We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing falls and walking trails near Mt. Baker” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nooksack Falls

Nooksack Falls
Bellingham, WA
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 25 Attractions in Bellingham
Type: Waterfalls, Nature & Parks
Attraction details
Pennsylvania, US
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Amazing falls and walking trails near Mt. Baker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We almost missed these but were so glad that we listened to the Chair 9 person who told us to stop. The Falls are very close to the parking lot and easily reachable by a simple trail. Even at the end of the summer, there was lots of water flowing and we got great pictures. There are also some trails leading through the woods if you want to do a little additional hiking before heading towards the Mt. Baker summit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    28
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Breathtaking !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The 5 minute drive, on a gravel road, off the main highway is well worth it. The parking area is located just before the bridge that crosses over the Nooksack River. From there it is short walk downstream to the viewing area for the falls. Be careful though as the rocks can be slippery because of mist from the falls. Once at the viewing area you are treated to a spectacular view of the falls and far below the confluence of Wells Creek and the N. Fork of the Nooksack River. If you have small kids the area is fenced for safety. Don't go outside the fenced area !

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“a nice little 15 minute diversion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The view is pretty decent but, as safety is a huge concern here, there are chain-link fences near the edge. It is a VERY short walk from the parking area, which is less than a half mile off the main road. The falls are massive and quite breathtaking. It takes only about 5 minutes to get down to the parking area from the main road, about 5 minutes to see the falls, and another 5 to get back up to the main road, which is why I think you shouldn't miss it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“nice stop on the way to Mt Baker”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is more of a drop in spot for me, I always make a stop here when taking guests to Mt Baker. But really never stay for more than about 15 minutes. Easy to find, nice view of the falls, adequete parking

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sunday Drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a nice drive for a sunny day. We usually stop here on our way to Mt. Baker. It has a nice view and you can walk across the bridge and go for a hike. They have put in more protective fencing, but you still have a good view.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nooksack Falls also viewed

 

Been to Nooksack Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nooksack Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.