We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MoonDance Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MoonDance Inn
Save
You added MoonDance Inn to your Saves list
4737 Cable Street, Bellingham, WA   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Bellingham B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Magical getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I are innkeepers ourselves and we were completely delighted with our stay at MoonDance Inn. The rooms and baths are distinctive and comfortable. We loved the decor, the lovely common room looking out over the water - and - the incredible breakfast and hospitality. Our hosts couldn't have been more friendly and helpful - just what innkeepers should be! The combination of the magical rooms, grounds (the water garden is a delight) and the view makes The MoonDance Inn a very special place, indeed.
Kimberly King and Ken Grantham, innkeepers in Poulsbo WA

Room Tip: Every room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

As a first time B&B guest, I don't have any B&B experience to compare this one to but nevertheless, I would have to say that it was a very nice experience. We (with my fiance) felt good about the place. It is set in a very nice (and romantic) location by Lake Whatcom - the property has its own dock on the lake; the inn has a nice country-cabin feel - well adorned with furnishings that make one feel cozy and relaxed; the grounds has spaces and gardens that are very relaxing; the room that we stayed in (the upscale one feels cozy and clean - it has its own deck with a lake view and it has a hot tub as well. And did I say that breakfasts can be both tasty and healthy at the same time?

Of course nothing is really perfect. In my opinion, I think our room's door should be lockable and the heat should have the controls in the room (instead of asking the inn-keepers to set it for you). Like what I said, this is my first time in a B&B and so, all these may not even be applicable.

Overall, if you like peace and quiet, romantic places (my fiance really thinks it's romantic), lakes surrounded by hills, and very welcoming hosts, I think you'll be very pleased if you stay here. I'm recommending it...

A&F

Room Tip: Call the inn-keepers to find out what are the amenities your selected room has
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This B & B is outstanding. Great service, great people, beautiful property, and a lovey location. My mom and I stayed in a room for one night and enjoyed a delicious breakfast the following morning and I was even able to take a kayak out for a paddle on the lake in the morning! They have a bunch of boats and a fire pit by the lake....and the decorations on the interior and the exterior of the building are exquisite. My mom has been staying in B & B'sfor almost 16 years and she said this one was the best one she's ever stayed in. Stay there! You will not regret it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Back for our second stay at the Moon Dance Inn, and this time we brought five friends with us for a weekend of relaxation and partying by the lake. As expected, we all came away with nothing but good feelings and sincere gratitude towards our hosts, Linda and Gary. And I do speak for my friends here, who all loved our stay at the Moon Dance!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colbert, WA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The grounds are very well done and kept, with the outside ponds and water features. The view of the lake from the house and the sitting areas is wonderful. I could hear the waves lapping the shore from The wind on the lake at night

The interior is a wonderful mix of an inn and a home. My hosts were very attentive and relaxed with the guests. The breakfasts were excellent, even causing the guests to linger to talk over the meal.

My room was fantastic. Very comfortable bed and a balcony with a view--great!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Linda and Gary run an inn that makes you feel like you are family friends visiting for the weekend at their gorgeous lake house. The inn is right on the lake and the view is just spectacular. The rooms are clean and comfy, the food is great and at the end of the day, we hung with them around their fire pit at lakes edge sharing some wine....what more could you ask? Breakfast was served outside on the deck because the weather was perfect(sept) and one morning we did some open kayaking around the lake. We had originally planned to go stay in Vancouver but we found they were so well located, we just stayed with them and did day trips to Mt Baker, Vancouver,etc. If I have my facts right, I think they are the only lodging right on the lake. What is so nice about the place is they have canoes, kayaks for guests to use and they get them all set up for you. They both are adept at knowing when to be there and helpful and when to fade back and give you your space. We were both so relaxed when we were there. We had scheduled one night and ended up staying four!

Room Tip: I think the best room is the one upstairs, at the top of the stairs, facing the lake with its own pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Just a half-hour from home yet we felt as though we were at some exotic getaway. Linda and Gary have put a lot of thought and love into their new B&B and the results are wonderful. Several lovely places to sit outdoors and feel like you are in a very special, private world. Great breakfasts and great hosts. We feel we have made new friends! For sure we will return!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MoonDance Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MoonDance Inn

Address: 4737 Cable Street, Bellingham, WA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amid towering forests and majestic mountains, with scenic views of Lake Whatcom, the MoonDance Inn offers a relaxing escape from today’s busy world. Conveniently located just minutes from downtown Bellingham - gateway to the North Cascades, San Juan Islands and the Inside Passage, Mt. Baker recreation area, and British Columbia, Canada. Combining contemporary amenities with Old-World charm, Innkeepers Gary & Linda Fuller have created an ambiance reflective of their artistic craftsmanship and European style in restoring their 1933 lakeside home. Appreciation of quality and detail clearly permeates every feature of the MoonDance Inn. Mesmerizing campfires and soft waterscapes enhance your experience. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MoonDance Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.