We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Grand Suites

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Grand Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Grand Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E Kellogg Rd, Bellingham, WA 98226 (Formerly Quality Inn Baron Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Cashiers, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Thanks for everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I still can't thank the people at the quality inn enough for helping me back in Aug when I had problems crossing over to Canada. The employees were really generous in helping me get all my important paperwork faxed over, etc. Without the help and kindness from the people, I wouldn't have made it over without them. Thank you so much.

Also! I totally enjoyed my stay there. :) It was fantastic. If anyone ever ends up in my situation, I highly recommend staying at this hotel over the Sumas ones. Clean room, cozy bed, clean sheets, clean room, clean bathroom with wonderful water pressure (lol)! Oh, and there's internet! What more could you ask for? Book at this place! You won't regret it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    73
    24
    11
    12
See reviews for
63
48
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights over an extended weekend. The location is excellent if you are in town for shopping, which we were. Walmart is just up the road, Fred Meyer is a short drive away, and Bellis Fair also very close. There was plenty of restaurants to choose from within walking distance, including an Olive Garden virtually in the same parking lot.

We were very pleased with all the staff we spoke with, they were all very friendly and accommodating. We needed extra pillows (more on that in a moment) and they provided them very quickly. Our microwave wasn't working, and maintenance was up in the room checking it out within a few minutes. It was replaced within a couple of hours. The cleaning staff was very good and extremely efficient!

Breakfast was also very good, my husband was happy he could have biscuits and gravy and a waffle every morning! But, there was lots to choose from for the health-conscious as well, such as oatmeal, hard-cooked eggs, fruit, yogurt, and fat-free milk.

The room we had was a king suite, which had a living area (table, couch, TV) with a kitchenette and the bathroom in the centre leading to the bedroom area. This is a great set-up. The bed, unfortunately, was extremely hard and somewhat lumpy. The fixtures and furniture have seen much better days, there was not a single thing that wasn't covered in scuffs, scratches, or stains. The pillows were small and too squishy, but that was remedied by asking for more of them. The bathroom was adequate, with good water pressure and plenty of linens.

Aside from any cosmetic issues, the room was good. Overall, our stay was great and we will certainly stay here on our next trip to Bellingham.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here a few days ago and chose the hotel because of the reviews. I guess you don't know who actually is writing these reviews because we found the hotel old, smelly and too many things wrong. The positive was the girl at the desk Monday night, who was very friendly. It all went down hill from there. We had trouble getting our keys to work, both phones in the room were broken and the lines dead. The heater was very loud. The fan was broken in the bathroom. The shower barely trickled and you had to keep plug in tub or it wouldn't come on at all. We could here people talking in their rooms plus the room next door had a snorer and it was so loud you would have thought it was in the same room. The pillows were very small and totally lumpy and the small fridge froze our cheese and drinks. We did however enjoy the crisp white sheets.
The maintenance guy never showed up and the gal on the desk the next morning was very unfriendly and knew nothing about Bellingham, her words "I don't venture very far", not sure why she is in the hotel or tourism industry? The breakfast in the morning had nothing healthy at all and the coffee was really watered down.
We paid $114 a night through an Expedia discount but this hotel was not worth the money.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah R, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Grand Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Scotrish,

We apologize that you did not have a pleasant experience with us. Please rest assured that this is not indicative of our hotel and how we operate. We would like an opportunity to earn your business back and show you how great an experience we can provide. Please contact me directly so I may make special accommodations for your future stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Leah Rhoads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel was clean and well run, with helpful employees. Good location - close to Bellingham International Airport (3.5 miles), and within walking distance to mall, movie theater, Barnes & Noble and good restaurants. Easy freeway access yet far enough that it was quiet at night - no freeway noise. Complementary breakfast had good variety of meal choices. Outdoor pool & hot tub were closed - perhaps winter months? We stayed in October.

Would definitely recommend for couples, family, or business travelers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah R, Manager at Quality Inn Grand Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at our hotel, and for a great review! Yes, we have a swimming pool opened from spring to the end of the summer and our hot tub is opened year round. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Bellingham, and we look forward to serving you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanogan, WA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here one night while visiting Bellingham. The hotel's location is good, and the room we had was very large, but it was a bit dark and rundown. it definitely could use some updating of the room, the bathroom, and some new mattresses. The mattresses were hard and pretty uncomfortable. When checking into a hotel, we routinely check the beds and mattress for any sign of bed bugs. There wasn't any sign of them, but the mattress had some pretty bad stains on it.
We probably won't stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was easy on and off interstate.
Restaurants were close by, shopping close.
The hotel was clean. The rooms large and clean.
I used the guest laundry, it was convenient and fairly priced.
The breakfast was hot and there was a good selection of items



  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah R, Manager at Quality Inn Grand Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you giving us a great review, and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at this conveniently located hotel for one night since our plane arrived late and I wanted to do some shopping before coming back to Canada. I'd choose this place again, no doubt. It was perfect for the type of stay we needed- centrally located, reasonably priced, basic and clean. This is not a vacation property by any stretch of imagination but it does have a nice outdoor pool and the rooms are very generous in size, though a bit dated. The bed was very comfortable though so we had a really good night's sleep which was a great bonus. You really do not have very many choices in Bellingham but this is certainly a good option if you are looking for a quick shopping getaway close to the Canadian border (it is only a couple of blocks away from Bellis Fair mall and on the same strip with other popular retailers), or a good rest just before or after your flight out of Bellingham. We did not take advantage of the breakfast but i thought that the bottled water and cookies were a nice touch that i would not expect from a hotel of this category. Overall, it is not a luxe locale but if you go in with right expectations- you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: use your CAA/AAA rate to get a really good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah R, Manager at Quality Inn Grand Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks very much for you recent visit to our hotel. We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable night sleep in our new beds! We are currently in the process of updating our look, and we can’t wait to show you the improvements on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Grand Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Grand Suites

Address: 100 E Kellogg Rd, Bellingham, WA 98226 (Formerly Quality Inn Baron Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Grand Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn Grand Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Baron Hotel Bellingham
Quality Inn Bellingham
Bellingham Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Grand Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.