We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded expectations for an econolodge brand property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3750 Meridian Street, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Port Moody, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“exceeded expectations for an econolodge brand property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We did an overnight trip to shop and use up rewards points that expire at year end, and quite frankly I wasn't expecting much from an Econolodge, which generally are older motel properties, with outdated furnishings and very basic accommodation.

This property is located on Meridian the main road a stones throw from Bellis Fair, and close to the highway ramps. It is set back from the road, and we found it to be quiet during the night.

The rooms have been well maintained and are very clean. The bed, furnishings and carpet were all clean and in good repair. Our room was the King suite, which has a couch, chair, and a large bed. The room (#200) was quite large. There is an elevator and there is ample parking. Our room overlooked the outside pool and hottub, with no noise as it was closed for the season.

The downsides: Room was particularly dry, and the pillows were uncomfortable for us.
The air conditioner / heating unit is loud if you choose to keep it on.

While our trip was a rewards night, the room rate on the choicehotel.com website showed rooms from 65.00, with our "suite" priced at $75.00. That is pretty good value for a decent place.

Note: In the event that you are in Bellingham and have not reserved in advance - pick up a copy ( in a display case outside many Bellinham restaurants, including Shari's) of the hotel discount coupons book - Econolodge was in there for $59.00 for a standard room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econolodge228, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
What a glowing recommendation; we very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    60
    42
    12
    13
See reviews for
50
53
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle WA
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stayed here while on business. Hotel has clean rooms and great if you are on a budget and need a quick stay. There is free breakfast in the lobby. Location had easy freeway access. Basic hotel. Ask for room on quiet side. Located next door to pub that's open late night for food so you can walk for a quick bite.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econolodge228, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The rooms were pretty average and were clean. One member of our party broke his leg and the front desk staff was extremely accommodating with changing rooms to a ground floor. They also let us stay a little past check-out to accommodate our ride to the airport (granted, this was partly because it was off-season and they were not busy). They also offer discounts for hospital patients and family. The only complaint is that the road can be extremely busy and it becomes very difficult to get out of the driveway.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econolodge228, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Bellingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastsound, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stay here with some regularity and have always been happy. This time we requested a room for disabled. I was preparing for a colonoscopy and still recovering from total knee replacement. While the room was perfect I was chagrined to find that this room was located the absolute farthest from the front desk. Third floor, back of the facility. A very long walk if I had been on crutches or some other very inconvenient disability. Very poor location choice for such a room. I would have expected this room to be at the front of the facility on the first floor. No problem with the room itself though. .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econolodge228, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Your observations have aided us in locating areas needing improvement. When the building was first designed, I believe they did not put much thought into the location of the handicapped rooms. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a satisfactory stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The staff were very friendly and accomodating, room was clean and well appointed, I would stay there again for sure. Very close to shopping, restaurants and very close to the highway which allowed easy access.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econolodge228, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The rooms are basic hotel rooms. Nothing fancy but av great place to lay your head down after a long day of shopping. Its just a block from the big mall and many strip malls. There is a breakfast but its just Continental. If u are a big eater this isn't for you. Coffee, tea, juice, boiled eggs, bagels toast and muffins. Enough to get you started. Free WiFi was a bonus. Price isn't cheap but isn't crazy. It was about $118 after taxes. The staff was lovely. No showed amenities so bring shampoo and conditioner. Id stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econolodge228, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us & writing a review! We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in Bellingham. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

i would like to ask the breakfast, we like have some muffin for the breakfast as well, I hope I will get it for next trip as well..no anything better the breakfast.thank you, thank you, thank you.thank you, thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econolodge228, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us & writing a review! We would like to let you know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken very seriously as they tell us what we’re doing right, what we’re doing wrong and how we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham

Address: 3750 Meridian Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#6 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Bellingham
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham Hotel Bellingham
Econo Lodge Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.