We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in a culinary desert!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fork at Agate Bay

The Fork at Agate Bay
2530 North Shore Road, Bellingham, WA 98226
(360) 733-1126
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 387 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Oasis in a culinary desert!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Always on the lookout for new restaurants, my wife happened to see something written about The Fork and so we decided to hazard a booking with some trepidation, as Bellingham and its environs are not exactly noted for culinary exceptionalism. Basic good food yes, but creativity? Not so much. We were not disappointed in the least and everything from our reception in an almost deserted restaurant - we booked early as we had a long drive back to our hotel - to the quality of our food to our delightful young lady server to the wine list was thoroughly excellent. Can't wait to go again. Downside? No view; but I am of the opinion that that is no bad thing, as people then tend to frequent a place for the food and wine alone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    22
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sedro Woolley, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A cut above for Bellingham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have eaten here numerous times and never been let down. The service is spot on and the food is exciting, well prepared and imaginative. if you are in the area, want really good food and t experience exceptional dining in a relaxed setting, the Fork is it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't order the pizza”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had a great brunch at this restaurant and returned a few weeks later for dinner. Ordered a pricey pizza and received a dry, unseasoned and uninspired pizza. Another family member suffered the same disappointment with different pizza choice. Perhaps, the real pizza cook is off on Sundays.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing, friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My niece, my husband and I went to The Fork for breakfast last weekend for the first time and sat out on the deck with our two dogs. It was a beautiful, sunny morning, and the experience was wonderful and relaxing. The waitress, Jamie, was so friendly, and the food was excellent. We also went for a walk on the Lake Whatcom Park Hertz Trail afterward.

We will definitely go back, especially when we have out of town guests. The Fork is my new favorite breakfast spot in Bellingham!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food fantastic walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We drove almost to the end of North Shore on Lake Whatcom, passed the Fork Restaurant and headed for a beautiful walk at Lake Whatcom Park - Hertz Trail. It is a flat walk that you can either ride on or walk that parallels the lake. On the way home, we stopped at the Fork for Lunch. The menu is very accommodating, kids can have fire roasted Pizza, and we had their Hummus platter-its big enough for 4 adults for a appetizer Salads, Garlic shoestring fries (so good!) and a few salads. Everything was so fresh; they had a blue cheese sauce that was outstanding. Six beers on tap which included my favorite Kulshan porter and some very good wines by the glass. Place is well worth the drive will defiantly be back for their breakfast(menu look great).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fork at Agate Bay also viewed

 

Been to The Fork at Agate Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fork at Agate Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.