We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“acceptable, modest accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3750 Meridian Street, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Langley City, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“acceptable, modest accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed at this Econo Lodge Labor day weekend. My stay was more accidental than intended as I had two days of meetings to attend and had orginally intended to drive back and forth from my home in Langley, BC to Bellingham for the meetings. However after Saturday mornings 2.5 hour border line up I knew that I couldn't do that again.

This was not my first choice but being labor day weekend it seemed that every every hotel I called said every room was booked. I finally got lucky at the Econo Lodge. The reception desk was friendly and courteous and check in was smooth. The hotel has a small pool and hot tub right out front by reception. While I didn't make use of it, it looked clean, well maintained and was certainly popular.

My room was a single queen that was in adequate condition for this class. The room is fairly large and had ample room for a table and a couple of chairs. There is some wear and tear evident in the carpet and damage on the moldings, walls and doors but most importantly the room was clean.

Breakfast is included and was typical motel continental fare. Juices, coffee, cereals and a selection of pastries and breads as well as hard boiled eggs and a rather unique pancake maker that provided fresh hot pancakes to order.

I have given it 4 stars, I probably would have given 3.5 if that was an option here on trip advisor but thought that 3 was unfair. Especially considering the staff friendliness, effort and courtesy.

Overall it was more than acceptable and I would consider staying again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    63
    47
    14
    14
See reviews for
57
55
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights one week and came back for 3 nights the following week. The service at the front desk was fabulous, breakfast was great, the pool and area was clean and very nice. The room was clean and comfy. Close to the park and our dog loved the treat box.
We will definitely go too this inn again soon. The price was very good as we booked on internet. We got the same room again the second time and it felt like we were coming home. Thank you

Room Tip: We liked the lower floor where we could park right outside our door, Vaery quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We checked in on a Saturday recently for a two night stay. We were instructed that in order to use the fridge and microwave, we would need to turn on the surge protector ourselves. Our surge protector did not work and they "amenities" did not turn on.
We were also surprised at the basic cleaning job that happened prior to our arrival. It simply looked as if a quick sweep of the room for any major issues had happened. One of the issues that was not a big deal to the motel was the flusher on the toilet being chipped severally.
The outside of the front is nice however when instructed to drive around the side to our room it became littered with cigarette butts, garbage, etc. We actually woke up on Sunday with gum on our car window!
We were so unimpressed and disappointed with the lack of caring for the hotel property, that we chose to stay our second night at a friends rather than return to the hotel after a long day. As this was on fly, we paid for a second night we didn't even stay for.
The old saying "you get what you pay for " rang loud and true at this location. If you end up having to book this motel, definitely do it via an online site dedicated to allowing you to choose you price, and choose low.

Room Tip: Head to another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a comfortable stay this July for 2 nights. The check in ladies were fabulous and efficient. The cost was 90 dollars a night but better on priceline if you can bid successfully. Of course the prices are inflated over the summer time and it really depends on what is happening during your visit. Soccer kids, MLB baseball, university and shopping keeps Bellingham alive. It is an easy drive to all of the shops and great family restaurants. Apparently, some locals are getting peeved with all of the Canadian tourists. All of the shops were quite happy Canadians were spending their money and offered amazing service. We enjoyed Bellis Fair and found wonderful ideas and prices for back to school. We drove to the Premium outlet mall which was 40 minutes away and well worth the drive. The Econo lodge was busy full with traffic noise as it is on, I mean on, the I5 and Meridian. We just put on the freash air and it hummed us too sleep. Thank you for the quick and easy breakfast, enough selection to get us to lunch. The pool helped us cool off however it was an econo pool just as well. The cleaning staff spray a deodrant in the room after each quest which was nice but it made the room smell a little musty and a bit like cigarette smoke. I suggest opening windows after and putting on the fan before sleepy time as it is quite impossible to sleep with the window open with the road noise. One night there were a few party quests and the music was quite loud. It was after 10pm, which is deemed quiet time and with a quick phone call to the front desk, it was taken care of immediately...thank you ladies! The room was clean and the property as well. The bed and pillow were just as I liked it and slept well. Check in and out was a breeze. Overall, we would go back as it was well suited to our needs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My family and I chose to stay at the Econo lodge for a quick overnight getaway due to its price and closeness to Bellis Fair Mall. The premises were clean and well taken care of, the pool was great and the room was clean and comfortable. It was unfortunate that the people staying in the room above us were so disrespectful. It seemed a family mistook the floors as a trampoline and did this well after 11pm. Front desk quickly put them in their place and the evening was pleasant. Continental breakfast the following morning was fantastic with a generous array of juices, cereals, fruit, eggs and even a nifty machine that dispensed hot and fresh pancakes! It was a hit with the kids. For the price of approximately $100 it was great value; I would recommend and re-visit again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed during a soccer tournament and the motel really bumped up the price of their rooms- we paid 134 and from reading other reviews and checking Expedia this price is higher than normal. There were great thing things about this hotel- the location is convenient, the service was great and the breakfast, while nothing extraordinary, gave us a quick, easy start to the day. The rooms were large and reasonably clean, but are a little run down. Our room faced the road and was quite noisy if the windows were open, but okay when they were closed. Overall, just alright.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Drove from Kelowna. It was a long day and we arrived very late. No one had a room in town and the guy in front of me took the last room at the Econo Lodge. The staff asked me to stay behind for a moment. After the guest left, they told me they could offer an emergency reserve room they had that they couldn't offer until all their regular rooms were booked. We got a great deal on the room and they came thru for us when we needed it. It was an average room but for the money it suited my family just fine and the breakfast was very good. Thank you thank you

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham

Address: 3750 Meridian Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Bellingham
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham Hotel Bellingham
Econo Lodge Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.