We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Hilton, but clean and friendly for 1 night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Coachman Inn to your Saves list
Coachman Inn
120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Washington State
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not the Hilton, but clean and friendly for 1 night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

The Gentlemen at the front desk were more than helpful and very friendly. They are even shipping my daughters pillow (her beloved pillow) back to us free of charge. The rooms are clean, not fancy at all but clean and inexpensive for the 1 night. The property is well kept. Breakfast in the morning and coffee. I doubt I will be back in this area but if it were just for a night I would probably stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    95
    21
    4
    9
See reviews for
80
95
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Our stay at the Coachman Inn exceeds our expectations ! We wanted a clean, safe and a homey atmosphere all for a reasonable inexpensive price. We got that and much more. The Coachman Inn provided my family and myself an atmosphere of home sweet home. Coachman Inn reminded us of a really good bed and breakfast, with a ma and pa homey type of atmosphere. The Customer Service was exceptional, Management was very friendly, helpful and courteous. Nice outdoor size swimming pool with a deck to watch the kids play. Very comfortable quarters and a good continental breakfast. Management & Staff were very friendly and helpful and instantly assisted us in recommending a place to eat and giving us easy directions. An example of this exceptional service was when we were hanging around the pool and had breaked for dinner, it had rained for a short while and when we returned to bring our little boys back into the pool all the furniture was wet so Management ran out to dry the entire outdoor furniture /chairs/table for us so we could enjoy the rest of the evening. That was one of many little things that made our stay special. We would definetly recommend the Coachmann Inn to all of our family and friends and would most definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed at the Coachman Inn (while attending a family wedding in Bellingham) mostly due to the reviews we read online at TripAdvisor. We were pleasantly surprised with the courteous service we received and the cleanliness of the rooms. The staff were more than helpful in getting everything we needed promptly (i.e. an iron to press clothes, and a sheet for our 11-month old's travel crib), and happily struck up conversations with my talkative father-in-law! We would definitely stay here again! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

I have stayed in many chain and indepentent motels all over the U.S. and Canada. The Coachman Inn was by far the cleanest of them all. Their attention to detail showed from the polished brass lobby door handle to the fresh white stripes lining the parking lot and (heated) pool. The staff was friendly and helpful. The price was more than fair.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past two years, as I live in Vancouver and often make the trip down to shop in the US. The staff is always very friendly, the rooms are clean, and the location is good, close to I-5, but you don't hear it.
The only complaint I have is that the light from the parking lot tends to blast in through the window so you have to be a little creative with the way you close the blinds.
A continental breakfast is included. Closeby are several restaurants and a fantastic grocery store called Hagan.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

We have travelled for the past 2 months through the USA and have had some good, some great and some not so good hotels. This is definitely one of the better ones... really clean, new rooms... very helpful front desk and wish we could find places like this on each of our stops.. stay here if you are staying in Bellingham!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

Ever since our son has been a student at Western Washington University, we have stayed at the Coachman Inn. Of course it is a good value, but so much more. Our whole family looks forward to staying and visiting with the owner. He takes care of us like family. It is comforting while being away from home. The hotel is clean, conveniently located and has a well stocked breakfast bar. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Address: 120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality rooms at a fair price. complementary breakfast, wireless internet, extended cable with 10 HBO channels, free local calls, Fitness center with Dry Sauna, heated swimming pool, and coin laundry on site. Clean and comfortable rooms and customer service at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Bellingham
Coachman Motel Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.