We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Amazing Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Thyme In The Kitchen

Ciao Thyme In The Kitchen
207 Unity Street, Bellingham, WA 98225 (Formerly Ciao Thyme)
+1 360-733-1267
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 389 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Flora
Transit: We are just 2 blocks from the downtown transit station
Description: We plan to greet you with a warm smile and the aromas of delicious soups, sandwiches, and freshly baked treats. You place your order in the cafe and then find a seat in the dining room or outside under the umbrellas. You strike up a friendly conversation with the person next to you. When you leave, you feel nourished--body and soul recharged for the continuation of your day.The menu will change with the farm produce of the seasons, approximately every two weeks, and we always have some gluten-free options too. There is no pretense in this space, just high quality ingredients prepared with care and delivered with love. Folks come knowing they can trust that the food that is prepared here will be sourced responsibly. They know that by choosing Ciao Thyme On the Side, their dining dollars will go farther in this community to support local families, local farmers, and other small businesses in Bellingham--keeping our community thriving.
Ojai, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unique Amazing Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We moved away from Bham for a few years and somehow missed the opening of this amazing lunch venue in the arts district. Luckily a friend told us about it and we had our first gourmet meal there last week. This place must be experienced to be understood. I question anyone who would rate it less than an excellent overall dining experience. We plan to bring anyone new to town here to show off some of the best food this town has to offer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    1
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“lacked something”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The food was good , but I felt the people in there were almost trying too hard to make you like it. Myself and 2 friends met for lunch. We kind of felt uncomfortable as someone was always asking us how we liked everything............enough already.We came to catch up with each other.

Quit trying so hard.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cute and delicious little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Awesome food that is all locally sourced and seasonal You can tell there are some serious cooks in the kitchen at this place! Not cheap but so worth the quality of the meal. A must try for a special luncheon!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Knife Skills Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I had a great evening in my knife skills class taught by Mateo. He was clear in his direction and really entertaining. We finished up with the most amazing spread from our hard work. The ingredients that he used were really top notch and his personality made it more of a show than a chore.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Creative cooking with delicious results”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This restaurant has finally decided to serve lunch Tuesday - Friday from 11am - 3pm.

http://ciaothyme.com/cafe

Meals are served cafeteria style. That is, you walk in, stand in line, place and pay for an order which will be brought to you at your seat. The room you place your order in has a few counters with seats, but there is a much larger room with communal tables in an adjacent room. They offer three fixed menus at $18 each which includes tip and tax. You can order the entire menu or a la carte off each of the three menus. You can also order a bowl of soup with a side salad and a fresh roll for $15. This is truly gourmet food served very quickly. You don't have to wait around for a waitress to take your order, and you don't have to wait for your bill at the end. Great for working people on a lunch hour.

Now for the food. My husband had a porchetta sandwich - rolled pork belly and shoulder stuffed with fresh sausage on a rye roll with harissa mayo and kale slaw. I chose a quinoa and black bean salad with fresh lime tortilla chips and guacamole picosa and for desert I had an apple galette. It was all delicious. However, I think we made a mistake not ordering the entire meal. My husband's sandwich would have included brussel sprout gratin with brie and parmeggiano bechamel and bacon as well as a spiced butternut squash soup, pepitas, and creme fraiche Mine would have added a braised beef torta and a white bean and green tomato soup. Next time, we'll go whole hog. Just hope I will still have room for a desert. The deserts are ideally sized (which, to me, means small) and delicious. My apple galette was $4.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Thyme In The Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Ciao Thyme In The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Thyme In The Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.