We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service above and beyond” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman Inn

Save Saved
You added Coachman Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coachman Inn
120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Chehalis, Washington
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Service above and beyond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

We stay here every time we visit our daughter at college.
very clean basic rooms for a great price.
The owner goes way above and beyond to make your stay above and beyond.
If you want a great rate and a clean room I give this place an A+

  • Liked — clean with a great price. Extremly friendly staff
  • Disliked — the stairs
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    82
    19
    4
    9
See reviews for
73
87
23
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

Best budget hotel I have ever stayed. Best service, even compared to high end hotels. Cleanest by far. Perfect 10.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

We were treated royally at this hotel.I knew that guests were special when you went to open the door to the office.The doors were leaded glass & nice brass handles.Very inviting.
The room was spotless & security good also.The price of the room includes a free breakfast which includes cereal,muffins,all sorts of juices & some even organic & fresh fruit,also tea or coffee.There is a fridge in every room plus a coffee pot.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a clean room at a fantastic price.It has been totally remodeled & brand new carpets in the rooms & halls.Do not go looking for the brown building in the picture as its now a nice sunny yellow.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

I have now stayed here several times as my son attends WWU, which is easily accessible from the Coachman. The first time I arrived I thought it looked a little sketchy but was quickly reassured after meeting the owner and his family, as well as his staff -- WWU students. They keep an eye on EVERYTHING and the place is cleaner than most "3 star" chain hotels I have stayed in. Wireless service works great on secured network, bed, shower, towels, TV, parking -- all fine. Door locks are also reassuring for single female travelers. nice fridge, microwave in hall, lovely fresh continental breakfast. Owner always pleasant and willing to please. Looking forward to always staying here during my son's stay at WWU. Best place in Bellingham.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llovealasa2
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed there for 3 nights while visiting Bellingham to meet my daughter's boyfriend. The hotel is close to Western Washington U.

We enjoyed the hot tub and Sauna for 2 or those nights. It does take 15-20 minutes to heat up the Sauna. Towels were plush, rooms came with refrigerators and coffeemaker. There was a microwave on a stand to use in the hallway if needed. This is a well kept older hotel. I missed having the sink in the main part of the room instead of being housed with the bath and toilet. The staff was very courteous. Continental breakfast consisted of 4 types of cereal, instant oatmeal. packaged muffins and danish, apples, juice, milk, coffee and bottled water with bar and couch seating. The wireless internet required a code for which you must ask for from the front desk. They also provide PC in the lobby with a printer, although I did not use the printer.

For those staying in the late summer months, checkout the wild blackberries growing next to the back of the parking lot. Watch out for the killer thorns tho!

The hotel seems to have ample rooms. It is currently the highest rated hotel in Bellingham at half the cost of the next 3 rated hotels. We paid with a Senior discount $63 per night. If this hotel is full, there are lots of other hotels on Samish Way, a few of the more economic hotels are poorly rate.

Another note, we were the only ones using the hot tub and sauna and the hotel staff happily did not kick us out after the posted 10pm closing time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

All the reviewers are right on the coachman. Great place to stop for a night after or before visiting the San Juan's or Vancouver islands. We stayed at the Best Western Lakeside before our trip started and then the Coachman after. The convenience of getting in and out, price and comfort far exceeded the Lakeside.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

I can't speak highly enough of the guys who run this motel. They are friendly, flexible, and helpful far beyond the call of duty;. They went out of their way to help me--a solo middle-aged female traveller--and the site felt very safe and secure under their watchful eyes. Additionally, the rooms are very clean, comfortable and well sized. A joyful experience!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Address: 120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality rooms at a fair price. complementary breakfast, wireless internet, extended cable with 10 HBO channels, free local calls, Fitness center with Dry Sauna, heated swimming pool, and coin laundry on site. Clean and comfortable rooms and customer service at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Bellingham
Coachman Motel Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.