We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3710 Meridian St., Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
1 review
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

There was a reason this was the last available hotel! We are not exaggerating. Non-smoking room smelled like smoke, phone broken, both lamps broken, hair drier broken, alarm clock broken, and toilet seat gross! See pictures.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
It is with utmost sincerity that we extend our apology for falling short in meeting your expectations following your recent stay with us. It has always been our goal to give our clients the value for their money, while giving them a comfortable and pleasant experience to remember. Our aim is to serve you well, and for that we apologize if we clearly failed to do so. There will be an escalation of this issue, and you can be assured that we will further discuss this very important matter in order to address the concerns you raised with regards to the room condition and its facilities in total. We hope that we may be given the chance to serve you again, and give you a far better experience next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    18
    10
    18
See reviews for
17
14
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastsound, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Russell, the night audit man, was great! He was hit with an Alligient Air flight cancellation to Hawaii, and kept his cool and professionalism through a crowd of tired, cranky travelers at one in the morning. He worked quickly and efficiently to ease each guest. I would stay here again just experience his attentiveness again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
It is with utmost appreciation that we extend our gratitude for taking the time in giving us your wonderful feedback. This will greatly aid us in ensuring that we are giving excellent service to our valued clients. We are delighted to meet and deliver quality service to you during your stay with us. Thank you for commending our staff member for a job well done, we are indeed proud to have Russel exemplify just how dedicated we are in attending to the needs of our valued guests. We look forward to seeing you back here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Over the past 10 years, my wife and I have volunteered to arrange hotel reservations for the various teams our four children have played on. We are very familiar with how to “block reserve” hotel rooms and also how to cancel the rooms not reserved by members of our team(s). We were very hesitant to book with the Rodeway Inn in Bellingham, WA because while booking the rooms, the clerk seemed to struggle with how to do this and we almost moved on to another option but we gave them the benefit of the doubt. One very odd thing the clerk told us when we asked her to mail us the confirmation was that they didn’t have envelopes and stamps! We gave the families from our team the information so they could call and reserve the one of the rooms in their own name with their own credit card. We have submitted a copy of an email to the team showing this communication.
On Saturday August 4th at 8:42pm we called the Rodeway Inn as proven on our Verizon cell phone detail listing. The phone call is listed as 3 minutes but these numbers are usually rounded up so it was probably somewhere around 2 ½ minutes. When the call was made the clerk (young girl) found our reservations and we asked who had reservations thus far. We then asked the clerk to cancel ALL of the remaining rooms that were not yet reserved by anyone and we made it clear we would not be staying there either. The clerk assured us that ALL remaining rooms would be canceled and that was the end of the conversation as it appeared the clerk was in a hurry to get off the phone. Later we received the $697.32 charge on our Visa card and immediately called the hotel to find out why we were charged. They were very unorganized and could not give us the information we requested and finally the manager called back and knew who the clerk was and told us he would talk to her to find out her side of the story. He then called back and told us we had to pay as we didn’t cancel all the rooms. I immediately disputed the charges with Bank of America and eventually "lost" the dispute claim so now I am personally on the hook for almost $700. Minsoo [-] is the thief from the Rodeway Inn that was involved in this dispute and should be ashamed of him/herself for perpetrating this fraud on a volunteer such as myself.

If the person at the desk couldn't even properly handle cancellations or reservations, you NEED to steer clear of this place at all costs or you will pay. Read the other "rip off" reviews. It is a recurring theme. These people are unorganized and inept at the very least.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val P, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
At the Rodeway Group Reservations are handled by Group Reservation Contract. According to the contract that was signed by the guest, cancellation policy was clearly stated as the following; 30 days prior to check-in 100% refund, 30~15 days 50% refund and no cancellation allowed less than 15 days prior to check-in. Guest had called in on August 4th, 20 days prior to arrival date, and requested cancellation on his rooms. Therefore, by contract our hotel was rightfully entitled to charge 50% of the guaranteed amount of the reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a dirty, smelly hotel. We had a posted non-smoking room, but it and the hall outside smelled of stale cigarette smoke.

In order to sleep free from the smell we had to leave the window open to maximum for the whole night.

Elevators not clean. Hall carpets were filthy.

The breakfast was terrible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val P, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry that you've not had a good experience with the hall way smell,
our housekeepers usually do a very good job of keeping a nice scent on the hallway
but we apologize for not being able to keep our hallways as nice as we normally keep them.
We would like to have you back at our hotel to see the imporvements and hope to offer you
a more comfortable stay at the Rodeway. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

When we arrived in Bellingham on a last minute trip, we were surprised to find out that all other hotels were 'Sold Out'. We ended up having to get two rooms here at the last minute and they were 'decent'. Yes, this is an older 'motel' type hotel but the staff was courtesy, the rooms had mini fridge and decent beds...it was better than I was expecting I think.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
It is with great appreciation that we extend our gratitude for taking time in giving us your feedback. The positive comments regarding the room facilities, as well as the accommodating staff, surely made our day. It is our pleasure and honor to have given you such quality service. It is our aim to challenge ourselves more in pursuing and maintaining excellent service for our valued guests. We thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here last night. Good enough for a few nights' stay.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Room had an old microwave and a small fridge. Had a non-smoking room but hallway smelled of smoke. Pets are allowed so beware if you have allergies.

Free breakfast is continental - muffins (chocolate, poppy seed), white bagels, toast, choice of two sugary cereals, milk, juices (apple, orange), and coffee. Good enough.

Highly recommend eating at nearby Olive Garden (make reservations), and not Applebee's.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We wish to extend our sincerest appreciation for the time you took in writing us your valuable feedback. We couldn’t be more pleased to have served you well and made your experience a memorable one. It pleases us to know that you noticed the cleanliness and the quiet ambience of our hotel; for we aim to offer our guests a comfortable environment should they wish to stay with us. We hope to be of service to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I often stay in Bellingham & as a Canadian citizen I was disgusted at the condition of the flag the Rodeway flew. It was tatered & torn- almost beyond recognition. The American flag looked almost as bad as it was hanging by one corner upside down. The owners display total disrespect for their guests. I would never stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for giving us a chance to improve and excel in the delivery of our services by bringing your concerns to our attention. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to write us a feedback, and we thank you for sharing to us your experience while staying with us. We wish to let you know that your voice has been heard and we will definitely correct the issue that you raised. We continually seek to give our guests the best service there is to offer. We sincerely hope that we may be able to provide you a far better experience should you wish to stay with us again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 3710 Meridian St., Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Bellingham
Rodeway Inn Bellingham
Bellingham Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.