We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You mean a crepe isn't just a flat pancake?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magdalena’s Creperie

Magdalena’s Creperie
1200 10th St., Bellingham, WA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 393 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: We were visiting Bellingham. Our daughter told us about a creperie she'd liked but couldn't remember the name. We couldn't find it on the web, but did happen upon Magdalena's which is in Fairhaven, a quaint suburb where we planned to stop anyway. We decided to give it a try and it was wonderful. Inventive crepes, savory and dessert, fresh and delicious. We shared a veggie crepe, made properly with buckwheat; potato and cheese perogi, and a smoked salmon, avocado, sun dried tomato, and horse radish creme baguette. We were too full for a dessert crepe, alas. Very reasonable prices, especially considering the quality. And Magdalena proved lively, personable, and charming. The cuisine is basically Polish, but lightened and re-invented. I took some photos for TripAdvisor readers. Almost worth a trip from Seattle.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“You mean a crepe isn't just a flat pancake?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Maybe my impression is overly high because of my previous experiences with crepes, but wow for an amazing meal. In the past, the crepes I've had were more or less flat pancakes with something sweet on them other than syrup. Given that I have nothing against pancakes and Magdalena's had such great reviews, we decided to try it. I was more than a little surprised at how many savory options were on the menu, and feeling a little sugar'ed out decided to try a breakfast crepe with eggs, prosciutto, feta, spinach, and tomatoes. My boyfriend had a similar breakfast crepe with salmon instead.

These crepes were no thin pancakes - I actually fail at describing them well, but imagine a crispy brown pocket of goodness, and that's a much better description. They were light, the ingredients were fresh and well proportioned to one another, and the result was fabulous. We both cleaned our plates and were tempted to try something sweet for dessert. I'll definitely be back for dinner to try one of the cheese covered baked concoctions. :)

The service was a little slow, but understandably since a very large part sat down shortly before we did. If you want to pop in and out, this probably isn't the best place for you. If you'd like to sit, enjoy a cup of coffee, and wait for your food to be freshly made, this is the place to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    10
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We'll definitely be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We cycled into Fairhaven on sunny Saturday morning, and discovered this delightful little creperie tucked behind the Village Green. My husband and I each enjoyed savory breakfast crepes with smoked salmon, arugula and fresh tomatoes. We're coming back to sample the rest of the menu as soon as we can!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We love breakfast at Magdalenas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I love having breakfast here once a month. Everything is fresh and made to order. Their lattes are perfectly flavorful, one of the best coffees in town.
Very good prices.
One negative: sometimes there's only one waitress and she's busy and overworked.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Random visit; permanent fixture.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The creativity is superb, so that even if you order something that you'll never try again, it won't be because it's poor quality or ill-prepared, rather, the variety is such that it's paramount to return again and again to experience each menu item. Staff is engaging, warm, and kind, but not overbearing; a welcome and refreshing balance, indeed. Truly, a multi-cultural experience -- my first visit saw me chatting with a native-born Frenchman visiting from CANADA. This tells me that the Fairhaven Creperie could probably hold its own with the big boy bakeries in Vancouver, B.C., or even Seattle, and is, almost, certainly, the BEST creperie within and without the I-5 corridor between the two larger cities. Not only that, the staff is also multi-cultural as well as friendly and polite. Also, they serve Stumptown coffee which I would rank as being within the top 3 coffee companies in the NW for quality coffee. Worth your time for a first try. :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Gem of a place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Visiting Bellingham with friends, we stopped for lunch at Magdalena's. It is a small restaurant that specializes in crepes, but with enough variety to satisfy everyone. They are Polish, and the pierogies are to die for! I had a sweet crepe with home made caramel and fresh fruit. Another member of the group had a savory paper-thin crepe filled wth spinach, avocado, smoked salmon and grilled zucchini. The coffee was outstanding.

We'll be back!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magdalena’s Creperie also viewed

 

Been to Magdalena’s Creperie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magdalena’s Creperie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.