We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place needs to be closed UNSAFE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shamrock Motel

Shamrock Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bellingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shamrock Motel
4133 W Maplewood Ave, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Place needs to be closed UNSAFE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

1st off
I was to have a Qween size bed what was in room was 2 full size beds and it stunk
2nd
I walked in to Bathroom (if you want to call it that) picked up what was to have been bath towel and a Cockroach fell out of it
3rd the A/C was a Window Fan Excuse me
We slept in my Truck after I demanded my Money back
I would not send anyone there

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    1
    0
    7
See reviews for
6
1
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here on route to Palm Springs via the Bellingham airport. The motel far exceeded expectations. It was very clean and spacious, with microwave and fridge in our room. Their customer service is first class all around. We left a brief case in the parking lot as we were leaving to go back home (unloading from the cab into our own vehicle). The owner packaged up it up, took it to a Greyhound bus depot, and we had it back within days. The motel is very well located with easy access to airport, restaurants and freeway. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Ended up here by an unavoidable event by whinny border guards shutting down the border, therefore we were stuck trying to find a place for the night. Shamrock green is the theme, even the TV picture is green! Check in is "with toilet paper or not?" Buttwipe is $5.00 extra.....
Didn't take our clothes off here, too disgusting, skid marks on the carpet!!!
Only stayed one night, thank God...

Room Tip: Keep driving!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Me and my children stayed for 3 days and found the location , services and price very good , what we pay we should expect to get the same. I went from surrey and I will use the same place all times. The owners have told us that we could stay here park our car and fly as well. So next time we take a flight from Bellingham Airport to Las Vegas NV, we will definitely park and fly from there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this motel December 1st to 3rd 2012. Room was well priced, service was excellent and the location is very good. The openers were very good to us, they installed brand new TV as soon as we took the room. They told us the TV was working but since we took the room for 3 days they replaced it.
We were totally satisfied and if we go to Bellingham, we'll surely stay at this motel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Owners were very friendly with me. I asked for extra towels and they had no problem giving some to me. Room was clean, the place around noon was loud due to traffic and other people, but in the nighttime it got pretty quiet. Free wifi was ok. Bed was fine, sheets were clean. Parked my car for a week and had no problem with that, also cheaper than the rate the airport was giving. They don't give early morning shuttle, but it was fine, called a cab and was only five bucks. Do people see hampton inn next to this place and expect hampton inn service/rooms? The place looks old, I'm sure if the owners tore the place down and built a brand new one, they would do a lot better.
The only con I can see is that they don't have bathtubs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, BC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I will be brief as others have pretty much said it all.

This place is nasty, run down, shabby and filthy with very sketchy clientele. The carpet was toxic and the bed was well beyond its useful life.

We stayed overnight to avoid a rush at the boarder while getting to our Vegas flight; it was a huge mistake. My wife will remind me of this "choice" for years to come.

They offer to let you park your car on the property rather than pay for parking at the airport. I happily parked at the airport; money well spent from my observation of the surroundings.

Be afraid, be very afraid.

Room Tip: Unfortunately you are out of luck on this front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shamrock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Motel

Address: 4133 W Maplewood Ave, Bellingham, WA 98226
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamrock Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shamrock Motel to your Saves list