We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cut Above” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Copper Hog

The Copper Hog
1327 N State St, Bellingham, WA 98225
(360) 927-7888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 387 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $10 - $25
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bellingham,Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Cut Above”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband loves good craft beers, and I love interesting food, so The Copper Hog is one of our favorite places. We like to sit at one of the tables by the windows, where we can enjoy watching the people walking or biking by. Service has always been good, perhaps because we tend to eat dinner on the early side, before the restaurant gets crowded and the noise level rises.

Our most recent meal was particularly memorable -- I had a luscious lemon polenta with grilled asparagus, mushroom ragout, and berry gastrique, every bit of which I relished, and a glass of white wine, while my husband enjoyed his grilled lamb chop, served on a panzanella salad and accompanied by dollops of goat cheese, with an interesting beer.

We're looking forward to going there soon for brunch -- I've already decided on the gravlax scramble, having read the menus on their website!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    24
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delisciousness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I ordered the duck sandwhich and was very impressed. Match that with a great beer selection with an impressive $3 hogwash brew and I think that makes this place hard to beat for a place to watch the game.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Hoped for more, I really did”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Last night we made our third trip to The Copper Hog, and our impressions are consistent: love the English Pub vibe and the outstanding beer list, but the food disappoints.

That is, the menu implies a certain gastropub-level creativity, and where there is that kind of creativity there is usually the kitchen prowess to put it on the plate. But so far, not at the Hog. Take last night. We were a party of eight. The fish in our the tacos was dry and cold; the pulled pork tacos were also cold and had been filled so long before that the tortilla was wet and crumbling. The bread on John's Rueben was drenched with grease, the bread salad under the overdone lamb chop was underseasoned and did not cohese properly so in fact it was just a stack of stale bread cubes, and our house salads were so badly overdressed with an overly sour vinaigrette that we could not eat them (and I love vinegar--so if I'm complaining, it's pretty bad). Basically, not one in our party of eight had a meal that wasn't blighted with inattentive, sloppy kitchen work, and my two previous experiences were similar. It's almost as if the menu is designed by a pro but the food is left to a bunch of noncooks to pull off. And of course, they can't.

Btw, our waitress never returned to ask about our food so we didn't get a chance to give them the chance to make anything over. She did ask, but only when we were asking for the check and she noticed that we hadn't eaten our salads. Too late--no one wants to eat alone then.

What was good? Just one thing: the curry fries. They *do* know how to fry potatoes here, and the curry fries are delectable.

But that's not enough.



Unfortunately,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Go! Now!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Been wanting to go for a while because the outdoor seating is always packed on sunny days and the location makes it easy to walk around downtown before/after eating/drinking. SO thrilled with service (fast, casual, informative), food (creative, delicious), and drink selections (tons of craft beer and interesting craft cocktails, lengthy whiskey list). If you're a soccer fan, you'll love the inside bar with flat screens. If you like eating outdoors, you'll love their patio. If you love food and drink, go. You'll be glad you did. Recommended: fried brussels sprouts, burgers, handcut fries.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, WA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“OMIGOSH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Could not resist with with the TA reviews.....Great beer list....my first ever Tuna Caprese.....PDG......full skin Fries...YUM, joined the local lunch crowd, nice parking lot next to hog....very large copper/ceramic hog greets you...friendly personable staff, food was well prepared...salted caramel cremebrulee' for a sweet moment.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Copper Hog also viewed

 

Been to The Copper Hog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Copper Hog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.