We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls' Night Favorite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anthony's Hearthfire Grill

Anthony's Hearthfire Grill
7 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
(360) 527-3473
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 394 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $0 - $35
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Girls' Night Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Anthony's knows how to do Happy Hour! It's our standard. The food is fresh, delicious, generous and priced right. The drink menu is great also. Although not on the Happy Hour menu, you really should order the hearts of romaine, bleu cheese and hazelnuts salad. We get it every time, it's so good!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    95
    25
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expected Better !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We are not from the area however visit often. My sister lives there and has been wanting to try Hearthfire for lunch for a long time; we have all eaten at Anthony's. We were seated promptly, staff was friendly. We were seated by the window which was great, given water and menus. However the service stopped there. We could see the table around us were being tended to promptly, and with what appeared to be friendly waiting staff. We sat for at least 15 minutes before the server came to our table. First appearance not good; her shirt was hanging out, and extremely discolored. Did not appologize for making us wait, just asked if we decided what we wanted. We gave her our order and almost had to get her to come back because she was turning from the table without asking what we wanted to drink ! I asked for coffee, waited another 15 and that is no exageration. When she did bring the coffee, there was no cream or sugar on the table nor did she bring any. I asked her for cream...waited and waited again. We could see she was delivering things to other tables....not even a glance to our table. Finally the wait staff came to pour more water, I asked him for cream which he brought immediately. The server still never glanced at the table. I thought by the time I got the cream my coffee would be cold. She came to the table to ask how our lunch was when we were almost done, asked her for more coffee, she did not ask me...again waited. Too bad service was so poor....the place is nice....not sure that we will go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Family dinner on the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Walked right in and had a table for 5. Everyone had a very good meal and great service. The awesome view is overlooking the marina and we where there at sunset that made it even better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
1 review
“Gift Card Fiasco”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Until today, I have always loved Hearthfire in Bellingham. So when the waitperson ran our $50 gift card this evening and it came up $00, yes ZERO balance. We were stunned. The manager on duty checked the card number and it didn't register as active in the system. So after getting home, I pulled up my online records and called to tell them the date the gift card was purchased. After doing that, the manager was able to find the records and documentation that the card was purchased by me. Okay, so in the end we'll probably get our $50 back, but we didn't get much of a "sorry for your troubles" from the evening manager. I was told that there may have been a problem with their computer server -- but no apology, no sorry for making your mother's birthday dinner close with a fiasco, no "we'll send you a coupon for a free dessert," and no real sense that they made a good dinner go "bad." I'm really disappointed with them -- the waitperson was great, the manager was cold.
Now I'm concerned that all the $50 Hearthfire gift cards we have given as gifts were actually worth $00. I don't know if I can trust giving their gift cards again...

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Well thought-out meal on the waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stopped in during a blustery Sunday afternoon to find a few large groups already seated, but no wait for a table for two. We were seated at the windows overlooking the marina -- very scenic. Our server was very friendly and had some great recommendations for us. Upon her suggestion, I changed my starter to the salad special, which featured huckleberries and hazelnuts and was delicious.

The flatbread which accompanied the meal was tasty and portioned just right. The filet was cooked just as I requested and the seafood was fresh and well seasoned. Both of our entrees had servings of crispy green beans, which nearly stole the show. Even the rice, which is usually an afterthought, was filled with goodies like dried cranberries.

All in all, this was a wonderful meal in a lovely location. If we ever find ourselves coming through Bellingham again, this will be a definite stop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's Hearthfire Grill also viewed

 

Been to Anthony's Hearthfire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anthony's Hearthfire Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.