We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular View and Cozy Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MoonDance Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MoonDance Inn
Save
You added MoonDance Inn to your Saves list
4737 Cable Street, Bellingham, WA   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Bellingham B&B and Inns
Manhattan Beach
1 review
“Spectacular View and Cozy Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the MoonDance for one night in July. The view was beautiful, the beds were cozy, the food was great, our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. It is a magical setting and a beautiful home.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

My husband and I went down to Bellingham for a long weekend and stayed at MoonDance. It was a little difficult to find after dark but once we got there we really enjoyed it. We were greeted by our host and given a nice kraft of water upon our arrival. We stayed in the Room-to-spare room. The room was very clean and felt cozy. It had a fantastic massage bathtub. Only true complaint is that the multi-spout shower didn't work, but made good use of the tub. The inn has a great little courtyard area that our room look out over. Breakfast was delicious and the dining room has a great outlook over Lake Whatcom. Look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a jet tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Although this was not super close to WWU where we were headed, we decided to stay here because of the location. Getting here was a little tricky but once we got to the tiny parking area we were warmly welcomed. This is a B and B that really feels like the home of a friend. The rooms are cozy and well appointed. The location across from the lake was more beautiful than I imagined. We will go again in the summer so we can enjoy the waterfront, complete with kayaks and a firepit. The breakfast was served in multiple rooms with fresh coffee and juice. The food was ok, not anything too amazing, but it hit the spot. The weather kept us inside so we couldn't enjoy the beautiful garden and deck but hope to next time !

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We absolutely lived this experience. We were welcomed by trickling water from the koi pond; a beautiful oasis complete with a small wooden bridge. Walking around the house you could tell that renovations were done by someone who took great pride in their work.

In the morning we explored more, and saw a deer family from the incredible deck. The water was cold, but we were determined to get the most from this fantastic location, and canoed a mile so on the lake, in the shadow of the mountain. The area has a lot to offer, and next time we hope to take advantage of great mountain biking a stones throw away.

We enjoyed Linda's cooking very much, and loved meeting her and Gary.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, Wa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was a two night stay - Linda and Gary proved to be excellent hosts. The accommodations were clean, warm, rich, and spacious. Several of the bathrooms are on the small side, but otherwise it is hard to find fault. With separate decks and outdoor gathering areas, guests could mingle or find privacy as they desired. Had the weather been a bit warmer and dryer, we would have borrowed the kayak to explore the lake shoreline. Beautiful grounds and view; very comfortable interior.

Room Tip: Go for the upstairs suite if you desire a private deck overlooking Lake Watcom. Five deer grazed on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumner, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I absolutely love this B&B! The rooms are beautiful and comfortable (we esp. love the "Room with a View"). The owners are very welcoming and cook a delicious breakfast. They have gotten the kayaks out for us every time we stay. Book early because it does fill up fast!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda F, Owner at MoonDance Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We love taking care of our guests and assisting them in exploring and enjoying the beautiful shores of Lake Whatcom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife, her friend and I had a couple of lovely stays at this charming lakeside retreat, traveling to and returning from a road trip to Vancouver Island.

You are greeted by lush gardens and a pond with Koi. Several fountains are jetting, and there are little surprises wherever you look in the garden. Beyond the garden is a comfy, covered "outside room", a very nice space.

Our first stay, the innkeepers Gary and Linda were away. We were cheerfully greeted by mom-in-law Betty and Vicky the housekeeper, both lovely folks. We immediately felt at home.

We were shown to our rooms and liked what we saw. My wife and I stayed in an upstairs room, nicely furnished with separate closet and small TV and DVD player. There was a small deck looking out on Lake Whatcom, beautiful view. The bathroom was wonderfully done - two separate vanities, a large tub and an amazing glass shower. The shower has adjustable-direction jets for horizontal streams as well as the usual overhead spray. All of these could be turned on, or either the horizontals or the overheads. To top it off, there was under-cabinet lighting on the vanities on a switch with settings for a motion detector. So, in your nighttime restroom visit, the subtle lights would go on automatically.

In addition, there was another semi-covered lower deck to the inn. This had a sweeping view. The owners had thoughtfully used clear barriers as a fence, so you got the full view.

Breakfasts were served at 9AM and were generous and delicious.
Betty also was nice enough to fix us a "to go" pack of fruit when we had to leave before the usual breakfast time.

I had a few quibbles with the place. When we stayed in July/August, the rooms were somewhat warm, ameliated by large fans. I bumped my head a few times until I learned to duck the sharply angled walls of the upstairs room. The parking area is adequate for a few cars, but backing out is a bit difficult. The road adjoining the inn can get quite noisy at times.

However, I look at these as trivial and would gladly stay at the Moondance Inn again.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda F, Owner at MoonDance Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your appreciative thoughts. All of us at the MoonDance Inn love every minute of interacting with our guests and helping them enjoy the gorgeous Pacific Northwest. We look forward to the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MoonDance Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MoonDance Inn

Address: 4737 Cable Street, Bellingham, WA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amid towering forests and majestic mountains, with scenic views of Lake Whatcom, the MoonDance Inn offers a relaxing escape from today’s busy world. Conveniently located just minutes from downtown Bellingham - gateway to the North Cascades, San Juan Islands and the Inside Passage, Mt. Baker recreation area, and British Columbia, Canada. Combining contemporary amenities with Old-World charm, Innkeepers Gary & Linda Fuller have created an ambiance reflective of their artistic craftsmanship and European style in restoring their 1933 lakeside home. Appreciation of quality and detail clearly permeates every feature of the MoonDance Inn. Mesmerizing campfires and soft waterscapes enhance your experience. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MoonDance Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.