We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party Hotel...Bad for Sleeping!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3750 Meridian Street, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Bellingham
Spokane, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Party Hotel...Bad for Sleeping!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

We had the WORST motel experience EVER at The Travel House Inn in Bellingham, WA. We stayed there on Friday night, April 13th and only got 2 hours of sleep! The room next to us and above us were full of loud drunks. The room next to us had 4 males and 1 female (early 20s) drinking and talking and laughing very loudly until 11:30pm. At 11:30pm they went to the bar to drink some more and the only sleep we had was between midnight and 2am when they were at the bar. We woke up at 2am to hear the drunks yelling and laughing, which turned into a fight at 2:40 pm right outside our door. I called the manager which only resulted in the obnoxious ghetto-gangster-looking people going into their room and being just as loud. Finally they all must have passed out at 3:30am. Just as we thought we might get back to sleep, their buddies in the rooms upstairs arrived back at the motel, slamming doors and talking loudly until 4:30am !!!

To the motel's credit, the rooms are very clean and the staff friendly. The price is very good, but unfortunaly, it is low enough to attract the local partiers.

  • Liked — Low Price
  • Disliked — Noisy!!!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    61
    42
    12
    13
See reviews for
53
53
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wa
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2007

Based on review and price I selected the Travel House Inn for one night stay/3 adults. The room was clean. They do not use fitted sheets. The flat sheets come undone overnight.

Though a non-smoking room, there was a slight smoky smell that got very strong in the bathroom. Their was mold in the bathroom and the toilet handle needed jiggling to hold water.

On my way up to the room, walking by another room, I saw it filled with empty bud bottles. The couple in the room next door carried on a conversation ALL NIGHT LONG, so my sleep was not sound.

Otherwise was just OK. I would stay here again (it was cheap and clean) but would make sure my room was a bit away from any partying.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — bud
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2006

We stayed here last July and were satisfied enough that we chose to book again on our way down to Seattle to see the Real Madrid soccer game.

We had room 206 - in the south building facing the pool - right next to the elevator. There is some traffic noise but certainly not enough to keep you awake. Getting to this hotel is very easy - especially if you are heading south on I-5.. Signage is great. I think it would be more complicated if you are going north.

Check-in and check out were easy. Little to no waiting. There is lots of free parking and we were able to park where we could see our car right from our room.

I liked that the sink was separate from the rest of the bathroom. Lots of toiletries were supplied. This room seemed a little more updated than the one we stayed in last year - maybe they've done some renos.

There are lots of restaurants in the area, including one right next door. You are only about 2 minutes drive from Bellis Fair Mall.

The price couldn't be beat. We had the AAA rate and for two adults and two children we paid $49 US, plus tax (about $54.00 total).

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Liked — Price and Easy Access
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2005

We stayed in the Travel House Inn in Bellingham for a weekend. We were looking for a simple, inexpensive, clean and convenient lodging option for our 2 night stay in Bellingham while we ran in race. Also, it was important to find a hot tub to rest our weary legs after the race. We found all of the above at the Travel House Inn. The location is within minutes of downtown Bellingham, and 12 minutes of the quaint Fairhaven district. I had originally looked into lodging in the Fairhaven, and downtown area but Fairhaven only had a couple of expensive hotels and downtown was booked. Instead, we opted to stay for 55.00 a night at the Travel House Inn (no website yet) - it worked out well since we had a hot tub to relax our aching leg muscles, and a decent bed to sleep in. One note: bring earplugs, the walls are thin, for a few dollars you can buy earplugs and sleep quietly. This place is easy to find - next to the freeway - cheap, clean, close to downtown restaurants and Haggen grocery store (take a left on Meridian and drive 7 minutes to downtown), has a Greek restaurant next door and a outdoor pool and hot tub. If you're looking for decent, cheap lodging - a place to rest your head without breaking the bank then this works well. If you want to stay in a newer, indoor corridor motel, call the Rodeway Inn first, it's next to the Travel House Inn but it costs a bit more. We mainly wanted a place for the weekend that felt safe, clean and convenient to the other neighborhoods of Bellingham. Travel House Inn worked fine for us. The hot tub was the best. In the afternoon, head downtown (going left on Meridian street that the motel is on) and go to the Boundary Bay Brewery, or, explore the Fairhaven shops and restaurants (also a short 4 minute drive from downtown). If you have more time, drive along Chuckanut drive for the lovely San Juan Island views. Have a nice glass of wine and dessert at Village Books in Fairhaven (great view of the bay and not busy like the other restaurants). In summary, stay at the Travel House Inn or the Rodeway Inn, save money and explore Bellingham. Avoid the dull Bellis Fair Mall area (on the other side of the freeway, close the the motel). Go West!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2005

Stayed at this hotel on Aug 26th. Bellingham hotels were almost all sold out so the rate here was $89. We needed 2 rooms. When we went to the rooms, both were very clean. However, the first one smelled of a very,very strong cleaning solution (pine) and the other had just had the carpets cleaned so the smell was very strong of carpet cleaner. They eventually offered to give us other rooms but the smell was the same in one of them. I asked the front desk person for a fan which she reluctantly lent to me. I am not a fussy person at all but this was really bad. Hopefully it won't happen to the next customer.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2004

A great find, nice clean hotel for under $40! I travel alot, all I ask for is a clean, comfortable place to sleep. Got that, as well as those other little things that seperate a good hotel from a mediocre hotel; a friendly staff, good restaurants nearby, pool, etc. They also still have smoking rooms available, and they're not in the basement! By the way, they've changed their name to Travel House Inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2004

The hotel was nice for a reasonable rate. Wonderful Greek restaurant next door to hotel, close to shopping malls including one with Target.
We noticed a panhandler on the corner about a block away, then later on a different panhandler was standing on the same corner.

In the summer, if you are not used to sun, be sure to put on waterproof sunblock before you go into the outdoor pool. (my son got sunburned)

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham

Address: 3750 Meridian Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Bellingham
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham Hotel Bellingham
Econo Lodge Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.