We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This time, it was great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whatcom Museum

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Whatcom Museum
121 Prospect St, Bellingham, WA 98225
360-778-8930
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 31 Attractions in Bellingham
Type: Museums, Art Museums, History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located in downtown Bellingham, WA, the Whatcom Museum features revolving exhibitions of fine art and Northwest history, educational and enteraining programs, Family Interactive Gallery, and an extensive photo archives.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“This time, it was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our experiences in the art museum have varied. We've visited this museum quite a few times, and though once or twice we found the exhibits small and disappointing, we have often found the traveling exhibits very impressive. That was the case on our recent visit. We found the "Radical Repetition" show impressive, well-presented and interesting. We also enjoyed the Lyle Wilson exhibition. It's hit and miss, I think, but this impressive building does offer opportunities to view interesting art, an achievement for such a venue in a small city.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GIG HARBOR
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Misleading Museum”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

So for the price of admission you get into 3 different buildings. The old city hall is cool and interesting. The building right next door is okay; it has a cool bird exhibit. But like other readers said, the new modern light-catcher museum is misleading. When we went only 1 of the 2 exhibit rooms were open. It's huge inside and seems to have been built more for meetings, parties, events, etc rather than a museum. Very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Lightcatcher art museum, in the modern building, is a rip-off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This review is limited to the Lightcatcher, the modern building that houses the Whatcom Museum's gallery of art.

Though the building looks big enough from the outside, much of the inside is given over to a courtyard, cafe (Kackink!), the obligatory museum shop (Kachink!), and high ceilings. That leaves little space for actual exhibits - essentially two rooms and some hallways. Admission to this scant offering, no photos allowed, is $10!

If you want to reassure yourself that you are not really missing anything, occasionally, on Art Walk nights, admission is free. But you can never be sure on *which* Art Walk night, nor when even one of those nights gets preempted by a "private event."

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Just average, just "okay" not a must see but if you have time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A somewhat smaller city museum with some interesting but not "must see" works that periodically come through, the staff was friendly enough and pleasant, I do not remember the pricing really, is it something you gotta do if you're in Bellingham ? No, not really.But if you have time check it out and then go out to the back and see the view from the top of the hill overlooking the water or go down and eat some bbq pizza at Chuckanut Brewery just down the back stairs and through the park to the right across the street.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a fair museum at best. The City spent way more than budget and are now trying to recover by overcharging.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whatcom Museum also viewed

 

Been to Whatcom Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whatcom Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.