your room is close to that door. The free wifi was a farce. It took a few minutes just to load the login screen. It was too slow to use Google, check email, or use it at all. Don't advertise it if it is not even minimally useable.

Conclusion: I am picky about the hotels I stay in. It needs to be quiet, in an area where parking is not an issue, and clean. So, this hotel met my criteria. It was clean, my car was safe, my neighbors did not bother me, and I had a peaceful night in a very well-made bed. I am being nitpicky in this review, but I was quite satisfied with my stay, and I'd go back. I think, for the money, it would be hard to do much better. All I'd do is demand a room very far away from the stairway. Breakfast was free and OK.

Room Tip: Stay far away from the stairwells. I was on the top floor, which I'd suggest, since I can imagin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, we appreciate all feedback we recieve. We appreciate your honesty, so that we may better our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    85
    37
    19
    8
See reviews for
79
58
9
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I actually stayed here twice in the same week. It was a wed to fri then monday to wed. The first stay was fine but there was a bus of young people on Thursday night and they were very noisy, slamming doors and talking loudly in the hall at 1 am. I never called the desk because I kept thinking they would stop. My next visit was better, much more peaceful. The breakfast is always good and I like the pancake maker. The staff is also very nice and helpful

Room Tip: The elevator is slow so I always use the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We are pleased to hear your second visit was much better than your first, and that you were willing to give us another try! Thank you for your review as well, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stays were. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

When we got to the hotel we had 3 rooms booked under our last name through our Lacrosse team and they had misplaced one of our reservations. It felt like they didnt do to much to accomidate. They stuffed 4 of our players in one room with a double bed and 2 cots and apparently we were supposed to be thankful. However....It was clean, close to all ammenities, shopping and restaurants. The rate we paid was average and if needed we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I apologize that this has happened to you, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We do appreciate knowing how we can improve on our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here the night before flying out from the Bellingham Airport. It's closeby, and there is a rate where you can leave your car and pick it up upon return (by taking a taxi that the hotel pays for, to and from the airport). Front desk staff were friendly, and the room was nice and comfortable. The hotel is just down the road from a mall, and from an Olive Garden restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the Park and Fly package and found it convenient to use. We appreciate you letting us know that it worked well for you. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel is a great little getaway for a quick vacation, especially if you are coming from north of the border. It is in the heart of the main shopping district, so it makes a great little family getaway. It is not too far from downtown bellingham or fairhaven, so it is a great launching point for sightseeing. The indoor pool is a big bonus, well maintained, and is always a great source of fun. The breakfast buffet will not dissapoint, with eggs, bacon and the usual delights. the rooms are older decor, but are clean and roomy. The beds are reasonably comfy. The staff are great.
In the same parkinglot, you can walk over to Capt. Jack jrs. family entertainment centre, and play fun games like skee ball, and air hockey.

Room Tip: The kitchenette suites are great for families, stop at Target and get lots of goodies to fill the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and ventured out into our city. We realize life is busy, so we are so grateful for you taking the time to leave us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Convenient location, lots of parking, clean rooms, pool small but adequate with nice size hot tub, nice lobby space and outdoor patio area. Best part was the free breakfast. Best free hotel breakfast I've ever had. Eggs were soft and tasted real not plastic like some buffets, cinnamon rolls were hot and everything seemed fresh; bacon, sausage, many pastry options.
I would have liked a comfy lounge chair in the room but otherwise it was great.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, thank you for taking the time to let us know and also for leaving such a great review, we appreciate both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed a few nights at this Holiday Inn- Had no problems finding the Hotel and enjoyed our stay there. Close to retail stores and restaurants. Rates were fair so I booked another room for my brother-in-law who was coming down to go to Vegas with us..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We are glad you found our location convenient and that you enjoyed your stay here enough to book again! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bellingham

Address: 4160 Guide Meridian, Bellingham, WA 98226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bellingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want convenience, affordability, and a name you can always depend on for quality service, come to our Holiday Inn Express Bellingham hotel. We are conveniently located and easy to find for all your shopping, entertainment and business needs. Located within walking distance of Bellis Fair Mall, we are a great location at which to stay when coming to Mount Baker Ski Area or San Juan Islands. We are also centrally located to three casinos: Silver Reef Casino, Nooksack Casino and Skagit Valley Casino Resort. We offer a heated, indoor pool and Jacuzzi, a complimentary deluxe breakfast bar (now including hot items), free access to a full service health club adjacent to the hotel, complimentary taxi service to and from the local transportation depots, and local calls made at no charge to you. We also offer free high-speed Internet both wired and wireless in all rooms. New business center available in lobby area.Visit Bellingham, WA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bellingham Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.