We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3750 Meridian Street, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Monroe, Washington
2 reviews
“Acceptable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Was looking for a mix of affordable yet a comfortable room. Needed pet friendly and traveling with a baby. All pet rooms are first level/ freeway side/ w exterior entrance. Road noise was better than we thought. Pandora helped take care of the road noise too. Heater did cycle on and off and is loud enough it did wake us up. Beds are comfortable. Fridge and micro great. Rooms are a little dated. Bathroom was clean. Housekeeping did a nice job refreshing the room. Carpet could use to have been replaced. Checking out we overheard housekeeping discussing shampooing carpets. Breakfast is better than expected... the automated pancake machine is a nice change to the typical waffles.

Room Tip: Ask for the side opposite of the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    54
    34
    9
    12
See reviews for
42
46
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I like the location and price. The room was spotless, the staff was friendly and helpful. And to top it off the breakfast setup was absolutely terrific. We have stayed there a number of times and will defineately stay there again. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was a clean and tidy Motel and we were upgraded to a King size room from the Queen we had booked. It had a small seating /coffee table area in the room, coffee making facility and included WIFI. Generally very good value (not an outright bargain).
Breakfast was good. The wifi wasn't good!- painfully slow and not really up to the job, anything more than the most basic pages to ages to load. The pool and what i think was a hot tub are still closed in April (reasonable given the weather). The door was a little draughty requiring the fan heater to used regularly.
There is a bar nearby (next door) that serves food and the Mall, Cinema and various shops and restaurants a short drive away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I recently stayed at this location on a business trip and it was a clean hotel with friendly staff and also a great price. There also was a free breakfast and wi fi. It also has a great location off the I-5 freeway and located near many restaurants and stores to choose from including the city mall in walking distance..all easy to find near hotel.

Room Tip: stayed in a quiet room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We found this hotel to be clean and the staff friendly & accommodating. The breakfast was good and the location near everyplace we wanted to be. It wasn't fancy but the value was good. We don't often go to Bellingham, but we will stay at this Econolodge when we do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack BC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times and have always been happy with our experience. This time the hotel was booked to capacity and we were put in a dingy, first floor room facing the noisy freeway (I-5). We were happy to get out of there and did not even stay for breakfast although we did exit with a cup of coffee. However, staff were always courteous and made arrangements for a taxi to be at the hotel to transfer us to the airport. Staff at this hotel have always been friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Upon making my reservation and also at check in, I requested a quiet room. No partying guests near me, top floor (3rd) is fine. Room near the freeway? No problem--with a little imagination, the constant highway traffic can sound almost like the sound of the ocean on a beach.

They had plenty of occupancy available (per the clerk and my own observations). Instead, I got a 2nd floor room, with guests in the room above me...I could hear their heavy footsteps all night until they went to bed around midnight. Also, my "quiet room" was situated overlooking a late night sports bar parking lot--loud, drunk conversations, including a 3:00 AM conversation between two patrons standing outside one's car with the radio blaring and the door open. I finally went out on the cold balcony in my bath robe and told them to take their party elsewhere. But, by then I was wide awake at 3:00 AM.

I got very little sleep that night and losing my sleep disrupted one of my two planned meetings in Bellingham the following day, because I had to cancel the 2nd due to fatigue. I changed rooms the following day (more hassle). Because I was given a short window to make my room change (30 minutes), which included a level change from 2nd to 3rd, I inadvertently left some audio tapes in the first room but I did not notice until I was flying back home out of state.

Upon my return home, I called and front desk staff referred me to the manager, Kit, as she apparently keeps them under a tight managerial control and they are not permitted to make decisions like sending my tapes to me. One of the staff said she drives right by the post office, but "would not be permitted to do me the favor of mailing it for me via the P.O." due to the iron hand of Kit.

Per Kit, my only options would be to arrange for UPS or FedEx to ship my tapes to me ($27.00 to 35.00). Bear in mind that Bellingham has multiple Post offices and one is within a mile or two of the hotel. Kit would not budge and mail it for me, even though she could have put the cost on my credit card, plus I promised to pay a $5.00 tip (to anyone who would mail them for me).

Ultimately I had a relative of mine pass through Bellingham two weeks later and she agreed to stop by the motel and send it by US mail ($5.66 total cost). Bear in mind that the size of the package was equal to four decks of playing cards bound together, though much lighter.

If I had not had to change rooms, this never would have happened. But Kit disavowed ANY responsibility for it and apparently cared little about keeping a happy return customer. Also--when I first made my reservation, the price I was quoted was about 8 dollars less than when I arrived late and tired for my first night. The clerk ultimately managed to arrange a $3.00 credit, but stated she could go no higher; even the $3.00 was enough to put her standing with Kit in jeopardy.

While I appreciated her attempt to somewhat offset the overcharge it was she who selected the bogus "quiet" room for me and who helped to perpetuate the lame customer service of this place.

So, if you take the risk of staying at the Econo Lodge, Bellingham, WA, just be aware that any problems that may arise and that could ruin your stay to some degree, are your fault. Any assistance from staff must ultimately be approved by Kit. And Kit is not your friend, plus she could not care less if you came back. She also could not care less if you post your complaints about your stay on the Trip Advisor website, just like I'm doing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econolodge228, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Regarding: David F
We are sorry that this guest’s stay at our hotel was unsatisfactory. He stayed with us almost 2 years ago, so it is impossible to recall exact details of his situation.
All of the staff believe in offering excellent customer service, and we make every effort to ensure that every guest has a comfortable and pleasant experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham

Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham Hotel
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Bellingham
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham Hotel Bellingham
Econo Lodge Bellingham
Address: 3750 Meridian Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#6 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.