We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a pretty good, but not great, lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Agave

El Agave
207 N Samish Way, Bellingham, WA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 331 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Bellingham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Had a pretty good, but not great, lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

El Agave is a new restaurant that has taken over the old Denny's near WWU. The place still has a faint smell of Denny's, but that is soon overcome. The staff was extremely friendly and the food was good, but the luncheon portions were small and the selection limited. You can always order off of the regular menu if you want larger portions and are willing to pay a little more. Overall, it's a great spot for gatherings (the place was mostly empty) and a cheap lunch. Good food, but I wouldn't go out of my way just to eat there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Outstaning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is the best sit down mexican in Whatcom County. Service is tops, owner(s) are always there. They are a big hit and a badly needed place. We always drove to our favorite place in Burlington if we wanted the real deal. Still go there, just eat more mexican!! Their Chili Colorado is great, and I've even asked them to make a tostada with it. No problem! They also have a full bar. Olé!
I can't think of a dish I haven't enjoyed. We were there with a large party one evening a sat way too long after we ate and they continued to be gracious and welcoming. Still filling water glasses and not pressuring us to drink more which would have been too much. (We did see that there was no one left waiting for a table, fair is fair). If you like mexican even a little try it.... you'll like it!!
Oh, yeah and if you like "heat" ask for some fried jalapenos. Ay!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We experienced really friendly and attentive service at El Agave.
The food was also delicious and fresh. This is the best mexican food we've found in Bellingham. We will be back on our next trip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironton, OH
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Previous TripAdvisor reviews pointed me to El Agave.

Immediately after walking in I felt welcome and just not another customer to laugh at behind my back which seems to happen at so many foreign-speaking restaurants anymore.

Food was fast, fresh, and delicious. The portions were generous and refills came quickly and often.

I wish I had found this place on the front side of my trip instead of the back, I would absolutely be a repeat customer!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Bc Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We found this restaurant last Sept. when we were out geocaching on our trip to Bellingham. From reading the description on the geocaching site it said that the restaurant here had changed quite frequently and it was now empty. We were surprised to see that a Mexican restaurant had opened here so assumed that it was fairly new. It was around lunch time so we decided to go in and try it. We were very impressed by the quality of the food that was served and the fast, efficient service. So this year when we made out trip south of the border we had to go and see if El Agave was still there and were quite happy to find that it was. We went in for lunch again and were just as impressed as last year. My husband had the Menudo and I had the Enchiladas with Chocolate Mole sauce. We were first served the tortillas with salsa and a round of nice cold water. Then a short while later we were served our lunches. Great tasting food, large portions and very reasonable for the amount that you receive. Then we were even more impressed when our server brought us our bill but instead of the usual mints he brought a plate with two deep fried tortilla chips topped with whipped cream and drizzled with strawberry jelly and chocolate sauce. Very yummy. Would definitely eat here again and recommend to all of our travelling friends. Can't wait till our annual trip south of the border to eat here again next year.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Agave also viewed

 

Been to El Agave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Agave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.