We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love The Fork” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fork at Agate Bay

The Fork at Agate Bay
2530 North Shore Road, Bellingham, WA 98226
(360) 733-1126
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 389 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
WA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love The Fork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Such a little oasis! I love going to The Fork. Always a nice atmosphere, always good service and always unique and wonderful meals. Menu rotates with the seasons using local sources. I've never been disappointed with the choices, encourages me to try something new each time. Good wine choices. Nicely decorated for an upscale, but very comfortable feel. Looks like they are expanding their outside dining area for summer. Too bad there is not a view of Lake Whatcom, only across the street.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    35
    20
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classics up three notches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

really liked the menu selection, a little something for everyone! The place was cozy yet you are able to have a conversation.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A special place ... Good for a special meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Rated as one of the best meals to be had in the Bellingham area I had to try it! What I found was a nice location, comfortable interior..well appointed. You can be casual on one side and a bit more spiffed up for the other side. Food was really quite good. I would say that the plate presentation was excellent. They have a menu that changes with the season and local availability ad they support local growers. All was fresh. My only suggestion was that the beer selection could be improved. Definitely give it a try but this is not an inexpensive rendezvous. Average dinner is 28,00 but if you share a pizza and have a beer you can still enjoy without breaking the bank!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fun spot, locally sourced food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

While visiting relatives in Bellingham, they took us to The Fork for a Sunday breakfast. All the food was freshly made, locally sourced and served in a fun, friendly restaurant. Husband loved his huevos rancheros and our two family members enjoyed their mushroom omelet and pulled pork breakfast. I had the pancakes which were good - not great and not as filling - more of a side dish. The over-easy egg I had on the side was delicious - amazing how wonderful fresh eggs can be! Delicious coffee was enjoyed by all. None of the meals were overly filling but all the ingredients were high end and we had a very pleasant start to our day!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The first restaurant of a vacation is always subject to the greatest scrutiny. Mindful of that, I let this review sit a couple of weeks to the end of the trip to be more comparative. Unfortunately, it hasn't altered my view. The Fork can be both a treat and a disappointment, and that is why I cannot fully recommend you visit. I just don't want to gamble with my dining experiences. My husband's meal, the "hit," (seared salmon with truffled risotto) was fantastic...perfectly prepared and tasty. Mine, the "miss," started with the garden greens salad (pretty, but small and tasteless) and the Fork's advertised specialty: wood fired flatbreads. bland and grossly unremarkable. And though not listed in the menu ingredients, the pizza had a bitter broccolini throughout, which I had to pick off in order to taste anything else…which turned out to be flat. Had it all been a few dollars, I might not have minded. But when we shelled out $70 for what amounted to one good meal, I guess we expected more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fork at Agate Bay also viewed

 

Been to The Fork at Agate Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fork at Agate Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;