We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of perks without pretense” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Bellingham

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Bellingham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Bellingham
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4282 Meridian St., Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lots of perks without pretense”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

This Comfort Inn is really at the top end of the "two-star" category. Room is clean and includes mini-fridge and microwave. Staff is friendly. There isn't anything special about the furnishings, but there is nothing wrong with them. Bed and bedding is decent. Free WiFi in the rooms. Includes a good "expanded" continental breakfast (waffle bar, hot cereal, good selection of fresh fruits and pastries). Location is good, lots of dining selection right on the block. I think my only complaint is a mildly noisy heater.

Comfort Inn won't win a beauty contest and is not a luxury hotel, but it is a reliably good quality hotel. This is my third time staying here and I've been comfortable and satisfied with every visit.

  • Liked — Many ammenities included
  • Disliked — Noisy heater
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    103
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
85
75
16
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2008

Went down for some cross-border shopping. The Comfort Inn is right near the Bellis Fair mall, but also a fairly short drive to downtown where we checked out the excellent "Farmer's Market."

Friendly staff, good breakfasts, rooms were very clean and not too expensive. (We got a better deal on the price by phoning directly, it's worth a try.)

Would recommend to families or couples headed in for shopping or visiting friends.

  • Liked — Clean, quiet, good (free) breakfast.
  • Disliked — View could be better.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed at the Comfort Inn for 3 nights. Our family of five, booking less than 2 weeks before our trip, had a difficult time finding a place to accomodate us in one room. We started out the first night in their mini suite which was adequate (had a funny cleaning product smell) but quite cramped and we didn't even try to fit in the rollaway. Because we were out and about all the next day, they graciously moved our suitcases to the larger suite we had booked for the next 2 nights. The Presidential Suite was much better with a king bed in a separate room and plenty of room for the rollaway and pull out sofa bed in the living room area. There was even a nice little kitchenette and plenty of closets. The jacuzzi tub was nice after a long day of hiking at Mount Baker! Both rooms included a nice breakfast (hardboiled eggs, yogurt, bananas, apples, various breads and muffins, cereal and make it yourself waffles). The staff was very friendly. As long as we could get the bigger room, we would happily stay there again.

  • Liked — The larger suite and the breakfast
  • Disliked — The smell in the smaller suite
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlmcpo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

This is a clean (spotless), comfortable motel with great staff- both behind the desk and housekeeping. There is a sense from the staff that they like working there. Would stay there again, and hope to.

  • Liked — they upgraded my room at no charge, very clean and quiet
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

This hotel is very nice. I always bring a pair of ear plugs to block out the noise when I am sleeping. I wanted a room to sleep in, cook microwavable food, keep food in a fridge. This was perfect. Grocery store is very close. About 2 minute drive. I got some microwavable food, plastic utensils, plates, microwavable container, cups (some already in room), dish detergent, plastic wrap, and a scrubber. Breakfast is served in the morning, but lunch and dinner must be provided by you. We made our own dinner and lunch in the microwave to save money on take-out.

Bonus:
Clean
Comfy
Cable
Internet
Had everything that I needed

Recommendations:
With all hotels, I recommend getting ear plugs. This can be bought from Home Depot, but most stores should carry some. They cost about 50 cents a pair.

Problems that can be silenced with ear plugs:
Noisy heater/air conditioner
Thin walls above and beside room

Overall, for less than $100 a night, I was quite impressed. This is the hotel that I will be staying at when booking future trips to Bellingham.

  • Liked — Near shopping malls and grocery store
  • Disliked — Noisy heater and thin walls
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

This hotel was very clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly. The pool is rather small and only about 4-5' deep all over. There were quite a few kids swimming (and in a small pool, the splashing can be irritating to some). We had a great time! The pool room is also being remodeled so there are big sheets of plastic over the windows and it is somewhat messy with wood shavings around the floor at one section of the pool. The continental breakfast was very good and had a wide variety of food including a waffle maker, cereal, fruits, breads and muffins, etc. Overall it was a very comfortable place to stay and we would stay there again.

  • Liked — Very clean and affordable
  • Disliked — Pool is too small
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

Ended up staying here with my wife and kids after spending too much time shopping at Bellis Fair.

I used to travel for work a lot and stayed at hotels costing over 3 times the cost of this hotel, but I was surprised at the incredible service I received. Much better than the expensive hotels!

One quick call to the hotel from the mall, told them I was looking for a place for my family for the night. They booked it within minutes on the phone. When we arrived the person at the desk recognized my voice and called me by name.

Room was clean, and quiet (besides my kids bouncing on the beds) I appologize to our neighbours!

Swimming pool was nice but much smaller than it looks in the hotel website pictures (amazing what a wide angle lens can do).

Fitness room was clean and worked well, but room was damp and musty smelling.

Buffet breakfast (included in price) was good, fresh belgium waffles are my favourite and they had two make your own waffle irons running so I was happy.

I will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Bellis Fair.

  • Liked — Incredible customer service
  • Disliked — Musty smell in workout room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Bellingham

Address: 4282 Meridian St., Bellingham, WA 98226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#3 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Bellingham 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn is located in Bellingham's shopping district, 5 blocks away from the Bellis Fair Mall and close to both Bellingham Airport and Western Washington University. Hotel offers hot breakfast including Belgian waffles, sausage and egg patties, bacon, fruit, yogurt, and baked goods. Guests have access to the indoor pool, spa, sauna and exercise room. High-speed Internet access is available in all guest rooms. Parking is available after check-out: surcharge applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Bellingham Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Bellingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.