We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go in the Bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Forest Steak House

Black Forest Steak House
1263 Barkley Boulevard, Bellingham, WA
(360) 733-9185
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #178 of 388 restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Go in the Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The restaurant is pricey but the food is good. We generally go in the bar cause the service is faster and the food is value priced especially during happy hour 4-6pm each day and all day Sunday.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

45% Recommend
    4
    6
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The food is good, but it is pricey. If you sit in the bar and order from that menu, you will get a better price for your meal, but the trade off is a loud bar atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Casual Steak Dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Scheduled dinner seeking prime rib; the restaraunt called back to let us know they had run out before our 9 PM rez; that was excellent service. Came the following evening. Service was excellent, food was average; all was hot, served at the same time; salads were blah, bar service was good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disgusting server ruined the whole experience.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I came here with my boyfriend for a casual dinner and drinks in the bar one evening a few weeks ago. You can tell the tattooed server (nothing against tattoos, as I have many myself) sure thinks highly of herself. However, she's clearly been "rode hard, put away wet" more than once, reeked of body odor, and was beyond rude to us and the customers she was serving around us. Although our food was good and the restaurant clean, she truly ruined the entire experience. I'd rather visit Applebee's for our next date night than this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Bar Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We usually eat in the bar/lounge. They have a reasonable bar menu with decent choices and you can order off the regular menu if you want. They have a decent bar steak (7 oz sirloin) for a reasonable price. The service and food are very good and the atmosphere is warm and welcoming.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Forest Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Black Forest Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Forest Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.