We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Disapointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Soy House

Soy House
414 W Bakerview Rd, Suite 112, Bellingham, WA
(360) 369-3585
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 387 restaurants in Bellingham
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Disapointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I've been waiting for the new location of Soy House to open in Bellingham, on W. Holly St., ever since it was announced earlier this year. The new space is airy and quite large, but the tile floor and hard surfaced walls and ceiling make it very noisy. A friend and I went at late lunch hour, and the place was still quite jammed. Given the chaos, the service was good and very friendly.

The food, however, disappointed. I had Pho with beef, a very small amount of overcooked beef in an indifferent broth. This is such a basic item that I thought it would be a safe bet for a windy/chilly day. Having eaten several times at the Bakerview Rd. location, this was a let down. If you like Pho, there's lots better elsewhere in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    30
    13
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and good servicce for a large group.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Went with 10 people, six of which were children. Great that they have a variety of food not just Vietnamese. Everyone was happy and service was good. We went to the new location on Holley.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific NW
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yuk”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was the worst meal experience I have had in Bellingham or anywhere in a long time. If you like bean sprouts and cilantro, you might like it. They put that on and in everything. I am okay with those ingredients but they over do it. The wait for a table was over a half hour, yet there were empty tables available. They left us standing outside in the cold. The service was poor and no one even smiles in that place (in the downtown restaurant). We ordered spring rolls and they were greasy, tasteless and you guessed it, full of bean sprouts. The soup was bland
also loaded with noodles and cilantro and sprouts. It was noisy, poor value, and no enthusiasm from the wait staff. We were so turned off we took a break from eating out all together for a few weeks. This is my first bad review. i do try to find something good about every place I visit. This was yuk.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskerry, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, less than stellar service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We ate at their new restaurant and it was really busy. The food was really good but we wanted another glass of wine and never saw our waiter again. We would have ordered dessert also, but he dropped off the check on a dead run. I think their business model is just to turn tables, but maybe they should think about increasing the sales at each table instead. Whatever, we still will be back!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just try the Vitnamese kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We had chicken Pho and a rice menue. Both was really delicious. The service was ok we had to asked twice for the drink we ordered before but anyway everything was good we would recomanded

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soy House also viewed

 

Been to Soy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soy House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.