We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Flavors

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Indian Flavors
3930 Meridian St, Ste 107, Bellingham, WA 98226-5547
360-647-1589
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #200 of 334 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Standard Quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I would say this is still the best Indian restaurant in Bellingham. The atmosphere, service, and food are all good. If you enjoy spicy food but have never had good Indian, you should enjoy Cafe Curry. As an Indian food enthusiast, I find the food is a bit bland with definite room for improvement.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    7
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Why isn't this restaurant busier?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Indian Flavors didn't have the best Indian food we've ever eaten, but it was very, very good. The service was attentive but unobtrusive and the restaurant itself was attractive and welcoming. I don't really understand why, during prime dinner hour, there were more staff than customers.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
222 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“We Used to Love this restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My bf and I have eaten here about a dozen times, but no more! They have my most favorite Indian dish, Paneer Tikka, which I've eaten so many times in India. The last three or four times I've gone down in spice level and there's never a difference. It's always so spicy I can't enjoy the food. Even ordering a "one" did no good. We've given up. Last time was the final straw. They were out of Paneer and said it would be ten minutes. At thirty minutes they offered us cold papadam to shut us up. The relatively new waiter upsells from what the customer orders. "You don't want that unhealthy plain white rice," he insisted. We were used to complimentary rice with full meal orders previously. We will NEVER ever return and I'm sorry. The buffet is okay, but it was still being served after 4 p.m. That's just not fresh food in my book.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Zero portion control!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We found the waiter somewhat surly - he also gave misinformation - telling us the "Ski to Sea" event would be on Monday, when, in reality, it took place a day earlier on the Sunday before Memorial Day. The Tandoori plates we ordered were way too large - a half portion could have easily fed two. Neither of us could finish our food and we weren't in a position to take it with us. The flavor was nothing to write home about - just average. As well, I don't think our coupons were properly credited. There's no coffee or regular tea available there either.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Run of the mill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Don't get me wrong, my wife and I go here often, but really there is nothing outstanding about the restaurant. There are limited Indian options in town. We usually go to the buffet, which is adequate, but quite small with limited variation. The food is usually tasty, but again, there is nothing extraordinary. The wait staff are usually distant and aloof, but always polite. The restaurant decor is bland and ordinary. Except for the televisions playing some Bollywood, one would not know it wasn't a pizza joint. Overall, there is plenty of "okay." Good for a quick stop, but nothing extravagant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Flavors also viewed

 

Been to Indian Flavors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Flavors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.