We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable craftsmanship and amazing lake view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MoonDance Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MoonDance Inn
4737 Cable Street, Bellingham, WA   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Bellingham B&B and Inns
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Impeccable craftsmanship and amazing lake view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We absolutely lived this experience. We were welcomed by trickling water from the koi pond; a beautiful oasis complete with a small wooden bridge. Walking around the house you could tell that renovations were done by someone who took great pride in their work.

In the morning we explored more, and saw a deer family from the incredible deck. The water was cold, but we were determined to get the most from this fantastic location, and canoed a mile so on the lake, in the shadow of the mountain. The area has a lot to offer, and next time we hope to take advantage of great mountain biking a stones throw away.

We enjoyed Linda's cooking very much, and loved meeting her and Gary.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enumclaw, Wa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was a two night stay - Linda and Gary proved to be excellent hosts. The accommodations were clean, warm, rich, and spacious. Several of the bathrooms are on the small side, but otherwise it is hard to find fault. With separate decks and outdoor gathering areas, guests could mingle or find privacy as they desired. Had the weather been a bit warmer and dryer, we would have borrowed the kayak to explore the lake shoreline. Beautiful grounds and view; very comfortable interior.

Room Tip: Go for the upstairs suite if you desire a private deck overlooking Lake Watcom. Five deer grazed on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumner, Washington, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I absolutely love this B&B! The rooms are beautiful and comfortable (we esp. love the "Room with a View"). The owners are very welcoming and cook a delicious breakfast. They have gotten the kayaks out for us every time we stay. Book early because it does fill up fast!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda F, Owner at MoonDance Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We love taking care of our guests and assisting them in exploring and enjoying the beautiful shores of Lake Whatcom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife, her friend and I had a couple of lovely stays at this charming lakeside retreat, traveling to and returning from a road trip to Vancouver Island.

You are greeted by lush gardens and a pond with Koi. Several fountains are jetting, and there are little surprises wherever you look in the garden. Beyond the garden is a comfy, covered "outside room", a very nice space.

Our first stay, the innkeepers Gary and Linda were away. We were cheerfully greeted by mom-in-law Betty and Vicky the housekeeper, both lovely folks. We immediately felt at home.

We were shown to our rooms and liked what we saw. My wife and I stayed in an upstairs room, nicely furnished with separate closet and small TV and DVD player. There was a small deck looking out on Lake Whatcom, beautiful view. The bathroom was wonderfully done - two separate vanities, a large tub and an amazing glass shower. The shower has adjustable-direction jets for horizontal streams as well as the usual overhead spray. All of these could be turned on, or either the horizontals or the overheads. To top it off, there was under-cabinet lighting on the vanities on a switch with settings for a motion detector. So, in your nighttime restroom visit, the subtle lights would go on automatically.

In addition, there was another semi-covered lower deck to the inn. This had a sweeping view. The owners had thoughtfully used clear barriers as a fence, so you got the full view.

Breakfasts were served at 9AM and were generous and delicious.
Betty also was nice enough to fix us a "to go" pack of fruit when we had to leave before the usual breakfast time.

I had a few quibbles with the place. When we stayed in July/August, the rooms were somewhat warm, ameliated by large fans. I bumped my head a few times until I learned to duck the sharply angled walls of the upstairs room. The parking area is adequate for a few cars, but backing out is a bit difficult. The road adjoining the inn can get quite noisy at times.

However, I look at these as trivial and would gladly stay at the Moondance Inn again.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda F, Owner at MoonDance Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your appreciative thoughts. All of us at the MoonDance Inn love every minute of interacting with our guests and helping them enjoy the gorgeous Pacific Northwest. We look forward to the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

By far the best b and b I have ever stayed in. we had the pleasure of staying in two of their amazing brand new rooms. Wow, no detail is left out here. Incredibly high end bathrooms for a b and b and the location is right on the edge of Whatcom lake.

they have their own private stretch of grass and dock in front of the lake. you can kayak, swim of just lay in the sun!

thanks to all the staff who made our long weekend stay here very special!

Room Tip: Stay in the room with a view.....wow
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My mom (85 years old), sister and I went on a "girls' trip" and stayed in the 3 person room at MoonDance in. What a great place!! The ambiance was relaxing and homey, the hosts were friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts were scrumptious! The landscaping and beautiful scenery (Whatcom Lake) made checking emails and reading a pleasure. There's lots to do--from relaxing, antiquing, looking at historic homes to kayaking, whale watching, and hiking--we had a great time. MoonDance was the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The location was great, beautiful view of Lake Whatcom. The room was very nice, newly decorated, very fun and fancy.
Cons- No lock on the door, it made me feel a little uneasy at night. No screens on the windows. No soap in the bathroom. And there is a huge 5 inch gap under the doorway , we could hear and see feet of other guests:( The new jetted tub didn't work and we couldn't figure out the shower:} And also no directions on how to turn the t.v. on. The breakfast was a disappointment. Very dry salmon scramble and Canned peaches! With the price of the room I expected a lot better breakfast!
Pro's- Linda the Inn keeper was very nice. Our room was beautiful! I loved listening to the water trickling in the coy pond. We enjoyed sitting out on the deck looking at the lake and a family of dear walk by. I think this place could be really nice:)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MoonDance Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MoonDance Inn

Address: 4737 Cable Street, Bellingham, WA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amid towering forests and majestic mountains, with scenic views of Lake Whatcom, the MoonDance Inn offers a relaxing escape from today’s busy world. Conveniently located just minutes from downtown Bellingham - gateway to the North Cascades, San Juan Islands and the Inside Passage, Mt. Baker recreation area, and British Columbia, Canada. Combining contemporary amenities with Old-World charm, Innkeepers Gary & Linda Fuller have created an ambiance reflective of their artistic craftsmanship and European style in restoring their 1933 lakeside home. Appreciation of quality and detail clearly permeates every feature of the MoonDance Inn. Mesmerizing campfires and soft waterscapes enhance your experience. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MoonDance Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added MoonDance Inn to your Saves list