We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW...GREAT PLACE AND ONLY 15 MINUTES FROM CANADA BORDER!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Bellingham

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Bellingham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Bellingham
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   215 Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225 (Formerly Ramada Inn Bellingham)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“WOW...GREAT PLACE AND ONLY 15 MINUTES FROM CANADA BORDER!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

We wanted to stay closer to Vancouver, BC for the Winter Olympics so we decided in Bellingham, WA. The hotel is right off the Freeway appoximately 1 mile. There are gas stations, Restaurants, and Grocery stores nearby. We were originally booked into the Travelodge next door but after a quick check of the room I felt as if I needed to scrubbed down w/ Lysol...gross! Luckily the Days Inn was right next door so we went in. It was around 10am and desk clerk Nikki, who was very nice and also cute, quoted us a price, but after negotiating w/ her she was able to give us a discount. It was still a little pricey but do to the circumstance we did not have a choice (ie. Best Western in Vancouver was $300 a night...crazy!!). The lobby was clean and even had a flat screen TV and furniture next to the Breakfast Bar. The room itself was very well kept and the decor was very nice. It was not as spacious but the layout was fine. The A/C/Heat, Microwave, Refrigerator,and TV all worked and was clean. They even had FREE COMCAST, and Internet. The room was very quiet, and the bathroom was also very sanitary. The only complaint was that the bed was lumpy. The building is very secure w/ a lobby entrance. The structure itself from the outside needed a facelift. Also there is FREE SELF SERVICE LAUNDRY MACHINES....SERIOUSLY...ALL THE LAUNDRY YOU WANT TO DO FOR FREE!! When we checked out desk clerk Megan was also very nice and helpful and it only took a couple of minutes. Overall the location and hotel is GREAT but don't go stay during HIGH SEASON!! By the way it is a college town!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    79
    63
    35
    37
See reviews for
100
58
24
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Got a reasonable rate through Hotwire but more $$$ than other 4* places I've bid on through Priceline. The rooms were better than I expected but nothing spectacular. The bed was a little on lumpy side but acceptable. The walls were a little thin and we could hear people moving about in the rooms above us. There's supposed to be free wireless internet but my ipod touch couldn't surf the internet or check email. It said it was connected but when trying to surf, loading a page would time out.

The best thing about the inn was the continental breakfast. It contained the usual cereals, small assortment of fruits, and bread but also had waffles, raisin bread, and cold hard boiled eggs.

The staff was friendly and helpful. One annoying thing was that your card key would get deactivated the morning you checked out so you have to get it re-activated at the front desk if you go down for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Booked this Days Inn 3 months in advance for Our family of 4 ( 2 beds ) . Upon arrival we Received 1 Bed with an increased price of $40.00 and we were promise of some extra blankets and a pillow to sleep on the floor and a cot when they arrive later . Blamed us for not booking properly . I had emails from Days Inn Reservations with confirmed price and booked room . GUESTS AT THE DAYS INN NOT NOT MATTER and please do not book .
The area around the hotels is very sad with many homeless and disadvantages people . Was a nice area to bring our family .
Next morning checked out at 10.00am and went to a Best Western Hotel ( WONDERFUL )

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

We were very disappointed with our stay at this hotel. We booked a month in advance for a nonsmoking room. When we arrived, we were told some error took place and that we were given a smoking room although it should be okay because it was just painted and no one had been in there yet. The room still smelled strongly of smoke. When we tried to get another room, we were told they were booked full. Since we arrived late in the evening, we were unable to go and look for another hotel. We were stuck and had a very unpleasant night. Tried to leave the window open to get some fresh air but it made for a very cold night! Even though the hotel offered to take $10 off our bill, we already decided not to stay there again.

  • Liked — internet connection
  • Disliked — smoky room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

Dingy Outside, Halls were dingy and damp, but rooms were clean and updated

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

Basically, the tiny, tiny swimming pool out front says it all. This is an older, inexpensively updated hotel. On the plus side, the mattress was decent and we escaped without bedbugs. Also, the breakfast area/lobby is attractively sun-flooded in the morning (when the sun is out, as it was when we visited), and our fellow guests --at least those up and about in the morning--were regular vacationers, parents taking their kids around to visit mile-distant Western Washington University, etc. Also, our room had a spiffy modern shower head and one of the new-style bowed-out shower curtains. The towels were thicker and nicer than they had to be. We were in the back, and the property is a few businesses away from the Interstate highway, so there was minimal street noise. Still, this was only marginally a two-star property--really more like a one star. The area around the back door was dirty and in need of sweeping, and the parking lot was rough and long overdue for repaving, so the first impression was not good. The hall was dark. Our room smelled strongly as if it had been deodorized--there was no smoke smell but instead the strong aroma that the room had been thoroughly chemically cleaned to get rid of it, and that was kind of icky. When checking in, the bill noted that a $250 charge would be assessed if there was evidence that smoking had taken place in our nonsmoking room. Then, as we entered, I saw the guy in the next room over hanging out of the window smoking. That, plus the dirty entry, plus the poor condition of the parking lot, plus the fact that the place was full of trucks, did not bode well. Some other negative details: A bad paint job that left flicks of paint all over the toilet tank. The ceiling, so thin that when the people upstairs walked around in their room, we heard them. The thin, worn sheets. The tiny grocery store bagels at breakfast ... and the bad coffee, which you'd expect anywhere else but not here in the center of the coffee universe. By the way, the previous writer's comment about "dank" is because the land on which the hotel is built is not level. The windows of the rear rooms on the first floor are at pavement level. Bottom line, the place is marginally OK if you are on a budget and not too fussy -- if you are, you should spend the extra bucks to choose another property.

  • Liked — Shower was good and there was free WiFi
  • Disliked — The general ickiness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

Our soccer team booked this hotel for a tournament in Burlington (about 20 miles away). All the locals hotels were booked leaving us with this one option. Even though we booked 2 months in advance The Days Inn charged an exorbitant amount of $140-$150 per night (walk-up rate as confirmed by desk clerk). The difference in rate was if you had an "Executive" room which was slightly bigger and had a balcony. Interesting, 4 rooms not related to our team received "discounted" pricing of $125 even though they had booked just 2 days prior.
This hotel is in horrible condition. The carpeting is worn and stained. The bathrooms are not clean and have mold in the showers and on the ceiling. Some of the rooms had brown running water. The bed linens were worn and had stains. The windows weren't clean. Our room was a non-smoking room but the entire hotel smelled dank and smokey apparently due to the 4 smoking rooms on the third floor. The walls were very thin allowing noise to permeate and there was very loud road noise due to the close proximity to the main street. The pool was small, not very clean, and right next to the road.
Perhaps at a more reasonable charge of $75 as listed on travel websites we would be more acceptable (expectant) of the conditions. However, at the price gouging rate of $139-149 this hotel should be ashamed of both the rate and condition of the facility.

  • Disliked — Condition of Hotel and Price
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Bellingham

Address: 215 Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225 (Formerly Ramada Inn Bellingham)
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Bellingham 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Bellingham Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Bellingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.