We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant weekend in very comfortable accommodation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tree Frog Night Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Frog Night Inn
1727 Mt. Baker Highway, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Bellingham B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Deer Harbor, Washington
1 review
“A pleasant weekend in very comfortable accommodation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Tree Frog Night Inn is situated four miles from Bellingham on the road to the Mount Baker Ski Area. We arrived quite late, but we recieved a welcome worthy of a more convenient hour.
The rooms were very well furnished, equipped and decorated.
The breakfasts were optional but well worth the exta charge, although breakfast snacks provided in the kitchen would have been adequate.
Our hosts Kirk and Carra, went out of their way to make us feel at home.
The only suggestion for improvement I have is the the broadband reception could have been better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wide-world-traveler, Owner at Tree Frog Night Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
It was lovely to have you two visit from a neighboring island. We so enjoyed our breakfast conversation and sharing the Inn with neighbors. Thank you for the kind words about our Inn.

I am so sorry we did not know if your internet issue--I would have been so very glad to help resolve it. We actually have signed up for two separate services (DSL and cable) to help assure that if one has any issue, there will be another for guests to access. Just last week (but after your stay), we upgraded both the modem and the router on the cable to the top-of-the-line models that are designed to handle a wide variety of types of devices simultaneously. In any case, I apologize for the difficulty and hope you didn't miss anything important during your stay!

We would be so very pleased and consider ourselves fortunate if you decide to stay again. You are always welcome here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Found myself remembering today waking our first morning at the inn to a snowy landscape, brisk
crisp air and the knowledge that we were in the right place with nothing to do but sit by the fire
and watch the chickadees feed and hop on the snow. Aside from a wander through the property and a lovely sauna and hot tub there was nothing to pull us from the suite and the quiet of Tree Frog Night Inn. If you desire to pause in your tracks and take a deep breath: then turn off your phone, leave the computers at home and follow the white fence up to the house.
Savor the absence of artificial light and turn inward. Sublime.

My 18 year old daughter and I stayed 2 nights just prior to Christmas for my birthday - and it was as if time stood still. My daughter loved the quiet and opportunity to slow down and relax as much as I. The perfect getaway for that time of year during the crazy pre-Christmas time. Kara and Kurt provided treats to make my birthday special. The service was superb, the accommodations lovely, the setting perfect and the experience worth going back for.

Room Tip: The Salish Suite was great. I hear the other has a tub, but with the hot tub not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wide-world-traveler, Owner at Tree Frog Night Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your beautiful words. You really do have wonderful writing. It was such a pleasure to have you and your daughter stay will us. We love helping people celebrate special occasions like your birthday (and making them as non holiday as possible :) ). We would be so pleased to have you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We didn't get to experience breakfast because we were staying only one night and in the Forest room (breakfast requires a longer stay in the Forest room, or a stay in one of the suites) - but any expectations were far exceeded! We came for a birthday overnight excursion and Kara picked up delicious local cupcakes and provided wine for our arrival, which was such a treat to come "home" to. The Forest Room was the perfect place to rest our heads after a wandering adventure up from Seattle, and an even better place to wake up in the morning, brew organic coffee, wander the grounds & socialize with happy chickens. We enjoyed exploring the property's forest and hiked down to the creek for a morning meditation before heading out to explore Bellingham (we got a killer breakfast at Mount Bakery Cafe) and the nearby waterfalls. Thank you Kara, for making us feel at home!

Room Tip: Forest Room was a bit less expensive than the Suites but did not include breakfast for a one night s...
See more room tips
Green Features: two thumbs up, they work hard to be as eco-friendly as possible. The Suites are built to LEED standards as well!
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wide-world-traveler, Owner at Tree Frog Night Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
What a wonderful couple you two are! It is really fun to share the Inn with people who have a concern (and a lot of knowledge too!) about sustainability. We were so very pleased to have you stay and thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I spent a week here doing an Ayurvedic treatment that was nearby. The B&B was recommended to me and I have no regrets of staying here for the week. It was very quite and restful for me, which is what I needed at the time. There are some beautiful and large trees around the property and B&B suites.

Room Tip: I was in the Salish suite and this was ideal for myself in that it was very peaceful and restful. T...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very low impact on the environment, they use all green products.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wide-world-traveler, Owner at Tree Frog Night Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
It is a very special opportunity for us to be part of someone's healing process, and we are so pleased you chose our Inn for your stay during your treatment. We hope to create an environment that is good for the body, mind and soul, and we are so pleased when we hear we were successful. Thank you so much for your kind words. We really enjoyed you and would welcome you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Definitely one of the highlights of our travels this year. Kara and Kurt are wonderful innkeepers, thoughtful and thorough and delightful to be around. Prior to our arrival, every question was promptly responded to and our digital info packet was remarkably detailed and most helpful. The Inn itself, quietly tucked away among the evergreens, gives you a sense of great solitude even though it's minutes from downtown Bellingham. We absolutely loved our stay in the Forest Room, inviting and spacious and surrounded on three sides by views that live up to the room's name. The bed is perfect and the rain shower is heavenly. The kitchenette is snug but provides enough essentials to make some in-room meals an option. Just make sure you save room for Kurt & Kara's homemade breakfasts...they're outstanding!

Room Tip: The weekly rate for the Forest Room is a terrific deal. The only drawback: we never wanted to leave...
See more room tips
Green Features: It's not a hollow promise. Kurt & Kara take Eco-Friendliness seriously, and we commend them for it.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wide-world-traveler, Owner at Tree Frog Night Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
What a lovey, friendly, interesting couple you are. And very talented with the camera to boot! We feel so fortunate that you chose our Inn for one of your remarkable adventures. We wish you well for many more of them, and thank you so much for taking the time to write these thoughtful words about our Inn. Should you ever be back in our neck of the woods, we would be so pleased to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We chose the Tree Frog Night Inn for a one-night visit to the Bellingham area between business in Seattle and visits with friends in the area. Its consistent 5-star ratings attracted us, although its richly oriental decor was in startling contrast to our spacious and modern digs at the Grand Hyatt in Seattle. We chose the location--six miles outside the Bellingham downtown(s)—to guarantee no train whistles in the night, which some reviewers of the larger hotels had mentioned.

As readers, we were frustrated by the lack of good reading lights in either living room or bedroom, but enjoyed the wine and the toasty little gas stove, the flat TV on the bedroom wall and the total lack of intrusion by the owners, who appeared only briefly when we arrived, gave helpful information, and left us to enjoy their woodsy setting.

Our (superb) continental breakfast was left in the refrigerator/laundry room between the two suites—the other was un-occupied—and we made an extra pot of coffee in the morning with the fresh-ground coffee and real cream, reading in the morning light until our time was up. The photos on the website give you a good idea of what to expect—our suite was the “Mediterranean”. I loved the hand-held shower head for easy washing of my hair, the incense matches, the big mirror with good lighting, the sumptuous tile work.

The only suggestion I might make is to make reading possible, and to clear some “free” space for visitors’ dop kits in the bathroom, and for luggage in the bedroom—stashing the array of silk throw pillows from the bed over-filled the trunk which provided our quilt and pillows, leaving only one trunk top on which to open a suitcase.

In warmer weather, we certainly would have used the hot tub in the back, and maybe sat on the porch to read, assuming no mosquitoes—the effort toward environmentally “sustainable” living definitely captured our interest and admiration.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wide-world-traveler, Owner at Tree Frog Night Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
We are so glad you stayed and enjoyed so many aspects of your visit and so sorry you did not find the various reading light options we provide for your reading pleasure.

Sometimes with a short overnight stay in this more ornate of the suites, it might be hard to spot the details. We too have yearned for better reading light in many venues we have visited, so we worked to provide good light options for our suites. There are wall fixtures just above either end of the bed that provide direct, unshaded downlight. These can be slide dimmed or very bright--and perhaps these were dimmed and you did not see the switch mechanism to make them bright.

We also provide goose-neck reading lamps in the closet for those who would prefer this type of reading lamp on their bedside table instead.

In the living area, in addition to the ceiling fixture and sconces, we provide a double bulb table lamp with very light shading by the arm chair, a gooseneck desk reading lamp and the additional gooseneck reading lamp options in the closets.

I am so sorry we did not know of your trouble, as we would been so very happy to help you find good light for your reading. We always invite our guests to let us know if there is anything at all that they need to make their stay more comfortable.

It also seems that you did not find the luggage rack that we provide by the couch in the living area or the large bath cupboard (in addition to the drawer) provided for stowing ditty bags and such. I am so sorry!

We hope you will consider returning again, and we will be sure to help you find these things to make your stay more comfortable. We would be very pleased to have you. Thank you for choosing our Inn for your stay. Warmly, Kara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in the Forest room for a week prior to my sister's wedding, and everything was wonderful. The location was perfect, a few minutes into Bellingham, but yet close to Mt. Baker for hikes and day trips as well. The room is very nicely decorated and comfortable, and the kitchenette proved very useful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wide-world-traveler, Owner at Tree Frog Night Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We are so pleased you liked our new Forest Room and found it a good place to relax before such a big and busy occasion. We love to provide a calm green place to retreat for lovely guests such as you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tree Frog Night Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Frog Night Inn

Address: 1727 Mt. Baker Highway, Bellingham, WA 98226
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Nothing short of magical," "A little slice of green heaven," "An enchanting oasis of serenity and restoration" are ways our guests describe Bellingham's premier eco bed and breakfast, the Tree Frog Night Inn. Two luxurious king suites with fireplaces and a queen guestroom nestled in lush green surroundings of soft, majestic Cedars and beautiful gardens, our unique, artistic eco bed and breakfast is ideally situated on five acres only ten minutes from downtown Bellingham and yet central to all the activities and outdoor adventures Whatcom County has to offer. Within five minutes are walking and hiking trails, several local restaurants, wineries, and a large entertainment center. As your innkeepers, we strive to provide a luxurious, restful experience for our guests filled with amenities and thoughtful details. From the infra-red sauna and outdoor eco hot tub for two -- to the privacy of your own covered porch and private entrance -- to details like down bedding, hand-cut scented soaps and organic robes and products in the private baths, the Inn is a treat for all your senses. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tree Frog Night Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tree Frog Night Inn to your Saves list