We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paper Thin Walls” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3710 Meridian St., Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Bellingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Paper Thin Walls”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is one of the least expensive hotels in Bellingham, but you get what you pay for. I was assigned a non smoking room on the third floor. However, as soon as you exit the elevator, the smell of smoke is pervasive. All of the rooms on the third floor are non smoking, so I believe the age of the hotel and its lack of a modern HVAC system allows the smoke to permeate up from the smoking rooms.
Also, the walls are paper thin. I could hear someone's television all night long. I did not know which guest room it was coming from, so I really couldn't complain to the front desk without identifying the culprit. My solution was to turn on the air con fan to high, and sleep with a pillow over my head.
The breakfast is all carbohydrates, but then it is typical of this price level. I will not stay here again. The new La Quinta should be open soon, and that is where I will stay on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the candid comments you share to us, for it gives us an opportunity to correct our shortcomings. It is indeed troubling to hear that you had an uncomfortable experience due to the unpleasant smell; rest assured that such occurrence will be addressed and closely monitored so that it does not happen again. We apologize if your stay with us was deemed unacceptable. Rest assured that we will try harder to improve and excel with the delivery of our services so that we may provide our guests with a far better experience. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to change your perception in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    22
    12
    18
See reviews for
19
15
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River B.C.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This motel was quite a pleasant surprise, considering the low price. The continental breakfast was fine, with juice, milk, coffee, etc. There were 3 kinds of fruit, bread, English muffins, Waffles, cereal, and jumbo cake-type muffins. The beds were really comfortable, with nice fluffy pillows, and everything was really clean, with what appeared to be freshly painted walls, and nice clean carpet. Our room had a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker and older style TV, which worked great. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
It brings us immense joy to know that we have served you well, thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your heart-warming appreciation. It is indeed our goal to make the stay of our guests a pleasant one to remember. The liking you expressed with regards to our great room, the reasonable price as well as the breakfast served gives us more reason to strive harder than hard to further excel in the delivery of our services so that we can always keep our customers happy at all times. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we sincerely hope to serve you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I've stayed here before and probably will again when flying out of Bellingham. It's very close and convenient to the mall and the airport. IF you are thinking of avoiding parking fees and perhaps your flight is early in the day, then the park and fly option is probably for you. I would suggest you have everything set up with the front desk in advance, i.e. we didn't have a clue how to get back from the airport to the motel on our return trip. They actually use a taxi cab to and from the airport - not a shuttle bus - so just make sure upon check out that you know how to get back from the airport to where you are parked. Upon arrival at BLI, we could NOT get a hold of the airport by phone to confirm our ride, and numerous other travellers had the same experience. So...no problem with the actual price, or property, just figure out your 'free' trip to and from the airport in advance. Rooms are nice, well appointed and clean. Staff were very courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
The comfort of our guests is our top priority and we certainly make it a point to give them a pleasant experience to remember at all times and for you to commend us on that matter gives us so much glee. Rest assured that we will continually work hard to offer you an experience like no other hotel can. Thank you for the appreciation you gave with regards to our entire service and the value for your money. We hope to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had a reservation for a non-smoking room, it had obviously been occupied by a smoker. I told the front desk and she said to "open a window" and if I saw someone from housekeeping to let them know. I asked if she could get in touch with them but she said she thought they had gone home for the day. There were 4 of us and only 2 towels in the bathroom, both were worn so thin in places, you could see through it. Bath/shower did not drain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Your insightful feedback regarding your hotel experience is very much appreciated by us. Thank you for making the effort to bring your concerns to our attention. We are very sorry to hear about the odor you experienced during your recent visit, rest assured, this is not a common occurrence at our hotel and you will not have the same experience during your next stay. We wish to let you know that your voice is very important to us, and we will make necessary actions to ensure that such concerns will be corrected in the best possible way. Thank you for giving us an opportunity to improve in the delivery of our services, and we do hope that you’d reconsider visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

There was a reason this was the last available hotel! We are not exaggerating. Non-smoking room smelled like smoke, phone broken, both lamps broken, hair drier broken, alarm clock broken, and toilet seat gross! See pictures.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
It is with utmost sincerity that we extend our apology for falling short in meeting your expectations following your recent stay with us. It has always been our goal to give our clients the value for their money, while giving them a comfortable and pleasant experience to remember. Our aim is to serve you well, and for that we apologize if we clearly failed to do so. There will be an escalation of this issue, and you can be assured that we will further discuss this very important matter in order to address the concerns you raised with regards to the room condition and its facilities in total. We hope that we may be given the chance to serve you again, and give you a far better experience next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastsound, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Russell, the night audit man, was great! He was hit with an Alligient Air flight cancellation to Hawaii, and kept his cool and professionalism through a crowd of tired, cranky travelers at one in the morning. He worked quickly and efficiently to ease each guest. I would stay here again just experience his attentiveness again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
It is with utmost appreciation that we extend our gratitude for taking the time in giving us your wonderful feedback. This will greatly aid us in ensuring that we are giving excellent service to our valued clients. We are delighted to meet and deliver quality service to you during your stay with us. Thank you for commending our staff member for a job well done, we are indeed proud to have Russel exemplify just how dedicated we are in attending to the needs of our valued guests. We look forward to seeing you back here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Over the past 10 years, my wife and I have volunteered to arrange hotel reservations for the various teams our four children have played on. We are very familiar with how to “block reserve” hotel rooms and also how to cancel the rooms not reserved by members of our team(s). We were very hesitant to book with the Rodeway Inn in Bellingham, WA because while booking the rooms, the clerk seemed to struggle with how to do this and we almost moved on to another option but we gave them the benefit of the doubt. One very odd thing the clerk told us when we asked her to mail us the confirmation was that they didn’t have envelopes and stamps! We gave the families from our team the information so they could call and reserve the one of the rooms in their own name with their own credit card. We have submitted a copy of an email to the team showing this communication.
On Saturday August 4th at 8:42pm we called the Rodeway Inn as proven on our Verizon cell phone detail listing. The phone call is listed as 3 minutes but these numbers are usually rounded up so it was probably somewhere around 2 ½ minutes. When the call was made the clerk (young girl) found our reservations and we asked who had reservations thus far. We then asked the clerk to cancel ALL of the remaining rooms that were not yet reserved by anyone and we made it clear we would not be staying there either. The clerk assured us that ALL remaining rooms would be canceled and that was the end of the conversation as it appeared the clerk was in a hurry to get off the phone. Later we received the $697.32 charge on our Visa card and immediately called the hotel to find out why we were charged. They were very unorganized and could not give us the information we requested and finally the manager called back and knew who the clerk was and told us he would talk to her to find out her side of the story. He then called back and told us we had to pay as we didn’t cancel all the rooms. I immediately disputed the charges with Bank of America and eventually "lost" the dispute claim so now I am personally on the hook for almost $700. Minsoo [-] is the thief from the Rodeway Inn that was involved in this dispute and should be ashamed of him/herself for perpetrating this fraud on a volunteer such as myself.

If the person at the desk couldn't even properly handle cancellations or reservations, you NEED to steer clear of this place at all costs or you will pay. Read the other "rip off" reviews. It is a recurring theme. These people are unorganized and inept at the very least.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val P, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
At the Rodeway Group Reservations are handled by Group Reservation Contract. According to the contract that was signed by the guest, cancellation policy was clearly stated as the following; 30 days prior to check-in 100% refund, 30~15 days 50% refund and no cancellation allowed less than 15 days prior to check-in. Guest had called in on August 4th, 20 days prior to arrival date, and requested cancellation on his rooms. Therefore, by contract our hotel was rightfully entitled to charge 50% of the guaranteed amount of the reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 3710 Meridian St., Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Bellingham
Rodeway Inn Bellingham
Bellingham Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.