We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average, just "okay" not a must see but if you have time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Whatcom Museum

Whatcom Museum
121 Prospect St, Bellingham, WA 98225
360-778-8930
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 65 things to do in Bellingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in downtown Bellingham, WA, the Whatcom Museum features revolving exhibitions of fine art and Northwest history, educational and enteraining programs, Family Interactive Gallery, and an extensive photo archives.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
410 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Just average, just "okay" not a must see but if you have time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A somewhat smaller city museum with some interesting but not "must see" works that periodically come through, the staff was friendly enough and pleasant, I do not remember the pricing really, is it something you gotta do if you're in Bellingham ? No, not really.But if you have time check it out and then go out to the back and see the view from the top of the hill overlooking the water or go down and eat some bbq pizza at Chuckanut Brewery just down the back stairs and through the park to the right across the street.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KweqSmanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a fair museum at best. The City spent way more than budget and are now trying to recover by overcharging.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Baker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cool Buildings + Eclectic Exhibits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

After reading about the WM's current exhibits, we headed north from Seattle, and it was worth the trip to this local treasure! This museum occupies three buildings in the downtown Bellingham arts district. We enjoyed the amazing archival photographs displayed in the Old City Hall, plus the current exhibit of Pacific Northwest landscape paintings. After a walkabout and lunch break, we headed over to the Lightcatcher Building, an attractive LEED Silver sustainable building designed by revered Northwest architecture firm Olson Kundig. Be sure to visit before March 24 to view the very funky "Chicanitas: Small Paintings from the Cheech Marin Collection." These 65 paintings by 26 contemporary Chicano artists will tickle your art and cosmic consciousness. The California Impressionists exhibit from the Irvine Museum, which closed 2/17/13, evoked the light and warmth of California land and seascapes. Always a delight on a gray Northwest afternoon.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Plan on at least an hour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We loved this Museum. Lots of History in and around Bellingham. Went to the Museum before we did the Historic walking tour of Bellingham. We knew a lot more than the brochure provided while we walked. Highly recommend visiting it. The building itself is historic.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ddennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A few nice exhibits”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

There are a few nice exhibits here but I always leave thinking "is that all?"

Helpful?
Thank Hikestick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whatcom Museum also viewed

 

Been to Whatcom Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing