We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy stay with a view.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MoonDance Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MoonDance Inn
4737 Cable Street, Bellingham, WA   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Bellingham B&B and Inns
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A cozy stay with a view.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The location was great, beautiful view of Lake Whatcom. The room was very nice, newly decorated, very fun and fancy.
Cons- No lock on the door, it made me feel a little uneasy at night. No screens on the windows. No soap in the bathroom. And there is a huge 5 inch gap under the doorway , we could hear and see feet of other guests:( The new jetted tub didn't work and we couldn't figure out the shower:} And also no directions on how to turn the t.v. on. The breakfast was a disappointment. Very dry salmon scramble and Canned peaches! With the price of the room I expected a lot better breakfast!
Pro's- Linda the Inn keeper was very nice. Our room was beautiful! I loved listening to the water trickling in the coy pond. We enjoyed sitting out on the deck looking at the lake and a family of dear walk by. I think this place could be really nice:)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

MoonDance Inn was our "memorial" experience weekend. They offer a lot of kayaks you can take out on the lake, which we did. Unfortunatley we ended up in the lake due to our lack of experience kayaking. But it was fun to laugh about it. So here are our pros and cons on this B & B located right on Lake Whatcom:

Pros - location was close enough to down town to take in a nice dinner at a restaurant. The view from our room was incredible - we left the door open to take in the fresh air! There are so many great seating places around the inn (both inside and out) where you can entertain. We had some friends that lived in the area come meet us there and it was fun just sitting & chatting. They have a very pretty pond with fish. Plants galore - so pretty!

Cons - A little pricey, but for the room with a view, one can expect it. Although the bathroom is simply gorgeous, we are not 'techy' and couldn't figure out the bathtub buttons (jets and drying); and we couldn't figure out how to turn the shower on until the 2nd day we were there. I guess we are used to amazing breakfasts at B&B's, and this one was 'average'. One of us doesn't like salmon and they served a salmon egg scramble. No lock on the door made us feel a little uneasy especially when you can hear people walking on the hallways.

All in all, it was an adventure, to be sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The main reason we went to Whatcom Lake, Bellingham, was to attempt kayaking. We didn't end up too well on this adventure and found ourselves in the water without even going a foot. The innkeeper was helpful in tracking down the kayak and getting us dry. We also hooked up with some friends in the area and the inn offers great seating spots (both in and outside) for nice private chatting overlooking the lake.

Pros: We had a view of the lake from our room. It was gorgeous.
Close enough distance from town to drive to some good restaurants (we chose Anthonys which was awesome but a little pricey). Great if you are an experienced kayaker as they have many to borrow. Pretty pond and serene, but you can still hear car traffic.

Cons: Breakfast was just o.k. I think we're spoiled going to other B & B's for breakfast and being served. But, we ended up getting something 'afterwards'. Bring your own diet sugar if you like your coffee sweetened but without sugar.

We weren't shown the 'ropes' on how to operate the bathtub or shower which are pretty deluxe. Tub is computerized and we couldn't get it to turn off - finally got it to. We couldn't figure out the shower and how to turn it on until the 2nd morning. We felt like we were already an imposition to innkeeper after being dunked in the lake that we didn't want to impose any more.

The price is high - it is gorgeous, and if you can spend $200 a night, it's worth it. We just ended up spending a lot not only on lodging, but dinner and the need to replace our soaked i-phones.

Room Tip: Wish we had a photo to share, but our phones landed in the water and camera was shot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Quaint, friendly and accommodating place. Delicious breakfast, amazing views, serene atmosphere, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. 'twas an absolute pleasure! Have booked another stay for our anniversary in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I are innkeepers ourselves and we were completely delighted with our stay at MoonDance Inn. The rooms and baths are distinctive and comfortable. We loved the decor, the lovely common room looking out over the water - and - the incredible breakfast and hospitality. Our hosts couldn't have been more friendly and helpful - just what innkeepers should be! The combination of the magical rooms, grounds (the water garden is a delight) and the view makes The MoonDance Inn a very special place, indeed.
Kimberly King and Ken Grantham, innkeepers in Poulsbo WA

Room Tip: Every room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

As a first time B&B guest, I don't have any B&B experience to compare this one to but nevertheless, I would have to say that it was a very nice experience. We (with my fiance) felt good about the place. It is set in a very nice (and romantic) location by Lake Whatcom - the property has its own dock on the lake; the inn has a nice country-cabin feel - well adorned with furnishings that make one feel cozy and relaxed; the grounds has spaces and gardens that are very relaxing; the room that we stayed in (the upscale one feels cozy and clean - it has its own deck with a lake view and it has a hot tub as well. And did I say that breakfasts can be both tasty and healthy at the same time?

Of course nothing is really perfect. In my opinion, I think our room's door should be lockable and the heat should have the controls in the room (instead of asking the inn-keepers to set it for you). Like what I said, this is my first time in a B&B and so, all these may not even be applicable.

Overall, if you like peace and quiet, romantic places (my fiance really thinks it's romantic), lakes surrounded by hills, and very welcoming hosts, I think you'll be very pleased if you stay here. I'm recommending it...

A&F

Room Tip: Call the inn-keepers to find out what are the amenities your selected room has
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This B & B is outstanding. Great service, great people, beautiful property, and a lovey location. My mom and I stayed in a room for one night and enjoyed a delicious breakfast the following morning and I was even able to take a kayak out for a paddle on the lake in the morning! They have a bunch of boats and a fire pit by the lake....and the decorations on the interior and the exterior of the building are exquisite. My mom has been staying in B & B'sfor almost 16 years and she said this one was the best one she's ever stayed in. Stay there! You will not regret it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MoonDance Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MoonDance Inn

Address: 4737 Cable Street, Bellingham, WA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amid towering forests and majestic mountains, with scenic views of Lake Whatcom, the MoonDance Inn offers a relaxing escape from today’s busy world. Conveniently located just minutes from downtown Bellingham - gateway to the North Cascades, San Juan Islands and the Inside Passage, Mt. Baker recreation area, and British Columbia, Canada. Combining contemporary amenities with Old-World charm, Innkeepers Gary & Linda Fuller have created an ambiance reflective of their artistic craftsmanship and European style in restoring their 1933 lakeside home. Appreciation of quality and detail clearly permeates every feature of the MoonDance Inn. Mesmerizing campfires and soft waterscapes enhance your experience. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MoonDance Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added MoonDance Inn to your Saves list